We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a very good time at the Sunny Coast Resort Club!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We stayed at the Sunny Coast Resort Club from Sunday, March 6 till Friday, March 11. The studio we booked was very luxurious and surprisingly big. We had our breakfast at the Malibu restaurant, just opposite the hotel and next to the swimming pool belonging to the resort. One had the option between an English breakfast and a continental one, which were both pretty good and sufficient. The personnel at the Malibu restaurant was very friendly; special compliments go to the cook who prepared a wonderful breakfast for 9 guests on his own (on Friday morning).
One minor point: the entrance of the hotel does not look very inviting. However, the inside of the hotel is really beautful, personnel is friendly and helpful, towels were changed every day; garbage cans emptied every day; studio cleaned and linen change every 3 days. In short, we had a very good time at this resort and we absolutely recommend it to others! Regards from the Netherlands: Bruno and Erna

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bamkeijzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive reviews about the resort and staff. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed food at the Malibu restaurant. Please note that your positive comments have been forwarded to the respective department. Your comment about the reception area has been forwarded to the Hotel Management team. We look forward to host you again at the Sunny Coast.Yours sincerely The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 940 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2011

Just back from a week at the Sunny Coast.
We booked very last minute. Ryan Air flight from Edinburgh.
Found the Sunny Coast on Barhead travel hotel search and booked on basis of Trip Advisor reviews.
We contacted Hotel by email to advise of our arrival time and inquired about airport transfer.
They organized a taxi for us for 45 Euros return. The flight was on time and we had as much if not better leg room as we had with Thomas Cook and Thomson last year. When we arrived our driver was waiting for us. One of our most relaxed and stress free travelling experiences for a while.
The check in was effortless and our one bed room apartment was on the 7th floor in the middle with a great sea view. It was of a decent standard and clean enough. It had a separate bed room and bath room with a large living dining and kitchen area. The kitchen had every thing you would need with the exception of a microwave. There was a large balcony with stunning views. One slightly quirky feature was the bedroom, bathroom and kitchen windows opened on to a service shaft shared with some other apartments it also acted as a light shaft, for us on the 7th floor this worked well not sure how effective it would have been further down. Given the view we had from the living area this didn't bother us.
The maid visits every day to change the towels and empty the bins , you get a full service every three days.
There is a well stocked small shop on the 1st floor which had most of what we wanted.
The restaurant in the hotel itself was shut as it was still very early season but the one by the pool area was open and we enjoyed a nice meal there.
The hotel had a board from a company called Nova travel which offered sightseeing trips throughout Malta and Gozo. We booked one to Gozo through the hotel which cost us 23 Euros plus about 5 Euros return for the ferry each. For this we got return transfer to the ferry and on Gozo itself a minibus with driver guide for the day. We thoroughly enjoyed our day and found it to be excellent value for money.
We also used the open top buses from sightseeing Malta the deal is for you choose the South or North tour and you can hop on and off as often as you like its 15 Euros per person for the day. We did both and enjoyed them both.
From the Sunny Coast you can walk around the promenade all the way round to St Paul s bay which makes for a pleasant walk you can also cross straight through the resort which is much quicker to get from one side to the other.
There are many excellent places to eat check out the restaurant section.
Weather wise it was around 16C or so and we didn't really have any rain but it was windy at times and that took the edge off things especially if you were on an open top bus!
I have to say that we found the staff couldn't do enough for you. If you had a question about a tour or such like they phoned the relevant organisation and found out for you. Excellent service. And a great base to Discover Malta.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewisgHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for the positive comment about our friendly staff. We are pleased they were help to you. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here at the Sunny Coast. Our guest comments are very important to us.
We looked forward to host you again at the Sunny Coast.
Yours sincerely
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We were a bit disappionted by Malta as a whole, mainly because one town just seemed to roll in to another and another and ... (you get the idea). There was very little open space. With that in mind, our accomodation was not bad:

Location : By the sea was great. Just a shame there were so many other buildings around. We were glad we went for a sea view, as looking out across the water was great. There were several good restaurants near by, with good quality food and excellent service.

Cleanliness : The appartment was not particularly clean. Not really dirty, but lacking attention to detail to get it really clean.

Appartment : The layout of the appartment was great. There was ample space in the living room, with reasonably comfortable chairs and a sofa. There was a TV, although viewing choice was limited. The bedrooms were of a good size, with comfortable beds and the two showers were warm and powerful.

Service : Nothing to write home about, but that seemed standard for Malta. The Brits who live there (running pubs, shops, etc.) were really friendly and chearful. However, I'm not sure we found a single Malteese who was friendly or cheerful.

Would I recommend to a friend? I probably would not recommend Malta to anyone, but if someone insisted on going and wanted an OK hotel then, yes, I would recommend this one. However, I would set their expectation by saying "It's OK, nothing special, but not that bad."

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your constructive comments on our resort. Please note that your comments have been forwarded to the Hotel Management team in order to address the issues you have raised so that we can keep improving. On behalf of the management and staff at the Sunny Coast Resort, we would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.
Yours sincerely
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We have stayed at Sunny Coast regularly for the past 14 years and have never had a bad experience. The staff from Top Management downward are most courteous and friendly to all. The Malibu Bar is a pleasant bar situated at the poolside. Prices are reasonable and quality of food and drink first class. Portions served are generous.
There are many good resteraunts and bars within walking distance so nobody should have cause for complaint.
The bus station is about ten minutes walk away and from here you can travel to all parts of the island.
For those who wish to remain local The promenade from Sunny Coast round to St Pauls Bay is a pleasure to take a stroll along with seating along most of the way for those unable to walk far. Also lots of places for refreshments..along the way.
The apartments in the hotel itself are comfortable and well equipped. Should you require anything further a simple request at reception usually provides the answer.
cleanliness is excellent, rubbish collected daily and towels changed daily..
In short you would have to travel far to find better quality.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomHoughton82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review about our hotel, our friendly and helpful staff that make your stay a great one. Your positive comments will be forwarded to the respective departments. We look forward to host you agian at the Sunny Coast.
Yours sincerely The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Hotel staff very helpful. Rooms were clean, well equipped and recently re-furbished. We went for the half-board option and this was the best decision we could have made. The Malibu Restaurant by the pool served fresh delicious food in generous portions. There was a full English breakfast and the three course evening meal always had choices. They had an excellent chef and the owners were extremely kind and friendly. The small well-equipped supermarket in the hotel was convenient.
No need for taxis or car hire; the bus station was near and the buses are an experience not to be missed!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJF063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed the food at the Malibu restaurant and that hotel staff helped to make your stay a great one. Your positive comments will be forwarded to the respective departments.
We look forward to host you again at the Sunny Coast. Yours sincerely The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Dirty and dingy is how you would describe the Sunny coast, the hotel requires a complete facelift. The room allocated included fold down bed which my teenage daugter was expected to sleep on, the bed was covered with stains and human hair. The bed was beyond cleaning and had to be replaced. The rest of fixtures and fitiings in the room were well past their sell by date. The daytime reception staff can only be described as miserable and unhelpful, opposite to the night staff.
Cannot comment on the food in the hotel as it would be the last place I would eat on Malta.
On the plus side the pool area was great apart from weekends when it is invaded by locals.
It goes without saying that I will not return.
One thing I cannot understand is the Tripadvisor rating, most people were complaining during my stay. In the past tripadvisor has been very useful in chosing hotels, I will be wary in future.
PS for all you timeshare owners, there is extra charges for this hotel (approx £60 PW) double check before you book.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pendlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Dear Guest
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. our guest comments are very important to us. Please note that your comments have been forwarded to the Hotel Management team in order to address the issues you have raised. The charge mentioned in your review is for guests that travel with RCI and it is written in the RCI book in order to know that you have to pay for the utility. We thank you for your comments and would like to underline our commitment into looking into every one of them. Yours sincerely The Front office Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

It was a pleasure staying in this hotel. The location is stated in a prime position at Qawra, just 5 minutes walk and you'll be near the sea. The furnishing in the apartments were good, and have all facilities such as TV. The receptionists and staff were friendly, and we were welcomed at check in. We had the facility to use the leisure center too, such as the gym, indoor pool ect... There are lots of shops situated near the hotel, and there are supermarkets and grocers situated near the hotel. I would surely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimmy_valla16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
491 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,940 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: £26 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing