We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day by the pool " Sunny Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked for a day by the pool at Sunny Coast on Saturday and it was beautiful. The atmosphere was relaxing, the pool and the area were clean. The staff were helpful and even the food was very good. Would recommend it to people to go and pass a relaxing day, worth the money. Keep it up :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Dani_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

A really big thank you for taking the time to write us such a beautiful review.

We are so glad to hear you really had a good time and everything was to your satisfaction.

We would really appreciate you informing us when you will be returning to spend another day with us.

Regards,

Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed for 10 nights in a one bed apartment. It was quite suitable for our needs. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly who dealt with any questions we had. The pool area is very good with plenty of sun beds and shade available, the pool bar and cafe we're was also very good. They could improve the wifi access as the code system meant getting a new one every day, and they we're let down by their laundry supplier. On the whole it was a very pleasurable stay and would recommend the hotel as a base for a holiday in Malta.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank JMQ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

We are very happy to hear you had such a pleasurable stay with us and made full use of our facilities.

Will let the staff know of your positive comments about them.

We look forward to hosting you again and would appreciate receiving an email informing us of your arrival date.

Regards,

Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Please ignore all the negative reviews, we are just back home after a lovely 2 week holiday at sunny coast. We were a party of 5. My husband and I my mom and 2 young children. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was big, clean and cool. The air con was great we had 2 keys and 1 stayed in the room all the time keeping the air con on and the room cool. We asked for a put up bed to be brought in for our youngest daughter so she could sleep in the bedroom and not on the sofa and that arrived promptly, I asked for a softer pillow and that was delivered to the door too. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Towels are fresh everyday and sheets changed every 2-3 days. The pool got very busy which was a bit disappointing because it's open to he public. Also the tiles around it were VERY slippery and lots of people did fall which was a worry. The outlook from the pool over the sea was great and a nice breeze too. If you give a €5 deposit at the beginning of your stay the pool staff hold it and you get fresh pool towels everyday. We did bring beach towels with us but there was no need too. The resort is nice and quiet, great for a relaxing holiday, our apartment was at the back of the hotel so we had no noise at all at night. Although the apartments at the front had stunning views over the sea. Bus stops right outside the front and restaurants all within walking distance. All in all a wonderful successful holiday which I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and opt for a sea view room. The views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank michelle_bryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review.

We are all so happy that you had such a wonderful time here with us.

We do our utmost to ensure that each and every requirement of any one of our guests is seen to as quickly as possible.

We look forward to hosting you again and appreciate receiving an email with your arrival date.

Best regards,

Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My parents have a timeshare at the Sunnycoast and were one of the first guest when it opened, so as a family we have been staying here on and off for 30 years. The picture shown on here is not typical of all rooms. Floors 5 and 6 have been refurbished but unfortunately the bottom floors are very dull and dated and not nice. We have a 2 bedroom apartment, which sleeps 6 people. The sofa turns into a bed which is so old and uncomfortable I would let a dog lie on it and it's not been upgraded for many years. The door to the balcony unfortunately is situated in the twin bedroom which is totally ridiculous as if someone is in bed no one else can use the balcony. The entertainment is terrible and if you want a quite night on the balcony it's impossible. You've also got the noise from the bar next door. The cleanliness of the rooms is not much good either, the bath is yellow and has not been changed for many many years. If you want to use the pool then make sure you get there early as the locals get there and take over the place. There are signs saying you cannot take your own food and drink in to the pool area, this does not apply to the locals they blatantly take big cool bags full of food and drink and are not challenged over it, but as the pool bar prices are very expensive I can understand why they do it. If you are a guest and you do this you will get told off. The pool is so small it gets overcrowded with local children running around screaming and jumping In the pool even there are signs saying it's not allowed, again this is overlooked. It's only because there is a few years left on the timeshare that we stay there. We do wonder where the money we pay on maintenance goes, it's certainly not on upgrading the rooms. Malta is a beautiful place and over the years we have met lovely people and made life long friends but the Sunnycoast isn't somewhere I would recommend to anyone I like

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsT1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

One of the best highlight of our summer holidays. The set up is nice and the restaurant has some really nice food at very reasonable prices. Only thing that disappointed me was the slippery tiles surrounding the main pool. Will definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Fabia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review.

I assure you we take all comments very seriously and would like you to know that your comment is at the top of our priority list.

Regards,

Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

At first Sunny Coast seemed a very nice place to go, however that soon changed. When entering the outdoor pool I noticed a large amount of hair floating around. At first I thought this was a one time thing but when I went to swim the next day there was still hair in there. After this I noticed an open nappy floating in the shallow end and small chilldren were playing next to it. I was shocked by this and didnt swim for the next couple days. To contribute to the un-hygenic pool the floor was covered in hair, food and cigarette ends! I was shocked by this and the pool boys just stood in conversation even though there was work to be done. To contribute to all of this there were things that also made it worse like, pool balls missing on the billiards table and non friendly staff. The food was slightly over priced in my opinion and also a member of staff gave me the wrong change once and charged me more for drink than the previous day, I began to think they were trying to rob me of my money just because I was a tourist. I hope this review was helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are very sorry you did not have a good time in our pool area.

I myself go round the leisure centre, indoors and outdoors, at least twice a day and i have never seen such waste, furthermore I can assure you that nothing of the sort has ever been reported by guests or seen by any other member of staff.

One comment which is constant in previous reviews is the warmth and friendliness of all our staff.

All of us at Sunny Coast are here to make our guests' holidays a pleasant and comfortable experience not to take advantage of anyone.

Regards,

Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The two bedroom apartment with air con was a brilliant surprise from the pictures on the website. It was clean, fresh, with lovely soft pleasant interior deco. We had 2 bathrooms, (one en suite) which we hadn't expected. The apartment cleaned twice a week and towels changed daily. Small balcony but with lovely sea & pool views. Pleasant staff.
The half board food was good but the wait would often be too long. Breakfast finally changed to buffet after lots of people complained about the long wait which worked much better.
We couldn't find the advertised games room but the children were happy with the salt water pool. The pool area is clean with plenty of sun loungers.
Excellent access from the resort to local buses which can get you almost anywhere in Malta for a really affordable day pass (under €2/ adult).
We visited a few local bars in the evenings and the local peaple were really friendly and always happy to give advise on best places to visit & how to get there. Malta & Gozo have magnificent buildings & churches and really lovely sites to visit with an excellent Ferry connection between the two islands. We had a fantastic holiday and will definitely be returning to Malta for a longer holiday.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Peris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_MSant, Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review.

So happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and you were all happy and comfortable here with us.

We look forward to seeing you again on your return to our resort.

Once again thank you.

Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3,004 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.4 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: £24 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing