We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I returned to Sunny Coast for a week in March and was warmly greeted by the staff who go out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. The hotel has seen a few improvements since I was there last year. Butchers Restaurant has a South African influence and offers a very good choice of meals. The Spa facilities have also been improved and a range of pampering is available. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the views over the bay are very nice. The kitchen facilities are adequate for rustling up meals as required. The bus stops outside and you can easily explore the island. Wifi is free but only available in the lobby where there is a little café. It is the warm welcome and attention to detail by the staff that make this hotel exceptional. I will be back!

Room Tip: Get a sea view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shonahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your good review.

We do make it a point to have a few changes done around the whole Resort for our repeat guests.

Our staff will be delighted to hear your comments.

Thank you once again,

Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    326
    143
    87
    66
See reviews for
333
327
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ryde
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

just returned from this hotel and would defo not rate this as a 4 star hotel, arrived to find dried urine on toilet seat !!! cupboard door kept falling off , tv is an old portable and poor signal with 4 channels , pillows are gross like they've been stuffed with old clothes and they are stained no protection from the hundreds of heads that have rested on them !!! building work started at 7am !!! and noise from road was so noisy after 6am !!! most staff helpful couple just plain rude , i sent a request for a sea facing room several weeks before we left for malta but they did not give me one dispite the fact i agreed to pay the extra £10 euros perday for it !!! malta is really expensive and in march its dead , hardly anything open and what is looks grubby and shabby , really makes me appreciate what i have in england , decent food with hygiene standards laws to enforce we meet standards , sadly malta appears not to have these laws and can serve food from grubby outlets !!! dirty toilets in bars and resturants - avoid the great wall of china resturant my husband ordered a chicken curry and as he was tucking into it the waitress took it away and told us the chicken was off !!!! MY HUSBAND HAD EATEN SOME OF IT !!!! best and only decent place to eat was INCOQNITOS bar/rest , it doesnt look anything from outside but its good , bit dear but considering everything is dear its prob the best value for money as the food is edible !!! sorry malta but going to have to cross u off my list for countries l'd like to re-visit !!!! such a shame !! AVOID ROOM 309 unless they change tv, pillows and cupboard door !!!

Room Tip: avoid this hotel coz its not 4 star as advertised !!! avoid 309 if u do choose the hotel road faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kazadilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

The noise from the building works was only temporary and i can assure you it has long since been completed.

From previous reviews our hotel has always been praised for its cleanliness and friendly staff. Other guests who stayed with us during the same period have been nothing but complementary. We do take clients reviews seriously and investigations concerning the room you briefly mentioned have been instigated.

Sea view rooms are subject to availability even when the upgrade has been requested.

Concerning your many other reviews, I am sorry that during your stay you seemed dissatisfied with other establishments you also reviewed. Excluding Incognito's!!!!

Once again we all thank you for your lengthy review.

Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Qawra hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved the hotel and area it was situated. There was loads to do and couldnt ask for a better place. The people are so friendly. The cleaners came in everyday to give frest towels, toilet rolls and to empty the bin. Will defo going back :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your good review.

Would love to host both of you again real soon.

Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We are a family of four with two kids aged six and eight years. This was our third stay at the Sunny Coast Resort. We rented a two bedroomed apartment for a few days and everyone was looking forward for some time away from the usual routines. It also happened to be my daughter's eighth birthday!

Overall the apartment was in good order and well kept, although I never managed to get a decent selection of TV channels not even this time!

We, especially my daughter were very disappointed when we got to know that children under 16 years were only allowed into the indoor pool area two hours a day, from one till three o'clock! Why would a family resort of this kind limit such an attraction for just two hours a day? For this reason I am dropping my four star rating to three. Isn't this a family resort after all with furnished apartments adapted for families?

Unfortunately I do not recommend this resort for families looking for some indoor entertainment for their kids, particularly during the winter season.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chipster59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your comments.

I am very happy you found the apartment in good order and well kept.

Being a Family Resort one of our priorities is the safety of our children, which is why we had to
shorten the time to prevent them from being left unattended in the pool.

Thank you

Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

If you're afraid of the dark don't go to this hotel unless you book a sea view, the rooms are very dark and pokey, even the with the sea view room the kitchen and living area still has need of the light on even on a bright day. The fittings are very poor and really need updating, the mattress we had was very thin and uncomfortable, the pillows were stained and thin and the blankets were so stiff with age that they were rendered unusable, a bit like trying to put a very large ryvita on ones bed. We did ask for other pillows and blankets as they were so disgusting but we were told that they were all the same. We booked this hotel as it has indoor facilities so that even should the weather be bad we would have something to do, the indoor pool is probably fine for very young children but it is extremely small, certainly no more than one adult can swim in it at a time. To be honest this is a strange part of what is a very lovely island, purpose built for tourists and appears very unloved and run down, with very limited places to walk or visit, it all looks unfinished or abandoned,much better to stay in an older, more lovely part with a much better class of restaurants, entertainment and beautiful buildings.

Room Tip: ONLY a sea view here would be acceptable otherwise you get a road, roof spaces full of rubbish and T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marilyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am very sorry you did not find our hotel to your satisfaction.

I would like to point out that Qawra is renouned for its good restaurants, bars and beaches. We have a very good and extremely cheap public transport where one can travel from one side of the island to another in practically half an hour.

One thing that is always positively commented on at our hotel is the friendliness of all our staff which is something one can definitely rely upon. They go out of their way to make our guests as happy and comfortable as possible.

Please excuse the delay in replying.

Thank you

Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have just returned home after a week in this hotel. The weather was terrible, rained nearly every day. However, our two bedroomed apartment was excellent. Very clean, well equipped kitchen, spotless bathroom, shower hot any time of the day. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially Charmaine on reception and the maintenance man who helped with the disabled lady that we took with us on holiday
We stayed half board and the meals were good, although we did have to wait a while as the meals are cooked to order , so best if you can get in the restaurant before it gets full.
Our room was facing the sea and had a magnificent view. Couldn't be better with regards its location. There is a good pub 5 mins away which has entertainment every night and its called Simon's Elvis bar. You have to book a seat to see the Elvis tribute show on a Monday and Friday.
There are small shops and bars nearby and a larger supermarket called Trolleeys about 10min walk towards Bugibba.
bus stop is located outside the hotel and its very cheap to travel all over the Island.

Room Tip: Facing the sea but you don't get the sun much. You would need a room facing the road. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 130Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
We do appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Look forward to hosting you again soon.

Thank you.

Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The self-catering apartment we were give was lovely, very spacious and very clean. We had lovely sea-views, with 2 sofa-beds for the kids. We were complimented by a bottle of wine and fresh fruit! On the 1st floor there is a mini-market where you can find all the necessities at normal prices, and is open even on Sundays!
We made a complaint with the receptionist about a sofa bed which did not open properly and needs repairs/replacement.
The indoor pool and sauna have been refurbished lately and the place is very clean and relaxing.
Lovely staff very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGMALTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our Resort clean and relaxing. The sofa
bed was attended to immediately.

Will inform the staff about your lovely comments.

Thank you once again and hope to see you soon.

Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 16 in Qawra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Property: Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court, games room and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing