We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Lovely Time”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Myself and my family are just back from a two week stay at the Sunny Coast, first impressions were great, reception area is lovely, some staff were not very polite, night staff very friendly. Although on arriving to our room (2 bedroom seaview Apt) We were quite dissapointed, the air conditioning was non existent, we did complain and had it checked out to be told it was working, but had to request two fans. The cleanliness of the room was not up to scratch but was cleaned a couple of days later and the standard was much better for the rest of our stay. The pool area across the road was good, again a few things that could be looked at, more anti-slip mats around the pool area, children & adults slipping a lot. We bought swim shoes for the children and they worked well.

The restaurant, The Village Square, well what i can i say.........Not one bad meal yet!!! The food was fantastic. From the range of restaurants around that area it was certainly the best. Ramona, Carmen and the rest of the family work very hard, they are a fantastic family! They made us feel very welcome and i will definately be returning to visit them.

The resort itself is lovely and quiet. Easy bus service, but at times buses are very very busy. Bugibba is 15-20min walk through side streets. You can walk along the coast but this does take slightly longer. There is a great water park for children in Bugibba, it is free but you only get to use it for 15mins and then you have to re-queue. Great stop off to cool the children down.

It was my first time in Malta and i will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsraitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    332
    150
    88
    69
See reviews for
344
334
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Notts, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

In the past 8 or 9 years, we have visited the Sunny Coast in Malta each year. We have always enjoyed our holiday in Malta and I have previously given a very high rating. However, this year, I have noticed, with some dismay, that the standards appear to be falling.
First, a positive. The new operators of the bar and restaurant provide excellent food and reasonably priced drinks. Their new layout is also much more customer friendly. Due to all meals being cooked from scratch, it can be quite slow when busy but the food is worth the wait. They also operate a room delivery service at no extra cost.
The housekeeper who had been so efficient in running the household appears to have been made redundant, along with some other staff. This has caused some delays in sorting things, like the laundry, thus making the "maid service" less efficient, through no fault of their own.
In addition, a fault that I reported in JULY 2011 HAS STILL NOT BEEN SORTED. I find this a poor state of affairs, since I, along with other owners, paid my management and maintenance fees on time. The only evidence of real maintenance appeared to be a coat of paint to the facade.
The air conditioning seems noisy and, even on high setting, is not very good in the living space.
In ALL other respects, our stay was really good, but I object to paying for a service and it not being given. I reported the fault to reception, where John made a note in red on the repairs sheet. Nothing was done about it.
As my title suggests, is it the start of the "downhill slope"?

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor (5th to 7th) as it provides peace and quiet at night. If possible, facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobNotts1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We got a 2 room apartment which turned out to be (only) just big enough. balcony was a fenced off wide ledge. However, and now the good bit, the staff were exemplary. When we got there we discovered the bed was too soft for my worn out back, so they sent Charlie up with some boards to firm it up, perfect. When the tour operator (Neckermann) failed to tell us when we were being picked up they stepped in and solved the problem. Ashleigh and John were superb on reception. So we would recommend it but just go for the biggest apartment available. Great Pool and Spa too.

Room Tip: 7th floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton in Makerfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Just back from our annual visit to Sunny Coast and once again nothing to complain about! Sunny Coast has had a few bits and peices done since last year and remains a top place to stay in Malta.We visited the restaurant on the front and the food was great.The Apt was spotless and the staff were very helpful and always pleasant. Just a shame we had to come home! Looking forward to next year already.

Room Tip: Great views from the higher floors at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I am also an owner at Sunny Coast, for over 24 years. I have seen changes over the years as the resort has become less timeshare ( ie one big family that met up every year who would go out to fish reataurants in Marsaxlokk) more a hotel with many more nationalities staying. The staff have become friends over the years from David the manager to Lilian on reception, Manuel at night, Lydia at the pool reception, the cleaners and maintainence staff. There has been many changes over the years, utility charges have increased as energy is not cheap especially in Malta, the outdoor pool is salt water as fresh water is at a premium here. Sometimes it is 4pm when the towels arrive however this is because occasionally this is when the laundry delivers the clean laundry. I have enjoyed Chaplins hospitality over the years as well as the Malibu poolside bar which provides simple food at a reasonable price. The resort is ideally located to allow an evening stroll to many good restaurants like Incognito and Churchills.
This year I discovered the Spa and the excellent hands of Barbara who is extremely professional and knowledgable in easing muscular injuries. I hope she will still be there next year.
I was happy to find we had new mattresses this year so I had good nights' sleep every night.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have sun in the morning, and street side have the sun in the late afternoon and eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cumbrianlass2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We are just back from Malta and had a great time. When we arrived I was a bit put off by the look of the outside which did not match up to the lovely pics of the pool area on the website. We ate the first night in the restaurant at the front. Hunger was good sauce as my rabbit was swimming in oil and my husband's beef olives were very tough. We didn't complain as we were too tired but did not eat there again. The night staff were very helpful and that was the same throughout. Day staff were fine but less customer oriented. On the second morning we were asked to move rooms, from 707 to 505 due to an owner wishing to stay. This worked in our favour as we got a much more pleasant and spacious apartment with a huge living area that went on to the balcony rather than the twin bedded bedroom that had the balcony in the previous room. Downsides were the illfitting sheets and absence of cotton mattress covers. The quality of the towels improved during the holiday! We met 2 cleaning ladies, one of whom was very business like but pleasant. The other was frankly not very nice and was abrupt with me one morning when I replied I did want the sheets changed that day but my husband was asleep. I put it down to a language barrier but that was being generous! The airconditioning was very noisy. The pool area is fine but we preferred the area down the steps by the sea for sunbathing and the perch beach steps led straight to clear water. Great for snorkelling.Richard at Waterworld was brilliant; professional and great fun! We tried out lots of water sports. Overall a lovely holiday and good value for what we got with a better apartment.

Room Tip: If you want a one bedroom ask for room 505!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks at Sunny Coast and really enjoyed our stay. Apartment spacious and clean, air conditioning bit noisy but reasonably effective and all staff pleasant particularly the men on reception. Towels changed daily and regularly cleaned. No complaints about the accommodation. Always plenty of beds and umbrellas at pool even at busy times and no reserving of beds which meant we could get a bed any time of day. Buses to all main towns stopped right outside hotel.
Best part of the hotel was the Village Restaurant within the hotel run by Ramona and her mother Carmen. Excellent food, great value for money and very friendly service. Our 2 boys even made friends with Ramonas son and we ended up eating there most days.
Dont eat at the poolside restaurant Malibu service really bad and food worse go over to Ramona and Carmen for a much nicer meal for less.
For watersports use Waterworld beside the hotel. We had great rides on the inflatable sofa. Ruth and Richard really friendly and very safety conscious.
Would return to Sunny Coast and definitely return to Village Restaurant

Room Tip: Stayed in 712 balcony overlooked road which was quiet and got the evening sun interesting in eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank una j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 15 in Qawra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.8 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Property: Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court, games room and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Lastminute, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing