We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food lovely couple”
Review of Cafe Blue Bar - CLOSED

Cafe Blue Bar
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food lovely couple”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We eat hear every week sometimes twice or more never had bad meal always good food and very obliging go out of the way to please.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    6
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you want a nice place to eat then Cafe Blue Bar is the place. There is a very varied menu with English & Maltese food. The prices are very reasonable. All the food is freshly cooked and the home made soup is delicious. Being centrally located is also a bonus. It is near to the bus station and most of the hotels. If you do not choose to eat then there is also just a bar service. What makes this place extra special is Joe & Teresa the owners who make you feel more than at home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Joseph and Teresa are a great couple with a very warming welcome every time you meet them.
The food is well priced and good value.
Try the fillet steak, its to die for. The roast dinners are available Sunday and Wednesday and offer good value.
I visited the other night and fancied a change so had a chat with Joe and he offered me a sea bass,
The best fish I have ever eaten.
Good set dinners but if you want somthing special yust ask.
Hope that this helps with your fab holiday in Qawra.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Find somewhere else”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Poor food appalling service took a long time to take our order then a long time to serve it food only just edible give this place a miss plenty of better placed nearby
Cannot believe that this place has such good reviews try we ,5 which is nearby and although out rates lower on t.a.is far better

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil Brady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Cosy Corner”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This being our 1st visit to Bugibba/Qawra - or even Malta, we went to The Blue Bar on the recommendation of a couple of Brits we met. It is located a couple of hundred yards along the street, virtually opposite the main bus station in Bugibba, and near The Santana Hotel.
We weren't disappointed, receiving a warm welcome from the proprietors, Joseph and his wife Theresa. There is seating for only about 20 people inside but has more pavement tables. It is very unpretentious and less expensive than neighbouring restaurants - identical wine half the price!
The menu is mainly British and all the meals we tried on 2/3 visits were tasty, plentiful and reasonably priced, cooked perfectly by the lady Scottish chef.
Most of the customers seemed to be 'repeats', so that speaks for itself. Start talking pigeons with Joseph and you'll be there all night!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LanmanWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Blue Bar also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing