We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cardor Holiday Complex
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed here in June this year for a month and have done so for a couple of years. We find the place adequate if a little basic. The place is cleaned every day and there are plenty of clean towels and hot water. Downside, there is sometimes a damp smell in cupboards on the lower floors.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, they will bend over backwards to rectify a problem
The Apartments are very near the bus station, bars and restaurants and within easy reach of the Qawra seafront, where we found a cabin called Tanti Lino which was amazing for snacks etc., they dont do meals as such but you can get lasagne and pies with salad, a couple of beers for around 10euros, this place is also buzzing with locals so you know it is value for money.
Dont read too much into some of these revues, if you are going to sit in the apartments all holiday long they are not for you, if you are out and about as we are wanting somewhere to breakfast, sleep and wash it is perfect.
Look around too for the best price as some websites charge silly money for this place.

Room Tip: There are some rooms in the centre of the place which are dreadful, like cells, ask for a street or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank susancrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

Our first impression was not good as we were shown to our cell, sorry apartment! It was dark & dirty with the only window being in the bedroom. On complaining we were given the option of another apartment on the top floor with more space, the luxury of a settee, more windows, large balcony& better view! My advice is not to accept the first accommodation given as they seem to "try it on" & hope you dont complain. There were many guests making complaints of a similar nature throughout our stay. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MIKE47-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed again in December, room was acceptable, reception had good service, a couple of problems though, the locals take over the place at weekends making parking a problem, if you wanted to benefit from the bar and entertainment in the evening forget it, the local Maltese have 1st choice for seats. Room was opposite the Irish bar and Elvis bar and we had the noise from terrible singers! Room was cleaner than last time. Wi-fi was just a joke, the only way online was via a local pub. Usual problems with access from the steps at evening. Its OK for a cheap escape and you need to be tolerant of noise, you can get much better for the same money elsewhere. Didn't bother with the meals on this trip, I am not into to paying so much for crap food and crap service. Place is OK as a base if you are going out a lot but parking and noise is a big problem at weekends. I cannot see me staying here again unless the other alternatives are to expensive.

Room Tip: Avoid anything near the lift or facing the Elvis pub or Irish bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Do no take notice of the terrible reviews. If you pay what you pay to stay here and except 5 star luxury your living in a dream world. We had to move rooms when we first arrived as the beds where not very comfortable but that was done quickly and with ease. The room was comfortable and clean and had a nice view and the staff where friendly enough. If you are simply looking for somewhere to stay in a good location for a very reasonable price then I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickygrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in may for 7 nights. I've stayed in the canifor and the dori rose(what the cardor use to bee)before and remember the staff being rude years ago, nothing has changed. we had to check in in the canifor due to it being night time. the man at the desk had a stinking attitude . when we got in to the cardor it was a maze to find the lift witch is the worst lift i've ever been on , it only hold about two people and a suit case and before it opens at your floor it feels like its about to drop down, not fun.we had an apartment on the top floor that sucked, we basically paid for our terrace , the bathroom had no lock and was unbelievably tiny . there was only air-conditioning in one room at an extra charge of £40.00 but we had a plug in fan in our room so we just done that . the place was dirty the bed sheets were not clean. there wasn't even a wash cloth or anything for the sink. we purchased a hair dryer from reception the next morning . it was only 4 euros but i suggest no one else bothers cause its pointless we had to sit outside and wait for the sun to dry our hair cause it was quicker!.we only paid 100 odd pounds for the room but i atleast expected a lock on the bathroom .i also had a silver bracelet go missing . ill never make the mistake of leaving it out again.when we tryed to check out they tryed billed us for drink we never had it turned out the bill was for someone in the canifor court apartments not the canifor but there apartments across the street. I would never advise this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebeccaswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We spent 10 days at this holiday complex cost was only £123.00. It is basic but clean, staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms were cleaned daily. We were rather worried having read reviews on this place, however, we found the reviews a bit OTT. The place is very clean and tidy, ideally located for bus station bars restaurants etc. We only used to sleep in the place, and we had no problems at all when there. It was a bit inconvenient having to enter complex via sister hotel after 4pm but it was no big deal. We would use this complex again and would recommend it. Bear in mind that it is very very basic so if you are looking for extra frills then use hotel or pay extra at another complex.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed here from the 1st November to the 10th. We arrived at about 11.30am and were expecting to have to wait untill later to get into our room, but the lady let us in straight away we were delighted she was very nice and helpfull. We had a great time there, It is very basic but we were not excpcting any thing else as we only paid £123.00 and for that price it was worth the money. every thing worked the room was cleaned every day the staff were really nice. The T.V worked but not to many english channels, but then again I didn't go to Malta to watch english T.V. Your not far from the shops and bus station. We did read all the comments on trip advisor and were a bit worried but I am happy to say that we had a great time. I would go back, we used it as a base as we were out every day if you keep in mind that it is very basic, then hopfully you'll have a good time. The staff do speek english and we found then all very friendly and helpfull. We were in room 304

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#13 of 15 in Qawra
1,807 reviews
0.5 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,639 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardor Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardor Holiday Complex

Address: Tourist Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1015, Malta (Formerly Dorirose Aparthotel)
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range: £10 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardor Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cardor Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardor Holiday Complex Qawra
Cardor Holiday Complex Hotel Qawra
Cardor Holiday Complex Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing