We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy constant building works”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Building works started at 8am constant banging and noise. Suggest staying elsewhere.staff were pleasant as everyone is in Malta but we heard constant complaints from residents. In hotel shop is great and opens out onto the street.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ceripimblett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your comments.

The noise mentioned was only temporary and I can assure you that by now all is finished.

The aim of our staff is to make our guests comfortable and happy for the duration of their stay with us.

Once again thank you.

Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
There are newer reviews for Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We've stayed in February 2014, 1 bed apartment on the 4th floor. The apartment was very pleasant, kitchen was spotless, fully equipped, although we didn't have much use of it, staying on HB basis (see my review of The Butcher's Grill Restaurant).
The hotel is very pleasant, clean, quiet, suits every need. The staff is extremely friendly, obliging, can not do enough for you. Free unlimited WiFi in the lobby available at any time, satellite TV, newspapers, cafeteria. Free use of the gym and swimming pool for the hotel's guests. A small market on the 1st floor with a good choice of food, drinks, toiletries and souvenirs at very competitive prices.
There is no night entertainment, but if you fancy a sing song, there are 2 karaoke bars adjacent to the hotel - "Chaplins" (mostly locals) and "Images" for English and Irish folk. Qawra Palace Hotel's dance floor is a short walk away.
We've had a great time, certainly will go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We thank you for your lovely review, giving us 5 points gives credit to our staff who make such an effort to please our guests.

We would be very happy to see you again soon.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in a sixth floor studio apartment that was clean if basic, with a good view out over the roofs and the sea. Early morning sunshine meant enjoying the balcony was a pleasure first thing but afternoon shade means jerseys in March. The extra blanket was handy and two pillows vital as they were individually slightly tired and shapeless.

We never used the telly or the club swimming pool but found the staff very helpful, warm and welcoming, which made a huge difference as the area itself isn't the best and we wondered at first if we had made a mistake when swopping our week for this location via RCI.

The wifi was fast and free and available in the reception areas but not in the room.

The Butchers Grill restaurant on the ground floor is a really good steakhouse in a South African style.

It took twenty five minutes to drive from the airport and there was ample parking for the hire car outside. Because the island is quite small, we found the location quite handy, particularly for Gozo day tripping.

Room Tip: High up is best and a sea view is a must.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ivymillphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We thank you and appreciate your comments.

March to May are beautiful months in which to visit Malta if one wishes to avoid the heat of Summer.

We look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed one week in a seaview apartment with superb outlook. Had the B & B package, limited choice but good enough at the price. Staff were really pleasant and helpful. Location just on the edge of the pubs and clubs so could take or leave. Found it difficult to locate - look out for the sign for the Butchers Grill, the on-site restaurant. Indoor pool was very good. Spa great value but book early. Good value mini-supermarket opposite. Buses reliable but uncomfortable for long journey. Hired a car which was incredibly cheap and we saw a lot of the islands. Recommend: Golden Bay and Munchies Café; Qawra Palace Hotel Café; Mdina; Marsaxlokk fishing village; Dingli Cliffs and restaurant; Goxo; Valletta , Café Jubilee is outstanding.
Weather is good enough for walking and sightseeing and great value in March. Overall a really good week away.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your good review about our hotel and the island of Malta.

Will certainly pass your comments on to our staff and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I returned to Sunny Coast for a week in March and was warmly greeted by the staff who go out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. The hotel has seen a few improvements since I was there last year. Butchers Restaurant has a South African influence and offers a very good choice of meals. The Spa facilities have also been improved and a range of pampering is available. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the views over the bay are very nice. The kitchen facilities are adequate for rustling up meals as required. The bus stops outside and you can easily explore the island. Wifi is free but only available in the lobby where there is a little café. It is the warm welcome and attention to detail by the staff that make this hotel exceptional. I will be back!

Room Tip: Get a sea view if you can!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shonahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your good review.

We do make it a point to have a few changes done around the whole Resort for our repeat guests.

Our staff will be delighted to hear your comments.

Thank you once again,

Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

just returned from this hotel and would defo not rate this as a 4 star hotel, arrived to find dried urine on toilet seat !!! cupboard door kept falling off , tv is an old portable and poor signal with 4 channels , pillows are gross like they've been stuffed with old clothes and they are stained no protection from the hundreds of heads that have rested on them !!! building work started at 7am !!! and noise from road was so noisy after 6am !!! most staff helpful couple just plain rude , i sent a request for a sea facing room several weeks before we left for malta but they did not give me one dispite the fact i agreed to pay the extra £10 euros perday for it !!! malta is really expensive and in march its dead , hardly anything open and what is looks grubby and shabby , really makes me appreciate what i have in england , decent food with hygiene standards laws to enforce we meet standards , sadly malta appears not to have these laws and can serve food from grubby outlets !!! dirty toilets in bars and resturants - avoid the great wall of china resturant my husband ordered a chicken curry and as he was tucking into it the waitress took it away and told us the chicken was off !!!! MY HUSBAND HAD EATEN SOME OF IT !!!! best and only decent place to eat was INCOQNITOS bar/rest , it doesnt look anything from outside but its good , bit dear but considering everything is dear its prob the best value for money as the food is edible !!! sorry malta but going to have to cross u off my list for countries l'd like to re-visit !!!! such a shame !! AVOID ROOM 309 unless they change tv, pillows and cupboard door !!!

Room Tip: avoid this hotel coz its not 4 star as advertised !!! avoid 309 if u do choose the hotel road faci...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kazadilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

The noise from the building works was only temporary and i can assure you it has long since been completed.

From previous reviews our hotel has always been praised for its cleanliness and friendly staff. Other guests who stayed with us during the same period have been nothing but complementary. We do take clients reviews seriously and investigations concerning the room you briefly mentioned have been instigated.

Sea view rooms are subject to availability even when the upgrade has been requested.

Concerning your many other reviews, I am sorry that during your stay you seemed dissatisfied with other establishments you also reviewed. Excluding Incognito's!!!!

Once again we all thank you for your lengthy review.

Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved the hotel and area it was situated. There was loads to do and couldnt ask for a better place. The people are so friendly. The cleaners came in everyday to give frest towels, toilet rolls and to empty the bin. Will defo going back :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hanah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your good review.

Would love to host both of you again real soon.

Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,867 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: £31 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing