We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$297
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$780
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (997)
Filter reviews
997 results
Traveller rating
274
386
166
94
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
386
166
94
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewbutchers grillone bedroom apartmentpool areaself cateringthe busrecommend this resortbar next doorocean basketbus stop right outside the hotelhotel restauranthousekeeping staffnight porterlarge balconya great weekhired a carbit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
516 - 521 of 997 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

To update on previous reviews the noisy night club is no longer near to the Sunny Coast so no problem with room 201 as previously stated.

The pool also as stated in a review was across a road, this really misrepresents where the pool was as the leisure complex is a stones throw from the Sunny Coast and the road referred to is tiny and very quiet.

The sea view rooms are a must as the view is stunning!

Staff were very helpful whenever we had any questions that we needed answers for.

The sea was a lovely temperature to swim in and very easily accessible. The only point to bear in mind is people with disabilities may struggle to get in as access to the sea is via a step ladder and there are also steps to get down to the concreted rocks where the beach front is.

The mini market run by mother and daughter who are from the UK is very handy and well equipped and reasonably priced. This is located on the first floor of the hotel.

A fruit and veg van comes most days about 6pm with a wide selection of fresh produce. We found this very convenient and the quality was good. This was handy as we were in a one bed roomed apartment.

The location was good for buses and we would highly recommend the hop on hop off two day ticket to see the attractions of Malta.

Location was also good for restaurants and we ate a couple of times in the restaurant at the Sunny Coast and the food was very good.

We recommend a walk further round the coastal road which has a good walk way to view St Paul's Island. sunset is a lovely time to look out on to it.

The weather at this time of year was very good and it was generally in the late 20's.

Valletta is definitely worth a visit as lots to see.

All in all a good holiday!




.

Room Tip: Sea view a must as views fabulous to wake up to
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ailsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Have given myself a 7 day cooling off period before reviewing this establishment.

Booked a 14 night stay back in March for the period 1-15 October, self catering for my wife and I.
Upon arrival (at 11pm after travelling all day) we were told there was no room available for us
until 4 October and were told in no uncertain terms by the night porter who greeted us that
there was nothing we could do about this, either
we went to another hotel or we slept in the car for 3 nights. We were told to come back in
the morning and speak to a managerial person.

We went to the other hotel, which to be honest, was a 5 star hotel, suite, 2 balconies
and a lovely sea view as well as half board. Ok, but we booked a self catering holiday
so we could "self cater". This is what we paid for.
The next morning we went back to the Sunny Coast to speak to someone in authority to find
out just why exactly there was no room for us on arrival. The following is what we were told,you can read all the other reviews of overbooking
at this resort and then decide for yourself if you believe the excuse or not.

We were told that the fuel tank on the roof developed a leak and had flooded out some rooms
making them uninhabitable until they were cleaned out. This would take up to 3 days to put right.
We could not look at the rooms because of the work being carried out (health and safety etc).
I told the lady that I was doubtful of her story but there was nothing I could do other than come
back on 4 October and get on with the holiday, which we did.

So as to the resort itself. Not bad for location but you definitely need to book a room
with a sea view which we did and the view was very good. The room itself was very dated, useless
air conditioning and the worst thing for us was that you could hear the people above clomping
about at all hours. This is a definite no no for us. Also we were located close to a store room
which meant furniture was being moved about at all hours also. The rest of the resort, pool,
entertainment etc was nothing to write home about, just adequate. More of a 2 star resort.

All in all, I would not recommend this resort to anyone as we were not given what we paid for,
in fact they even tried to charge us for a welcome food pack which we never got. Definitely wont
be back. Can never understand the financial reasoning behind double booking rooms just to get a
few extra Euros at the expense of the loss of thousands of Euros in potential future bookings.
That's the mentality of these people. Beats me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanAbernethy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel very recently in a sea view apartment. On arrival there was a slight mix up with rooms but this was sorted out as soon as was practicable by Daphne the Manageress. The room and the view was excellent as were the staff. If have a small complaint then that would be the carpet and outside furniture I think it might be due an upgrade but that apart from that I could safely recommend this hotel to all

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are exactly as described, excellent views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I, along with our adult daughters, stayed here for a week from the 20 th Sept, to the 27 th Sept, this year. We have been timeshare & RCI members for 25 years now & we are from Australia. We have stayed in many hotels/resorts around the world and have experienced some wonderful accomodation, I only wish that I could say this was one of those but, sadly, I have to be honest and say that it was probably the worst timeshare hotel/resort that we have stayed in. Apart from the reception staff being courteous, helpful, friendly and smiling, the rest was quite frankly worth forgetting about. After walking into the lobby/reception area, which is quite nice, you have a feeling that the rooms will be just as nice...but what a shock awaits you when you enter your room. We had a two bedroom allocation on the highest level (7), which we requested earlier & received, this had three balconies, but the best one was the front balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Ocean. The passage way, bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen/dining area, were all huge with heaps of room and it was all clean, with towel changes every day from the helpful housekeeping staff for our bathroom. Now for the shock...instead of a decent size flat screen t.v., one is looking in disbelief at a 30 year old, small black Daewoo 28 cm t.v., with an antennae!!. The table & chairs were old & worn out, the couch & side arm chairs were old, drab & worn out with several little tears in the cushioning, we covered these with extra sheets from the linen cupboard. There was no microwave, the kettle didn't work properly, so that I would have to keep my finger pressing down on the button in order for it to keep boiling. The carpet was old & worn in the hallway outside our room, with other guests next door to us, mentioning the state of the stained & worn carpet also. The walls & ceiling in the apartment seemed as if they had not been painted for 25 years, this will go a long way into freshening up these apartments. It seemed to us that the Management/Owners of this hotel/resort did not want to spend an extra cent on refurbishment costs, but in the meantime, was willing to charge guests fairly high room rates but alas, with no expenditure out of their own pocket to make the rooms much more pleasant to stay in. I'm certain of the fact that most guests would have been in shock to see a t.v. of that quality in this day & age, in their room, considering the standards of most hotels/resorts around the world.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on the higher floors (out of 7), with a full ocean view. You will not be disappointed with the fantastic view of the Mediterranean Ocean from your higher balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We are from the USA and just back from an eight night stay at the Sunny Coast where we enjoyed every minute of the stay. By US Standards it is not a 4 Star accommodation but in terms of Value for Money really exceeded expectations. The main Building is a little older than some but is maintained in good condition and is spotlessly clean. The front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful and always with a friendly greeting and smile. The saltwater swimming pool was also great. We didn't eat in the Resort so cannot comment on the food but the menu's looked to provide good quality and value. There is also an excellent Mini-Market on the complex and there is a bus stop at the door, the X3 from the airport also stops there, we used that service on the inbound trip, it's about a 90 minute ride, but cheap and gives a chance to see some to the northern towns and villages en route. Adjacent to the Hotel is Chaplin's Pub, where we did eat, the Food, Service and Value for Money there were good and twice we shared a Pasta Dish with more than enough food for two.

Room Tip: We had had a third floor room (301) without a sea-view which proved to more than adequate for our needs. It was quiet by night and we did use the balcony to sit and read.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews