We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”
Review of Red Lion Pub

Red Lion Pub
Ranked #11 of 100 Restaurants in Qawra
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: Sports - Bar - Grill
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressive”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The first impression when we walked into the bar was incredible, the amount of football scarfs and photos hanging up around the place was unbelievable and we even found one of our home town.

The staff were friendly, the drink was cheap and the food was lovely.

Definitely would recommend a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    161
    54
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice place,nice food”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We visited this place several times on our recent holiday. We can remember the days before it,s refurbishment which I can honestly say has improved the premises 100%. The place has a friendly atmosphere, spotlessly clean and the staff are really pleasant and helpful.
The kitchens are really clean, the menu is basic but food is presented nicely, really tasty and filling and well priced. I would have no hesitation in recommending it and we will certainly be visiting again on our return trips to Malta.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Get in”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Get in for the fact this is the best football bar here. The best beer on the island from cisk right up to cisk xs. The food is also spot on here from a bowl of chips to the mix grill there are only 2 down sides here. The inside is very small so get here early and the other is if you leave your hat or scarf Martin will have it on the wall before it hits the ground

Helpful?
Thank Trefor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Visited this pub twice. We very much enjoyed our first meal, however the 2nd visit wasn't so good. I ordered lasagne and my husband steak. The steak was good but the lasagne was the worst I've ever had. It was presented as a slab on a serving dish, no garnish or anything with it. It was very dry and the bottom crusty from sitting in the oven too long. I left most of it but staff didn't ask if everything was ok. No hello or goodbyes even though they weren't busy. Poor customer service so we won't go there again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Closed for refurbishment.”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

unfortunately the Red Lion was closed for refurbishment on the week i was over in January so was not able to give it a return visit.However ,rumour has it that once finished this will be THE PLACE TO GO TO in Qawra !
We shall see...... watch this space !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion Pub also viewed

 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to Red Lion Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing