We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smelly and tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cardor Holiday Complex
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“smelly and tired”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

stayed at cardor march 20th the room we had smelt musty on arrival towels and sheets very old and worn we asked for two extra pillows as the pillows were very thin but they only had one spare the room was also very cold we had h board and had meals in canifor hotel there sister hotel food was ok .and service very good the apartments are very close to bus station .which was helpful as buses get very crowded but a good cheap way to explore malta. cardor not for the faint hearted.though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank willywake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    38
    68
    36
    79
See reviews for
70
101
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Street, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Cardor is an anex of the Canifor Hotel.
On arrival our room smelt musty and when I pulled back the sheets they had hair and mould spores on them. Second room reeked of cigarette smoke. Third room was OK but tired and taps stiff and don't expect the Air Con unit to work. On the last night our neighbours unit flooded and water ran along the corridor and down the stairs.
We were full board. Soup came in different colours and no taste. The vegetables were boiled to death, the meat was OK if you avoided anything processed. I stuck to salad. The hotel was 4 star but no longer justifies this rating. In short - Avoid it like the plague

Room Tip: If you are in a town and looking for a hotel, look to see if the windows are clean. I used to laug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank graculas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Took the family for a pre Christmas treat. The rooms were fine and have been refurbished . Rooms are cleaned daily by cheerful & helpful staff.
Just wish the indoor pool was kept open a little later in the evening, 6.00 closure is a little early .
Stayed here a couple of years ago with the family & will use again.
PS. Glad they have removed the bell in the lift.

Room Tip: Rooms 104 204 & 306 have great balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burscough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We arrived at the Canifor Hotel, which is the sister hotel to the Cardor apartments at dinner time. The young girl at reception told us that there was a problem with our apartment and as all their rooms were taken she would phone around to see if another hotel could take us. I asked if it would be a one bedroom apartment, like the one we paid for, she said oh no it would be a room. I said that is no good and asked to see the manager, he did not have the guts to come out and see us. When I asked what the problem was with our apartment, she said "maintenance". Seeing we weren't going anywhere she phoned over to the apartment block and a housekeeper came and took us to the apartments. She showed us to the smallest apartment ever, it had no balcony and very small windows. We nearly drowned to death that night, in the sweat that just poured off of us. Next day we told the rep and he thank goodness got them to change our apartment, which had two balconies.

I have travelled to many places in my time and I can honestly say this was the worst treatment we have ever received.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 992Sue147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just home after spending 2 weeks in this hell hole. Please don't waste your money. If you must go to Malta, find somewhere else to stay other than the Cardor or Canifor. The pool area is in constant shade from 2.30pm. The pool is tiny. The first room they put us in was a replica of a prison cell. No balcony. We did complain and eventually we're moved to another room. The receptionist was unfriendly. Worst holiday ever.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mattysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltcoats, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We wanted a clean, cheap and quiet apartment to sleep at night, with clean bathroom and a clean kitchen for a cuppa. That's what we got. Staff were polite and helpful. We had a great holiday, so all in all job done

Room Tip: We had room 401, it looked over the pool, but noise wasn't a problem, it got the afternoon sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank figi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We arrived at 3.30 in the morning after waking the reception man up who was very rude we were told to walk down the road to find our apartment. We found it eventually and it only got worse dead insects all over the walls and floors mold in the frige and also in the bathroom, bedding was stained and looked like it had never seen a washing machine. The smell was disgusting the sofa in the living area was all torn and the the stuffing was hanging out the toliet seat was stanied and smelt of urine. We asked for a one bed appartment and had four beds in one room got moved out the next day could not stay there for a minute longer. WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN EVEN IF THEY PAID ME......

Room Tip: My tip is do not stay in these apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 15 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
1.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardor Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardor Holiday Complex

Property: Cardor Holiday Complex
Address: Tourist Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1015, Malta (Formerly Dorirose Aparthotel)
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardor Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cardor Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardor Holiday Complex Qawra
Cardor Holiday Complex Hotel Qawra
Cardor Holiday Complex Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing