We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved ammenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed 13 June 2012

friendly Staff Food excelent Restaurannt and bar much improved.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJOB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

We (Mum, Dad, 8 year old Daughter and Grandpa) booked a 2 B'room Apt Seaview directly from the Hotel website for 8 nights. We were given a 2 B'room Apt., with side seaview, 1 WC and a very small balcony. Having arrived late in the evening, we were asked by the nightshift receptionist if we would like to have dinner at the hotel restaurant, we said yes and he spoke with the restaurant staff, that waited for us and served us a very good meal. On the next day I spoke with the Hotel manager and asked if we could move to a bigger Apt. with a better seaview and a bigger balcony, and he immediately fullfiled our request. We then moved to a a different Apt.(2 WC, one ensuite) with 4 balconies, one of them a huge one with an amazing frontal seaview.
Hotel services & facilities:
- Restaurant: Top class. Great local food & local wine, great service and good prices. The platters, local dishes and pizzas are just amazing! The lady who runs the Restaurant at the Hotel deserves 10 out of 10!
Much better than the typical irish-british type of "food" you could expect from a place in Malta, and that you actually get in most Buggiba and Qwara restaurants.
Remark: The continetal breakfast menu could be improved with some pastries, croissants and fresh fruit.
- SPA & Pools: Good Indoor pool & jacuzzi. Great Outdoor pool with sea water(a really nice surprise), 3 outdoor jacuzzies and a "semi-private" rocky beach, dozens of sunbeds and pool bar with food and drinks (Good food, but average service on the pool bar).
- Staff: Reception staff always available, towels changed daily and sheets changed every 3 days.
- Hotel minimarket: Didn't use it, so no comments.
- Location: Good location, bus stop to Valletta, M'dina, etc...on the Hotel door. 20 mins walk to Buggiba. Expect mass low budget tourism atmosphere in Buggiba!

Room Tip: When booking a seaview Apt. ask for frontal seaview, e.g. the Apt. 502 is amazing: 2 bedrooms (1 ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NunoGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Hotel.....We had no trouble finding Sunny Caost Resort and parking was available next to hotel. Having parked up we went and checked in......the lady on the desk was quite helpful..Having got to our room appartment 302b we discovered the switch for the bedside light didn't work so when we went to get our cases we reported it. On getting our cases the lady who runs the mini market came out...very friendly and suggested we took our cases through the shop as a short cut which we did. On returning to our room a mere five mins after reporting the light switch a gentleman came to look....went off to get a new switch and fixed it..Amazing service for which we were very pleased. Our appartment had a good size bedroom, large living area with table/chairs/sofabed and small kitchen area. A balcony off both rooms. Bathroom small but adequate with frosted glass window which we opened once to see where it went and was a shaft of some sort...however this did not cause us any problems at all.
The Staff....all the staff were polite and helpful...some smiled more than others and must mention the gentleman on nights who was very friendly, helpful and soon knew which room key was ours.
The house keeping staff came everyday....in the two weeks we were there we could have had clean sheets four times and our towels were changed every day. I would suggest that the bedlinen could be better as the flat sheets did not fit the bed.....fitted sheets would be much more suitable.The appartment was kept clean.
Our balconies looked over the main street and it could be noisy at times....also we didn't get the sun till the afternoon and it was a bit too hot to sit out after a day on the beach.
The air conditioning units.....one in lounge and one in bedroom.....I did not find these adequate and was frequently hot especially at night...we did try having the bedroom window open but it was too noisy....we got round this by leaving the lounge window open at night instead....however my husband did not have a problem with the heat so this could have just been my age.
We did not eat in the hotel restaurant so can't comment on that.
We were not impressed with the utility charges about £70 plus for the two weeks we stayed but this is a downfall with timeshare.
The pool and beach area.......easy to get to..just accross a small road....it was an open day the first time we went and the pool area was packed so we went down onto the beach area where we had no trouble getting sun beds. It was very noisy that day but on all further visits it was quiet, we only used the pool once and noticed how clean it was and the pool boys were constantly tidying and clearing rubbish. The beach area was lovely...no sand but suitable area to swim with steps to get in and out or ledges to dive/jump in.
Must mention Chaplin's Bar next door. Good value for money also has free wifi....owner and staff extremely obliging and you can sit and look at the beautiful view of the med whilst sipping a glass of reasonably priced wine. A set menu three course dinner cost about £11 and was always good.
All in all we had a lovely stay at this hotel and we would go back again......Malta is a wonderful Island to visit and at this time of year not too busy but wall to wall sunshine.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side would be quieter but not sure how much sun or when you would get the sun on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeywaneyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We have just returned from a great holiday at the Sunny Coast Resort. We had a large two bedroom apartment with everything we needed for a comfortable stay.We had a sea view and balcony off one of the bedrooms. The views from the other rooms were not good so we just kept the curtains closed. The staff were warm and friendly from the moment we arrived and nothing was to much trouble. I highly recommend the Hotels restaurant, the food was excellent. We had booked Breakfast and also ate some of our evening meals there. The lady running the restaurant is absolutely brilliant and has a good team working with her including her very pleasant and helpful Mum. The service was spot on. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed with the pool facilities that Sunny Coast provides. Everywhere was clean and well kept.

Room Tip: Rm 307, two bed apartment very large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueandkevin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

me and my boyfriend spent 4 nights in the resort for our one year anniversary of our relationship, and we loved it! excellent service, staff were always helpful and the room was wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive comments about our resort. We are delighted to hear you have found our staff to be helpful and that you have regarded the room and service to be of excellent quality. I will forward your comments to the respective deparmtents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have had and exchanged "Timeshare" weeks for nearly 20 years, this was to be our last memorable exchange in an island we have visited before.
The rooms were nothing like those displayed on web sites we had visited prior to booking.

We had hoped for a sea view, but alas were given an apartment in the middle of the building, on entering in to the kitchen/diner there was a window hidden by a closed curtain, on opening this revealed a frosted glass window facing out on to a service area. The kitchen was poorly fitted out with pots and pans, only one socket worked on kitchen worktop, so had to take in turns boiling kettle and using toaster. No oven glove for use with cooker !

On to bathroom / toilet, fairly modern and tidy, again a frosted window, no bright light or views, the bathroom door had a bad repair done to a hole punched in it, wooden door with plaster filler repair (unfinished),

Main bedroom, again window with frosted glass looking out to service area.

Second bedroom, again had a door with hole punched in it and poorly repaired with plaster (unfinished),This room had a large opening door on to an outside veranda, facing straight on to main road and noisy traffic.

All three main rooms had a combined floor heater / air conditioning unit (about 10 years old) the slider temperature controls were missing on all, only a rotary switch for on/off or half speed.
The units did not work properly, staff had to adjust them and still no "air conditioned air circulating" just room temp air being recycled.

Was unable to book a day jeep safari to Gozo at reception, had to book it via a German web site !

Hotel staff were in the main very helpful but property has not been fully updated as shown in pictures, it appears that ALL sea facing units have been done and there were some sea facing units available but not offered to us.

The weekend we arrived it was an open day in the pool area for the locals to try and encourage them to join the club, so for 2 days virtually no space for paying guests at pool area.

The area was fairly quiet and we were quite happy with this, The apartment was the second worse we have ever used in our timeshare years of use, this was a big let down that forced these comments. I would not go there again. Its a pity as we loved Malta.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dovelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time and leave feedback about our hotel. Regarding issues from the maintenance department, we have a selected section of the particularly in charge of guest rooms. Kindly outline the apartment number you resided in so that we will take appropiate action. As regards, room allocations, I assure you that we do our outmost effort to allocate guests in the best rooms available and should there have been any ther rooms available which the guest deemed to be better, we would have allowed him to move apartments. That being said, we do pay attention to positive criticism, therfore I will take all your comments into consideration and see to it that this does not happen again. I will forward your comments to the respective departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed in the Sunny Coast resort hotel in May 2012 room 709 and it was absolutely an awful experience.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment that was so small and overfurnished, it was unsafe for our 3 year old son due to having a lot of sharp corners. When we arrived, there was a sofa bed opened and made up in the small living area and our son was supposed to sleep on that. I went to ask the reception if they can do something about it and all I got was that we can hire a cot or an extra bed for an extra charge for the week.

I wasn’t happy about this, so the next day my husband contacted the Malta direct holiday rep and we were offered a single mattress for our son that could be placed in our cramped bedroom. The mattress was brought to our room, but no linen was provided!!! The air conditioning was only working part time. I was 7 months pregnant and the reason we selected this hotel was because they stated they had air conditioning. The room was extremely hot and sticky all afternoon, evening and night time. I complained twice in the reception, but nothing was done.

Our 3 year old was having difficulties with the heat as well. There was no power in the shower, so difficult to have a wash. We also booked the breakfast as part of a package and that was well disappointing too. We paid £10 per day and thought it would be a continental buffet style breakfast. Well it was not. The first morning we went downstairs to eat we weren’t offered the menus at all and the guy just assumed we were going to have an English breakfast. Basically on the menu the most expensive item was English Breakfast for 4 euros and the all the other items cost less. We ended up eating cornflakes and toast nearly every morning as it would have been so unhealthy otherwise. So if you are thinking of booking the breakfast; DON’t as it’s cheaper to buy from hotel. The cooked breakfast was cold on the occasions when we decided to order it. The only competent person who works in this hotel is Ramona (waitress).There are no kettle or toaster in the rooms, so this makes it difficult to make breakfast in the “apartments” as they are not fully furnished. The view from our room was basically a building site and the traffic was busy and very noisy on the main road underneath.

At the weekend the pool area was opened to public and there were no sunbeds left for us when we went there. There was some kind of promotion for the hotel’s health club going on and all the locals were invited in for free. The hotel never mentioned this to us when there or before. SO I WOULD RECOMMEND YOU CHECK WITH THE HOTEL TO SEE IF THIS IS HAPPENING ON THE DATES YOU PLAN TO VISIT . It wasn’t a relaxing weekend for us at all as we were planning to spend time at the quiet pool area. This was a weekend of 26/27/May 2012.

Another strange procedure - on our arrival we were asked to give our credit card details to “cover against any damage”. We found this bizarre as we had paid in full and was never mentioned when we booked. This is something to be very wary of

This hotel does not warrant 4 stars as advertised. I would give it 1-2 stars mostly.

I will not be recommending this hotel to anyone and we will most definitely not be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marisusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about our hotel and also for listing the apartment number you resided in since this makes it easier for us to take appropiate action. However, I must say that I am surprised to hear such negative comments on such a wide range of things since weh have not had such negative feedback on quite a lot of things you mentioned. Should you had made us aware of such complaints we would have taken a positive response sooner. I will forward your comments to the respective departments and see that appropiate action is taken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,792 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,084 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: £23 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing