We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Qawra Point Holiday Complex
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Myself and my husband stayed in this hotel for one week at the end of September. We were very happy with the hotel in that we felt we got what we paid for. The room was very spacious with a balcony, separate kitchen and even an extra bedroom with a single bed in it. The kitchen was not equipped with dishes etc but then again it wouldn't have made any difference to us even if it was, we never used it, when we are on holidays we like to eat out every day so I cannot comment on the kitchen, however we did want wine glasses and on requesting them from Reception they were given to us with no problem at all. The restaurants in Malta are fabulous and very cheap so you may as well try them out when on your holidays. The air-conditioning worked perfectly, you simply give a €10 deposit at reception for the remote to work the air-conditioning and at the end of the week when you hand back your remote, you get your €10 back, simple! Our room was cleaned every day and new towels provided even though some days I hung up the towels to let them know we didn't need new ones, they still gave us new ones. For the small price we paid for the room for the 6 nights we stayed, our breakfast was included, however we like to sleep in on our holidays and only availed of this on our last morning as we had to be up early to catch a flight, we were totally pleasantly surprised at the breakfast, there was everything you could need from hot to cold breakfast. The location of the apartments is also great in that it is very close to a main bus terminal and the buses from here will take you all over the beautiful island of Malta. If you are looking for a luxury hotel then don't stay here but if you are looking for a base in Malta, somewhere clean and spacious to sleep, shower and change then this is the perfect place to base yourself, Malta is so beautiful you should be out there exploring the Island anyway, not stuck in your room. I would highly recommend this complex.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GovernL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Qawra Point Holiday Complex
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2010

we stayed at the qawra point hotel for a week, as soon as we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome by joseph on reception, check in was quick & easy. Our room was perfect couldnt fault it, very clean & spacious all u need for the amount of time u stay in your room. we had clean towels daily & rooms were cleaned & tidied daily except on sundays. this hotel is basic but you get what you pay for. beds were comfortable. only fault i can make is we had a kitchen area but no plates, cups cutlery etc... but when we asked at reception we were provided with things we needed.
The staff were great & friendly especially Tim (night security) & carmel who works during the daytime.
We never ate at the hotel so cant comment on the food, we missed breakfast everyday which was my own fault as we like a lie in!! Overall we enjoyed our stay & would definately stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeaniebeanie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

CHECKIN
The check in to this hotel was promising. Deposit given for safe key and air-conditioning unit remote.

ROOM
Room was ok basic but clean and tidy it was a self catering apartment there was cooker hob and grill but no cutlery pots pans plates or even a kettle in the room!! The window to the apartment did not lock and could be opened easily from outside in the corridor!!
We had no water for one of the days. Could not even flush the toilet!! When we complained we were told the pool was being filled!!! The pool facilities to the hotel were in the next door hotel.
For 2 days we had a lovely smell of drains in the room.

MEALS
Breakfast was ok but nothing special 7am - 9am but changed to 730am on the last day of our stay.
Evening meals was served at another hotel. You had to book at shuttle bus for at either 6pm or 730pm for 1st part and changed to 6pm or 7pm without warning for 2nd part of our stay. The shuttle back was at 7pm or 9pm. We felt very tied down by this arrangement and when we enquired about making our own way there (15-20 min walk) we were told the bus goes at 6pm or 7pm by a very rude receptionist.
We didn't bother to eat lunch there so can't comment on that.

We tried to enjoy ourselves and make the most of our stay as this was our only holiday this year.

CHECKOUT
Awful!!! We gave back keys and remote for air con and safe deposit key to be given deposit back. The receptionist then demanded our copy of our receipt. Then told us we had to give the deposit money back (confused we was!) when we asked why she informed us that she would get into trouble and have to pay the 22euro out of her wages. She spoke to us in a very aggressive manor. We left hotel very upset at the way we were spoken to.

OVERALL
Malta lovely country and would recommend to anyone there is something for everybody. Would never stay in this hotel again.
Please choose carefully!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicki_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

On arrival we were allocated the wrong room and had to stay in it until the next day.
We were then shown the correct room for what we had booked, a two bedroom appartment which was spacious and clean.
The kitchen had no cooker and a fridge that would look better in a skip. We had to ask for plates cutlery and a kettle as there was nothing provided.
Reading other reviews this seems the norm here. The management do not seem to learn from customer complaints.
The bathroom door would would not shut due to a previous flood ( the door was swelled up due to water damage) in the block and was told it could not be repaired for a least two more days. We were told that this room should not have been allocated.
We had a sea view from our main bedroom but the views from the second bedroom and bathroom were of a small lightwell approx 6 foot square with pipes running past. The view from the kitchen was of a larger lightwell with no view at all. We had to put the light on at all times in the kitchen area as it was better to draw the curtains.
After complaining to the holiday rep. the next day a handy man came with a big hammer and a chisel and hacked bits off the door to get it closed as a temporary measure which was still like that when we left.
The beds were a bit lumpy and the linen a bit stained at times but the appartment was cleaned and the beds and towels changed each day.
After my initial complaints the staff were friendly and helpful and we had no complaints there.
The breakfast each day was the same. As with reading other reviews the food was of the same standard along with the watered down fruit juices. Again this standard seems consistent which I feel the management should address.
We were not told about the evening meals being served in another hotel, which was probably a good thing if the breakfasts were go by.
The mini bus was always on time but the biggest problem was there was always too many guests and the driver had to make a second journey to collect the people left behind. The same bad mannered guests always ran for the bus first and the more polite were always left behind. This is not the standard of treatment you would expect to receive when on holiday with your family.
I was told by the staff that there was a problem in the kitchen on the first two nights and the kitchen was closed for evening meals. Funny how it was always open in the morning for breakfast.
This was a blatent lie and also deceptive to omit the fact that you had to be shipped to another hotel for a meal. A fact backed up by other reviews stating other guests were treated the same.
Overall the resort was ok, the staff were also fine but the standard of the Qawra Point Complex needs to be addressed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenhpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Qawra Point Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010

thank you for your review.sorry about the mix up in your room.These apartments are only sold as HALF BOARD and BED & BREAKFAST, and not as SELF CATERING, so the cooker is not needed. The fridges have been in the complex only two years.Only the main bedroom have a sea view from the balcony.The door to your room had to be changed and it was not possible for the carpenter to do it same day.
Breakfast is normally , cereals toast ham, cheese bacon & sausages, eggs baked beans. We normally sell these apartments with enriched continental breakfast, and I think we are giving guests what they pay for. Evening meals are served at the Bella Vista Hotel. wWe provide transport to all guests at their convenient time. We normally have between 5 and 15 guests on half board basis in the complex. your comments are appreciated and we will do our best to rectify any faults from our end.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Myself and my wife booked this Hotel for our vacation,on arrival the hotel does not look to bad but don't let this fool you.Check in is done by filling in a slip of paper,a bit antiquated for these modern times,then you will be asked for a 50 euro deposit,don't pay cash or you will not getit back until a week after you come home.So to the hotel this is a little run downin my opinion and in need of a revamp,or room had mould on the wall which backed onto the ensuite.The bathroom its self had cracked grouting above the bath(I suspect the cause of the mould),the dispenser for the shower gel was absolutely disgusting and looked as if it had not been cleaned in years.The outdoor pool was too small for the hotel and had a tide mark around it.Our balcony view was of roofs and gardens.But worse was to come the food in the dining room was terrible,in 14 days in the hotel Ican say with honesty we only had a couple of decent meals.The food was of poor quality and overcooked,also it was not exactly what you would call hot which made me worry about the chances of food poisioning.We made a complaint to our tour operator and at this point are still waiting to here from them.This hotel has 4 stars from the Malta Tourist Board,the tour operator gives it 3 stars,if were up to me it would be lucky to get 2.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leesdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Qawra Point Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010

thank you for your review, we appreciate guests feedback.The 50 EURO dEPOSIT IS NOT DEBITED from your account and you do not need a week to get it back.Guests who pay cash are given the 50 euro in cash on their last day.We hardly get complaints that the food was not hot.Breakfast at the complex is cooked while the guests are waiting . Unfortunately some English guests are not used to the Maltese cooking, we use a lot of spices and sauces, Qawra Point complex is clasified as 3 star by the tourist board., and we get regular inspections by the authorities to see that we keep to our standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed at this aparthotel in June for 1 week. However it should be known that this is no longer the Bella Vista Aparthotel but the Qawra Point Holiday Complex. The taxi driver had never heard of it yet we booked through a reputable site giving it 3 stars. I would rate it 1 star at most. There is 1 lift for 5 floors, old paint and carpets to greet clients, the 1 bedroom apartment had no delph, cutlery, kettle,pot, pan - nothing. There were 3 old beds in the 1 bedroom with NO air conditioning, just a fan on the bedroom wall and another in the living area, which had no couch or soft chairs. The balcony was so small that a table could not be put out onto it. In its favour the staff were very friendly but overworked. The sun terrace is a joke and the "pool" is like a giant bath. Sorry, never again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annaleigh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Qawra Point Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010

thank you for your contribution. The name of the complex was changed to QAWRA POINT so get guests and tour operators will not get mixed up between BELLA VISTA HOTEL and BELLA VISTA APARTMENTS. The wawra point complex is classified as 3 star by the tourist board.There are only about 24 rooms and the lift takes about 10 guests at 1 time.The rooms do not require cutlery pot and all the stuff you mentioned because they are not sold as self
SELF CATERING but as BB and HB.All the main bedrooms and the kitchen have single unit airconditioners, all you need is get a remote from reception. our staff work day in day out either morning or evening around 40/45 hours per week., with between 30 maximum 50 guests at a time.Cannot see how they are overworked . Sorry we did not meet your requirments. thank you for choosing Malta.























catering, but as BED & BREAKFAST and HALF BOARD.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

taxi dropped us to bella vista hotel, wrong place! not drivers fault they assume this is where address is, however,hotel reception very helpful in ringing for shuttle bus from QAWRA POINT HOLIDAY COMPLEX to take us there no charge about a mile.,we had to help 2 italian girls who went to wrong place too. it seems they are part of the same company( bella vista on their sign) but they all deny it,
qwara point holiday complex apartments are cleaned and tidied by maids everyday,are quiet, having large bedrooms,balcony,kitchen(you wont need as its cheap to eat out) ample tables storage etc, beds are hard, as most usually are. but comfortable. lift, nice decor, pool is a portable type but you will want to go swimming in the sea, golden bay is not far. with buffet breakfast room serving cooked if you want. we had half board, GREAT VALUE. a shuttle bus driven by a very friendly driver will pick u up at 6 or 7.30pm for buffet dinner back at the 4 star bella vista hotel for a lovely meal, fresh exellent quality food of a large choice, especially their meat dishes and lovely desserts! all you can eat! shuttle driver will probably have his dinner too! and take you back nearly 2 hours later.no need to rush.
apartments, great location, USE THE BUSES,good fun, cheap (3 euro would take you on and off all day and go anywhere anytime in the day for the same ticket, their drivers are great charactors! and i just hope the old buses keep running.
in all.. lovely people, helpful, nice place close to amenities shops, bus stop, for a great time in malta.
i wont say what we paid for our stay,(just the food alone was worth what we paid) but we had a super cheap bargain, worth an awful alot more. so shop around! i dunno how they do it. AAAA++++

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovethemed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Qawra Point Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010

thank you for your lovely review. It is nice when guests appreciate that for a few Euros they pay, they are getting a lot more than their money's worth.As you said if you eat out you will probably spend more than for staying at QAWRA POINT especially between OCT and MAY.Thank you for your comments about our food, and about our staff and MALTA. Our buses are part of our culture and it will be a pity if they replace them.Thanks for choosing Malta and the QAWRA POINT COMPLEX.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,775 reviews
0.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#13 of 15 in Qawra
1,788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 15 in Qawra
985 reviews
0.5 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qawra Point Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Point Holiday Complex

Address: Tourist Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1024, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range: £37 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Qawra Point Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qawra Point Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Point Holiday Complex Hotel Qawra
Qawra Point Holiday Complex Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing