We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, nice views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel, nice views”
Reviewed 30 November 2010

It was a pleasure staying in this hotel. The location is stated in a prime position at Qawra, just 5 minutes walk and you'll be near the sea. The furnishing in the apartments were good, and have all facilities such as TV. The receptionists and staff were friendly, and we were welcomed at check in. We had the facility to use the leisure center too, such as the gym, indoor pool ect... There are lots of shops situated near the hotel, and there are supermarkets and grocers situated near the hotel. I would surely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmy_valla16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    335
    151
    88
    69
See reviews for
346
336
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I had a very pleasant holiday at Sunny Coast. The staff are extremely helpful. The resort is ideally situated just on the sea coast and a very short walk from the central bus terminus to reach everywhere on the island. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelineHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

This time I stayed in a smaller apartment than I usually do but it was fine. It had a great view of the sea and Salina Bay, great to see the sunrise!. The staff at reception were very supportive and the maid service was good; even when I needed a bit of help from the maintainance department , they were extremely efficient. The pool area is a great place to chill out. The bar area was a bit quiet, probably because of the time of year, but anyway there is certainly a lot going on a short walk away. eg one is spoilt for choice with local bars and restaurants of all sorts. I love to jump on the buses, which are really cheap, and go and explore towns like Valletta and Mdina. My best tip is , if you want to have a couple of hours more sunshine, as the sun seems to disappear, just walk up to the bus terminus and to the coastline just beyond it ie to the other side of the peninsular; it will take about 15 minutes from the hotel; and then you get the sun setting on that side for another 2 hours.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinSmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Using a public bus, I had a fair walk from Qawra to the hotel. Next time I would catch a taxi. The hotel lobby is clean and nice. The rooms are well furnished, large, with a separate dining area, kitchen and bedroom. The air conditioning blew room-temperature air; I really wanted cool air as in June the temperature outside is hot. This was a down side for me. The staff were very friendly. You would not really stay here if you wanted to explore Malta; rather, you would stay here for some days at the beach, swimming, with a glass of wine by the lagoon pool, taking a dip in the sea (note it is not a sand beach), etc. It is the type of place where one can easily escape the chaos of Europe for a few days and relax.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Kayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2010

POSIIVE: I've stayed 5 nights in a studio, very confortable (liked the bed) with lots of space and a beatifull sea view from the bedroom; The pool are is nice and gives access to the beach; Quite area, great to relax and with connections for all the turistic Places
NEGATIVE: well ... at sunday nobody cleans the room ... and in 5 days of staying my bed was done once .... basically they were just replacing towels and toilet paper... we only had Shampoo/gel duch on the first day....
The machines in the gym are extremely old ....

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vera5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2010

For sure not a five star hotel, maybe not even four with continental standards. However, it was worth the money, basic but clean furniture, a bit worn bathroom. The apartement we had was large enough for four, the kitchen was well equipped, though for regular cooking one might prefer more pans. Towels, kitchen towels changed every second day, no problem with cleanliness. Air-co worked well, got a bit loud after a while, but not disturbingly.
The most amazing was the large balcony: stunning view on the bay, we could have spent the whole week lying there (the balcony was never exposed to direct sunlight).
Staff was helpful, we had no breakfast and did not try the outdoor pool facilities, though many people seemed to have much fun there.
There was no private parking, but could always find a free place for the rent car nearby.
I would surely recommend this apart-hotel for friends, especially a sea-view room and the upper floors (due to the busy street nearby).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimoci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you for the positive comments. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Sunny Coast. I agree completely about the stunning view from the apartments balcony.
We hope to see you again.
Yours sincerely
The Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 11 nights during August. They never once entered our room to empty the bins etc. we had to do this ourselves and leave it out for them. They were so unhelpful with all of our requests and the manner from both the reception and the housekeeping staff was-What do you want me to do about it?. This responce was given on a few occasions, 1. 2 days after checking in, their were 4 of us, we had only recd 2 towels and these were the 2 in the room upon arrival.We requested from reception some fresh towels and the lady advised us that housekeeping had left for the day and she could do nothing about it. 2. Our baby was very sick on the last 5 days of our stay and when housekeeping called to change the sheets we asked her for a few minutes as we needed to get him out of the bed, she said that she was very busy and could not wait. At this point she left a pile of sheets into the room and suggested we do it ourselves. At no time during the stay was our room hoovered or the bathroom washed out. We both have to agree at the end of our stay that it was the dirtiest apartment we ever stayed in.In fact the dirtiest hotel we stayed in.
The bar also was out of brandy on the first night of our stay and the did not stock up on any during the course of our stay, on one night the had even ran out of beer!!!
The pool facilities were good and the spa on the grounds of the hotel was excellent but these did not in any way compensate for the lack of service and basic housekeeping lacked during the stay. I would never ever go back there and after 5 visits to Malta this is by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in there. How does this hotel rate as a 4 star I would think a poor 3 would be more suited.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishsunlovers3of4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnycoastadmin, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
Dear Sir/Madam
We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your constructuve comments on our resort. Please note that your comments have been forwarded to the Hotel Management team in order to address the issues you haver raised. We are very sorry to hear about your comments on cleaning as the procedure is to change the towels and bins everyday. If I had to knew about this problem while you were staying here I would have taken action. On behalf of the management I would like to express our sincere apologies for any unconvenience caused.

Regards
The Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,700 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Property: Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court, games room and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing