We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacanza a Malta!”
Review of The Whole Hog - CLOSED

The Whole Hog
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hand carved roast meat sandwiches using the finest ingredients in our bespoke daily baked bread rolls. Delicious vegetarian and chilled options also available. Daily specials, carvery and Sunday roasts all home made. Wine bar playing background music with No karaoke, a nice place to reflect on your days adventures in a happy, quiet environment.
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We found this place on the second night of our holiday as we were looking for somewhere with free Wifi as in the hotel you paid! Mary and Jay are so friendly and David too so we then went for a drink most nights and a chat! Sorry we didn't try your food after reading all the reviews! Next time! Have a good summer! Mary ,Miriam and hubby xxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary08Venice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay A, Owner at The Whole Hog, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Gracie cari amici!

Mary, Miriam, and Hubby.

Hope you had a great flight back and Venice hadn't sunk! ;)

It was lovely meeting you all and spending many evenings with you.

It's pretty awful in this day and age when you are charged for Wifi but everyone is welcome to use ours and meet new friends!

Next time you visit you must try the food, or just come into the bar if you only fancy a drink and a chat, we really don't mind.

Take care guys, have a fantastic summer and we look forwards to your next visit ( or we may come over to Venice to see you) :)

Jay , Mary and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 204 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Went tonight for first time the reviews were brilliant why because their true had a take away and all good great food great service great staff make you feel at home you will never go once

Thank steveo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay A, Owner at The Whole Hog, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Steve.

So, so pleased you enjoyed the roast dinner in a box!

Thank you for your kind words.

People said to us that trip advisor would be a good promotional tool for our little restaurant and yes it can be but you know, it's also and I think more importantly a very personal app for us as well.

You see this morning I started roasting the meats, and preparing the vegetables and sat there in a pile of potato peel and felt somewhat tired and a little forlorn so I went outside for a red bull and espresso ( separate cups! after a 19 hour, very quiet day yesterday) then your review popped up.

That's what keeps us motivated, the kindness people show us in their reviews and feedback in the restaurant.

It will be great to see you again before your trip is over and we hope you are having another fantastic break in Malta.

Jay and Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We tried to use this service and mainly with good results, but not with this top restaurant. We lived very close to the supposed position of it, and should have passed it at least once a day, if the map was right. But we only found it the next to the last day in Malta - by looking the hotel mentioned, San Antonio, up on Goggle. When we got there, probably about 10 pm it was closed. Their sign said open 12 - 3 pm and 6pm - late.- but apparently not that late.

And: we might not have eaten there anyway - we regard the phrase of 'big portions' (and the like) not as a promise, but as a threat. Will give us the choice of wasting food or not having dessert.

And the rest of the information in this 'review': you request it to take my 'mail' - but it might not be realistic.

Thank HanneJa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay A, Owner at The Whole Hog, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear HanneJa.

I'm sorry you didn't manage to find us using the "directions" map on trip advisor. It does indeed send you to the wrong end of tourist street as I've mentioned in my previous responses. Try as I might it's the post code that is not allocated to where it should be.

The post code is correct and I have tried to list us as opposite the San Antonio hotel across the road and on the corner as this is where to find us.

I have also logged into google business and have manually moved the pin to the right position and when the verification post card arrives I'm hoping this will fix the position on trip advisor.

As to the "huge portions" the only time we use a phrase like this is to say "giant sandwiches" which is our speciality, yes they are large but you do have the option to have any portion you like boxed up to take away with you or indeed you could ask for a half portion, we're happy to accommodate any wishes you may have.

In your email to me you also said that even when you had found us you probably wouldn't have eaten here because you didn't like sandwiches for an evening meal.

We always provide at least one meal special of an evening and always our roast dinner carvery which is very popular.


I'm sorry you didn't get to meet us or try our food on this visit and only hope that you may come to try our food on your return to Malta.

You will receive the warmest of welcomes here at "The Hog" Kindest regards Jay and Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you love sandwiches or if you want a fast, delicious meal you should definitely try this place! For less than 5 EUR you get a giant sandwich either with pork or with chicken (in gravy and other delicious things), all in fresh bread. You can also add salad, crisps or order the vegetarian dish. Simply awesome!

Thank anktudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay A, Owner at The Whole Hog, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Wow Anktudy!

Thank you for such high praise for our Sandwiches, I especially loved the " other delicious things" it made us smile.

We are very proud of our food and only buy the best delicious things possible.

You know I nearly shed a tear reading the last couple of reviews because of people's delight in our food and also that you have all taken the time to write about us, it really is truly humbling.

We would love to see you again and hope you enjoy your stay in beautiful Malta.

Best wishes to you, Jay and Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Found this wonderful place in the second week of our holiday, it may be "only" sandwhiches but i can honestly say those sandwhiches were the best meals I had all holiday. Wish we found it earlier!!
The family that run it are also very lovely and welcoming, such a pleasant experience. Definitely our first stop next time we are in Malta!
KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!

Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay A, Owner at The Whole Hog, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Claire and family, thank you so much for a wonderful review for us. It was an absolute delight serving you and your family and we were so pleased to see you when you made another visit.

Sorry to hear about the place you were staying and hope it didn't mar your holiday too much.

Take care guys and would love to see you again on your next time in Malta.

Mary and Jay. X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Whole Hog also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing