We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel.”
Review of Coral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Bugibba B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Just returned from a weeks half board at the Coral Hotel. Good clean basic hotel. Room cleaned every day with clean towels. Food quite good. Heating in room in evening. Close to bus stop for Bugibba or Valletta. Pool area was a sun trap as was front of hotel. We had front facing room on 5th floor nice open view. No extra charge for front view with balcony. Staff were pleasent and worked hard. An excellent hotel if you want to stay out and see sights of Malta. You can use indoor pool in sister hotel Canifor which is beside bus station in Bugibba, free of charge.

Room Tip: high floor front of hotel, back faces wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BigLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from one weeks stay, half board at the Coral Hotel. This was a very cheap holiday and we arrive with low expectations, Pleased to report we were pleasantly surprised.
Room : sufficient. cleaned daily, fresh towels and extra blankets. TV remote / key for fridge/ kettle / hairdryer all available at extra charge from reception.
Breakfast : eggs ( scrabbled, poached and fried) local bacon / sausage, beans, fried bread. Only cornflakes, white and brown bread and ham and cheese. There was unlimited hot drinks and juices.
Dinner: Antipasta starter or soup. choice of 3 mains plus a pasta dish. roasted potatoes and veg of day. desert was usually 3 different types of cake. drinks were extra.
Staff: lovely friendly people. Everyone speaks English ( which is the norm for malta)
Bar : well stocked, reasonable priced, a little more than local bars.
No entertainment
Not the weather for the pool
Summary:
Good value for money. Dont worry if you've read previous reviews, this hotel is very acceptable for the low price paid.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank lfbracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The hotel is small and in need of modernisation. Firstly the rooms are clean and relatively spacious. We had a balcony but there was no point in this at all as it simply looked onto a crumbling wall and the dirty back of the hotel. The pressure from the shower was really bad and the toilet was stained. The pool at the hotel is useless also, tiny, cramped poolside and on the roof with high walls surrounding the area. Food was very poor. Breakfast was just acceptable however dinner was barely eadable on some occasions. Choice of salad etc at the buffet was poor and looked disgusting anyway due to the flies and ants in the dishes! The cook in the coral should be embarrased. Location of hotel is really good, close to Bugibba Sq and near several bus stops. Staff were helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank russellfraser123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We loved malta.If you want luxury hotel not for you.Room cleaned daily,staff brilliant work hard for you they very under paid for what they do bless them.Room view brick wall and downpipes depressing,no kettle tea in room,no iron or hairdryer bed that creaked loudly slightest move.Food not good.you want cheap it will do good for lads break not families or couples

Room Tip: Ask for front view not back and face brickwall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My girlfriend and i stayed here for a week in October 2011. As long as you remember that you only get what you pay for then this hotel is fine. For us our holidays are about experiencing the culture, the sights and the country we are visiting, so we regularly book cheap hotels as all we want is a clean room, shower that works and a half decent breakfast, and thats exactly what we got.

The food is pretty average for this kind of hotel, a bit hit and miss but its safe to say that we always found something to eat. We went on a half board basis so had breakfast and dinner, which worked out well as the restaurants in this and the surrounding areas arn't great so this place turned out to be a real bargain!

If you're the sort of person who likes to sit by the pool or spend the holiday in the hotel then this is not the place for you, but if you like a good clean solid base to explore from then this is the place. The hotel is a 2minute walk from 2 bus stops and a 6-7minute walk from the main Bugibba bus garage, where buses will take you anywhere on the island and god is it cheap, 2.60 for a day ticket that works on all routes on the island!! Buses are so easy and cheap we didn't need a hire car as they go everywhere, the hotel gave us good directions and many of the arriva bus drivers are from the UK!! On top of that, all the Maltease speak fluent English so you cant go wrong!

It's about an hour by bus to the capital Valleta, and the same to Chikerwa where you can get a ferry to Gozo or the lovely Comino and visit the Blue lagoon.

The hotel booked some of our trips for us to.

Friendly helpful staff, ideal location

Room Tip: Try not to be on the first floor as after hours you can hear some noise from the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BarrieS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

After reading some of the reviews, after booking this hotel, we were all quite nervous.... To be fair, the hotel itself is quite run down, the staff are almost nonexistent BUT the 5 of us that went had a really good time, the room was clean, the food was cheap and the booze!!! The other guests in the hotel were all friendly and made this weekend away a really good one!!! We would go back for sure, its a good location and if you can ignore the wait at the bar and the 104 steps to the pool you will be fine!!!!! There was no spa that we could see...... ;)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juliet1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The hotel itself is clean, cheap and cheerful. It will never be the best hotel on the island. Staff are excellent they could not do enough for us or our two year old boy. He loved the pool and we had a job keeping him out of it.

The hotel feels a little aged but our trip did not cost the earth. Definitely recommend if you don't want (or want to pay for) the Ritz

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Growlercooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.7 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Qawra
1,876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#10 of 13 in St. Paul's Bay
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 13 in St. Paul's Bay
1,707 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 13 in St. Paul's Bay
1,619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hotel

Address: Triq il-Korp, Tal-Pijunier, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bugibba
Price Range: £23 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hotel Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing