We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited Ganesha Indian Restaurant for the first time and won't be our last!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunstone Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Qawra B&B and Inns
Ħal Qormi, null, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Visited Ganesha Indian Restaurant for the first time and won't be our last!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

It's a pity that this restaurant is hidden in a secluded street. We encountered it when we were walking and I'm very pleased we booked a table. This was the best and most reasonable priced indian meal I've ever had. Everything was delicious; we had the ganesha indian platter, khofta curry (for those who like a medium-hot palate and chicken korma for those who like something more sweet. This was accompanied by rice and garlic naan. Everything was very yummy. Would certainly visit again if I want an indian meal. Thanks to the nice lady who served us: very efficient and charming :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graziella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, Owner at Sunstone Guest House, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to review our restaurant. We do hope that we will have the pleasure to host you once again the near future! Best regards:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    47
    16
    14
    11
See reviews for
16
69
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spent at Ganesha Guesthouse five nights, and we were completely satisfied. The room was small a bit, but as we only spent the nights there, it wasn't annoying at all. The whole guesthouse is clean (bathroom as well), which counted a lot when we chose this guesthouse instead of the big hotels. We decided well! It's located in the centre, so you can reach the beach and the bus station easily. The owner, Maria is very helpful and friendly, she really takes care of the guests. It's worth having breakfast for that prise at Ganesha, for us it wasn't awful at all, we really liked it! We only missed some vegetables from breakfast. All in all we recommend Ganesha guesthouse for everyone, who would like to stay in a clean, but affordable guesthouse during his holiday in Malta!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, Manager at Sunstone Guest House, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you liked your time on Malta and enjoyed your stay at Ganesha. For the future we hope to welcome you again! Also we will consider to add some vegetables to the breakfast soon - thanks for the advice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at Ganesha Guesthouse.

Even though our double room was not too big, it was just perfect for what we wanted.

Everything is new and clean, bathroom very clean and with good toiletries offered for free.

Service is excellent, every member of the staff from Maria, the manager, to the cleaning lady, the maintenance man or the waiter at the restaurant were extremely helpful and kind with us. The were all working with a smile, which makes me think they are treated well as workers. This is a very important think for us when we travel.

Ganesha is very well located, 5 minutes walking from the bus station, close to all restaurants, bars and amenities and 3 minutes walking to the seafront. A few supermarkets are also just round the corner.

I would definitely reccommend this place for couples, families and indipendet travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nosoloeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, Manager at Sunstone Guest House, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Muchas gracias for the review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our guesthouse and that we have met your expectations! We hope to see you again. Adios y hasta luego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

After reading the goods reviews we decided to book a room but we were really disappointed.

At first there are a lot of steps and with heavy luggages is not easy to reach the reception. Our room was very small with old and noisy twin beds. The price is cheap but you have any comforts; no tv, no breakfast (even in the website they said complimentary they ask you 3.00euro each), internet is working at least 15 minutes a day, no air conditioning but just a fan which shacks the hot air, no fridge.
There is no privacy because if you open the windows you are directly in front of the neighbor's one so you have two solutions:

1. open the windows to have a bit of air but you have not privacy, you listen all the neighbors noises when they talk or take a shower and in additional you have the small of the toilets.

2. close the windows and have a dark and hot room where it is impossible to stay when outside there are 35 degrees!

The reception is open (only write in the paper but not in real) from 8.30 till 12.30 so if you have issues after that time (as we had) you have to call someone at your expense. We had to pay 5euro call (roaming) because we had no water in the lavabo but nobody refund me that amount! We had a lot of other problems there but we never found someone in the reception and sincerely if I have to pay 5 euro for each call it will be cheaper book at the Hilton!

I have only a suggestion to give you, pay 10 euro more a day and in the same area you can finds hotels with all comforts.
We stayed there for four long days only because we paid the room in advance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antocard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, Owner at Sunstone Guest House, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We regret that your stay at our property did not meet your expectations.

It is very unfortunate that you faced a water issue during your stay. I remember that i apologized to you and we did indeed our very best to solve the issue with the least possible delay. In fact when you called me to inform me about the lack of water in your lavabo, we sent Nicky our maintenance man after 15 minutes to your room who solved the problem within an hour. We do apologize for the inconvenience but such problems can occur anywhere and are at times beyond our control.

Being a guesthouse we do not offer 24-hour reception services. However we are indeed every morning at reception/office till 2pm and we ensure that we meet every guest. This is absolute priority to us. Furthermore all guests receive a welcome letter in their preferred language with emergency telephone numbers. During evenings, the restaurant manager and his staff is also available on site. So practically it is just 2-3 hours a day in the afternoon when most people are out that our property is not manned.

As for your comments about the rooms and the property in general, we do advise that you take time to read carefully the description of the property so as to avoid misunderstandings and delusions. When booking your stay through a hotel booking agent (as in your case) you had a full detailed description of the property including the exact measurements of the rooms, exact measurements of the bathrooms, the amenities (such as whether lift or stairs, air-conditioning are available) and services available. We do ensure that we deliver what we promise.

As for breakfast, i confirm that you paid and booked without breakfast. Please refer to your booking confirmation from your booking agent. I could email you a copy if need be where it is confirmed that you had NOT booked breakfast.

We do our best to deliver what we promise and if we fail sometimes, we take complaints seriously as we strive to improve our product every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.2 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 15 in Qawra
949 reviews
0.5 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.0 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#10 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstone Guest House

Property: Sunstone Guest House
Address: Triq il-Kavetta, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1341, Malta (Formerly Ganesha Restaurant & Guesthouse)
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunstone Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunstone is a family run accomodation in the heart of Qawra. The property has been fully refurbished in 2014 and all rooms have modern decor, new furniture, private facilities, satellite TV, and tea/coffee making facilities. The guest house is located within walking distance to bars, restaurants, main bus station, the Bugibba/Qawra promenade and sandy beaches. There is a roof garden with sundecks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sunstone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunstone Guest House Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing