We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab food, friendly staff”
Review of New Tavern Inn Qawra - CLOSED

New Tavern Inn Qawra
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Good honest food, friendly atmosphere, a place to come and meet with friends
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fab food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Came back here, as we enjoyed it so much on our last visit, in September. Staff are very friendly, food is very good. But be warned - portion sizes are huge! Bar opens around 2pm I think & food served from 5pm. Sometimes live music or sporting events shown on TV.
It was my husband's 50th birthday whilst we were in Malta. They arranged for the live singer to sing happy birthday, put banners & flags on the wall & made a fabulous cake for my husband. They really made his birthday special! Nothing was too much trouble! Look forward to going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ForestRose1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeychef, chef at New Tavern Inn Qawra, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi Sarah, many thanks for your fantastic review of The new Tavern Inn. We are so happy you enjoyed all your meals with us whilst on your holiday, yes our portions are huge but we would rather you ate as much as you wanted than go home hungry!!! It was our pleasure to make Andy's motorbike birthday cake as per your instructions/ communications with us before your holiday. We can design and make any cake for our valued customers and we always decorate our restaurant for the occasion required. It's the little touches together with the friendliness of our staff which has customers coming back time and time again, we treat everyone like our family. Thank you once again Sarah and looking forward to seeing you both again soon xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    8
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Bit late putting this review on here but once again a terrific place to eat and drink. You are always made welcome at the Tavern. Sean and Nigel and Trevor and Jayne make it feel like home. Myself and fiance ate here most nights and I'm not a big eater but the portions are enormous. Drink prices are the best in the resort and the place is spotless. Not back until February next year at the moment but you never know. Thanks to everyone. PS Trev wor lass misses the cuddles Cheers

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thefatcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeychef, chef at New Tavern Inn Qawra, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Ivan and Wendy. Lovely to see you back again and we are so pleased you ate with us nearly everyday of your holiday in Malta. Thankyou so much for your kind review of the New Tavern Inn. Shaun sends a big hello to you and thanks again for bringing the Easter eggs for us all, such a kind touch. Have a great summer and see you next February Ian on your boys holiday. Love Jane x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Norfolk England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely people.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just back from 2 weeks in lovely Malta & found this great restaurant/bar. A must to visit. Made very welcome by Trevor & Jane & the fresh food cooked by Jane was superb. Generous portions & probably the best Lasagne I have ever tasted. Food & drinks at very reasonable prices. If you fancy a Dawn Dive, then speak to Trevor, who owns the Dawn Diving Training Academy situated next door. Will certainly visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeychef, chef at New Tavern Inn Qawra, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi Andrea
many thanks for your lovely review of the New Tavern Inn, we are so happy you enjoyed your time you spent with us during your holiday. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the food, especially the freshly cooked homemade Lasagne which i pride my self on. It is our second best seller after beer battered fish which everyone enjoys. Yes our portions are huge, but we would rather people left what they couldn't eat rather than go home hungry because there wasn't enough on their plates. We look forward to seeing you again in Malta soon for more great food, and entertainment. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Food!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Seriously seriously good food! Excellent portion sizes and quality fresh dishes were available every day. Must try the bbq ribs and the lamb shank, some of the best I've had. Compliments to the chef. Much better than any 'pub grub' I've had before.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeychef, chef at New Tavern Inn Qawra, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi Luke, many thanks for your great review of the New Tavern Inn. It was great to see you and your Father in the restaurant every night of your stay. We are so happy you enjoyed your food so much, looking forward to seeing you both again soon for some great diving and back in the bar for more top quality food.x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!! 5 stars all round!! ”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

First time in Malta with my other half for a weeks break in Easter holiday, unfortunately we found this bar on the second to last night.. Wish we'd found this earlier, never the less well be back!!!
Amazing food ( massive & delicious) great beer, and the company was excellent!! Owners Trevor and Jane were lovely, made us feel very welcome and added to a top laugh.. Recommend is a must.... Anyone going to Qawra Malta... Check out this bar :)

Helpful?
3 Thank leigh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeychef, chef at New Tavern Inn Qawra, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi leigh many thanks for your kind review of The New Tavern Inn. We are so happy you enjoyed your food so much. We treat all our customers like friends and family and look forward to seeing you again soon. If you see Alan say hi from me. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Tavern Inn Qawra also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing