We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected”
Review of Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seaview Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed 28th June to 5thjuly.i went with my 2 daughters aged 19&23. We had a nice time,the shower was fine,the music didn't bother us as it ended at 11pm. The towels were old & sometimes we only got flannel size ones.one day we had none,We complained & the girl on reception said she would go & get them knowing she was going straight home.The person who I guess was the manager seemed to be always stressed,I don't think I would enjoy working for him.Pool was nice,prices ok.Quawa itself is lovely.Everyone friendly &all speak English.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kirkySaltashCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

On paper the Hotel Sea View was just what we were looking for. Small, in a fairly quiet location and with sea view rooms available. On arrival we were allocated room number 1 on the ground floor with balcony overlooking the sea. It seems that we were unfortunate in being given one of the smallest rooms in the hotel, other rooms in the hotel are larger and we met guests who were very pleased with them. The first thing that we noticed was that with the door closed and window open the wind howled through gaps in the ill fitting door making a terrible noise. When I complained about this I was told to shut all the windows and use the free standing fan. This had such a short power lead it was not practical to do so as the only points available were close by the head of the beds. The other problem with keeping all the windows closed was the the smell of sewerage every time you entered the room.

The shower room itself was a decent size but clearly with very old fittings. Rusty bolts holding a plastic toilet seat that had seen better days. The walk in shower was a decent size and the water hot and plentiful at the times we used it most. Clearly the water heating was on a timer as there was the odd occasion when turning on the hot tap produced luke warm water. The towels were changed daily but like everything else had obviously been in use since the hotel opened and were very well worn. The room maid did a wonderful job in cleaning and making the room comfortable as possible and really deserves a pat on the back.

I cannot comment too much on the restaurant food as we seldom had more than toast and orange squash (not juice) from a machine. The coffee dispensed from another machine was appalling and we gave up on that after the first day. We decided to eat out in the evenings.

Outside things were better. There is an attractive pool area with plenty of seating and sun loungers There is a small kiddies pool alongside that main pool but if you have small children take care that they do not stray from it. They could easily fall into the large pool which has no indication of how deep the water is. When we were there guests included a number of people who were less than mobile but would still have liked to use the pool. What deterred them was that there was no hand rail along side the steps so they they could steady themselves when entering the water. There is a poolside bar and once again the barman provided a friendly service.

It is a shame (and frankly ridiculous) that the pool is closed at 5.30 each evening so that seating can be rearranged for the evening 'entertainment'. The less said about that the better.

"Wheelchair friendly" is, I guess, a term not used too often in Qawra. ( the Q is silent by the way). In places the kerbs are very high, 30cm (12 inches) or so with very few access points for wheel chairs. There are plenty of steps to negotiate at the entrance to the hotel and around the pool area.

I would guess that not too much investment has been made in the hotel since it was built which is a shame as it is in such a good position.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room on an upper floor which seem to be larger and better appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rojmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Few pointers to those looking at this hotel. It is NOT full of old people. There are no kids admittedly but there are young people. The room has just enough space for 2 beds and to step out onto the balcony one side and into the bathroom thr other. There is extremely loud evening entertainment which can be heard all over the hotel and for least 100 yards up the road. Last night it was karaoke which was terrible. The food is sadly all English - tonight a choice of braised beef or breaded plaice (probably from Birds Eye) or omelette all with the same frozen veg. Pudding was the smallest slice of cake I have ever seen and a scoop of ice cream. Think 1960's school dinners and you won't go wrong. O dear. Not the best choice we have ever made.

Room Tip: Lovely sea views so pay the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coffdrop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Great hotel,you get what you pay for. Lovely staff,great location,bed and breakfast is a good deal.
Stayed here in april with my wife,daughter and father in law so a good cross section of all ages.
Going back to this place in two weeks,love it. Go away and chill by the pool.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank stevethestud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We booked and paid extra for a sea view room and as the words say it really was sea view. The room was on the third floor, near to the lift. Our room was very clean and the room attendant would come in and remake the beds and change the towels as required Once during the week the sheets were changed. The beds were a 3" mattress placed onto a solid frame but unfortunately were the wrong size for the base. This made it impossible for the sheets to stay in place as they were too small for the size of the mattress.
The balcony run the length of the rooms on out level and to our horror we found that the balcony sliding doors would not lock shut. We were able to hire a safe for the week.
The television in the rooms only showed BBC World News that gets transmitted to North Africa. Yes it is in English, but that is all there is. I tried to re tune my set and there was only one channel being sent to the TV. On asking about the "Satellite TV with Multiple Channels" as stated in the brochure, I was told that all of the rooms only have the one channel.
As stated in the brochure, there was a restaurant which was serviceable although we ate out a couple of times. There was a lot of past on the menu with vegetables that looked as if they had been taken from a tin and then boiled within a couple of inches beyond their death. My wife had scrambled eggs for breakfast and I had fried. The scrambled eggs were fine. Unfortunately, the fried eggs of which there were two, looked like they had been cooked by two different people. Every day one was like a bullet and the other was all snotty. On the last day the server said she would take them back and have a word with the cook. She brought back two Bullets.
Apart from the Manager, who turned out to be the owner, The staff were fantastic very obliging and very pleasant. There are a couple of Ex Pats who work in the hotel and they can't do enough to help you and to make you stay a pleasant one.
The games room that they show in the Brochure was closed and being used for storage
I would use the Hotel again if they improve the tv stations to at least to SKY News and if they get rid of the Cook. One real bonus is that the Island runs on 240 Volt electricity. So all of your home gadgets will work ok

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank milcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We have just spend a weekend break in this cheap and very cheerful clean hotel. A hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff.
Hotel is in a fantasic centrally possition .We was giving room num 4 with a Seaview Balcony facing the St Paul Islands,which was great.Hotel have a small pool too so one can enjoy sweeming and Sunbathing.Hotel had also Evenings Entertainment.
Basic hotel but all works perfectly .
Breakfast and Dinners is not a buffet ones though on first night we had a buffet dinner. But breakfast was ok a full English one. Dinners was good too.
In my opinion this was a value for money hotel. Good hotel for those on tight budget. In one word we love it. Thanks to Travelrepubic for booking as usual this hotel for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank thesegmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

just returned from this little gem of a hotel. It is right on the sea front. The hotel is clean, our towels were changed everyday, our bedding was changed three times in one week. The room we stayed in had three single beds but did hear that other rooms were very small. there was a bath, the only thing I could fault the shower was hand held and not wall mounted. The breakfast was good, you were asked each day if you wanted a cooked breakfast and the staff were all helpful as were the staff on the reception, the cleaners were also excellent.
This is a small family run hotel not a five star complex so do not expect five star luxury for a three star price it is very basic needs updating but overall a excellent place to stay.
Overall a fantastic stay and hopefully will be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 30 which was side facing with a balcony,it was massive with 3 beds and a bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.4 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
809 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Salina Wharf
Club Salina Wharf
#9 of 15 in Qawra
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,855 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Address: Qawra Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB04, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Qawra
Seaview Hotel Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing