We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Friendly Staff but Hotel needs a little TLC”
Review of Coral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Bugibba B&B and Inns
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Friendly Staff but Hotel needs a little TLC”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you want a clean low budget hotel with fantastic friendly staff this hotel is for you!

We arrived last Tuesday and recieved a warm welcome from Dora and her colleagues. Only downside side we arrived at 10am and was unable to check in until 2pm however we were allowed to use the courtesy room for the pool.

The room was basic but very clean, beds were comfortable, I was cold on the 1st night but got an extra blanket no problem, the shower was one those attached to the taps, not great but did the the job. You have to pay for TV, fridge, kettle, hair dryer and safe.

The maids came everyday and left us clean towels, room was always clean and beds made.

Im a fussy eater so very selective in what I eat however I did not starve, there was something different every evening. Various choices of salads, rice and cold meats, 4 choices of hot food, eg pasta in sauce, pork curry, beef stroganoff, roast turkey, various vegetables, potatoes along with 4 or 5 different cakes/jelly and cheese/water biscuits. The food wax different every night, 1 night chips, then roast potatoes, mashed potatoes, My partner loved the food so much he always went back for more.

Breakfast - The juice was vile, very watered down

Cooked breakfast was standard, beans, various eggs, bacon and sausage with fried bread.

Toast and 3 different cereals along with jams, meat and dairylea type chease slices. Tea and coffee.

The only true negative I could give our room as we were at the front in room 506. I'm a light sleeper, YOU hear the traffic all night! And I mean all night!!! Cars and heavy vehicles.

We will return as the hotel is in an ideal place and as mentioned the staff are brilliant and go that extra mile to help you. Perhaps if the hotel owners invested in double glazing, fixed the broken door hooks and replaced the odd loose tile on the floor and the other little odd jobs as some of the hotel looks 'tired' This could easily be upgraded to a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid front if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Racheles579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    129
    91
    50
    42
See reviews for
65
218
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Coral Hotel. It was our first trip to Malta and we will go back, and we will stay in the Coral again. It is a little gem of a hotel. We found our room very clean, beds and towels changed every other day. The two lovely ladies who clean the rooms came in every day. Mario and all his staff were fantastic, really friendly and full of smiles. It was very central for the bus station and the sea front. The local buses have to be travelled to get the style of driving in Malta!!! We had B & B as we like to eat at local restaurants, and there were lots to chose from. All in all outstanding value at the Coral.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front on the 2nd floor. It gets the sun in the morning and looks out over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JOhn5782013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upholland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in the Coral hotel. Booked through an independent holiday company flying from Liverpool with Ryanair. The Coral is somewhat dated and in need of updating. The room (105) was large with a front balcony which is in the sun in the morning only. Everything was clean but there were a number of defects which should and would have been easy to rectify - most concerning the door locking plate was loose in the door standard, it appeared that the lock might have been forced at some time and not properly repaired. The bathroom was in need of a major refit. We were on B&B only - the breakfast was while adequate in quantity of low quality. The 'juice' dispensing machine was incorrectly set to deliver very weak drinks. By the end of the week I had enough breakfast! It is clear that costs are tightly controlled to a point where quality is suffering. On the positive side, the staff were friendly helpful and polite at all times. The housekeepers did a good job looking after the room. The rooftop swimming pool and sunbed area was very good with tremendous views over the area. The location was good in that it was easy to reach all local facilities although it took a few days to work everything out. Waterfront with bars and eating establishments less than 10 minute walk (not the 20 minutes quoted elsewhere!) Bus station slightly longer walk, especially when shortcut worked out. Bus stops for all areas only a few hundred yards away although when leaving the area it is better to go to bus station as often buses are full and will not stop here. Arriving back at the hotel however use these stops. Final verdict -the Coral is not by any means 5 Star or approaching it - but nor was the cost. In early May the Coral was good value for money and notwithstanding the above we would go back again.

Room Tip: Choice seems to be room at front with view (better at high levels) but with some traffic noise or ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alistairfyffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

just came back from 4 nights in the coral and one night in cardor its sister hotel,as there was a problem with the roof in our room..?i heard it does get over booked a lot so they send you there.its in a great location with bus stop pretty much outside,near to shops bars etc and sea.staff was great very friendly and cleaners,food was great too at lunch times you choose from a menu from bar i only had this once as i was out in the day(get a bus ticket off the bus)1.50 for a all day ticket or 6.50 for a week one cheap as chips(x3 bus from right out of airport drops you by hotel takes a while but well cheaper then a taxi,just ask driver to get you off by empire cinema but you will probably have to remind him every so offen.takes about hour 20 mins.if you am going out on a long bus ride your best to get on at main stations or stops as they get full from there and they pack them out(no health&safety)but best way is to hire a car to get round much quicker,my friend hire one for the day to see a bit more of malta,do try pretty bay the seas unreal i could,nt believe it.nice bars near to hotel if fancy poping out

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a great week at this lovely little hotel. Room was cleaned very well daily by very nice people; bed was really comfortable and room facilities worked as they should. There was a good choice of nice food in the pleasant dining room and the staff were excellent. There is a nice little bar that serves food at lunchtime if required.
It is conveniently located a short walk form the sea front and there is a bus stop right outside.
I will definitely go back there as this hotel is a gem and won't break the bank!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is a basic hotel but the staff are so friendly and could not be more helpful, everywhere is spotless and there is a nice little pool on the roof will stay there again. I was so pleased when it was a minute from hotel I had used before.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ruz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Just booked to go back to the Coral for the third time in 3 years. Looking forward to seeing the staff who make this hotel unbeatable. Mario,Charlie,Eugenio,Pepa,Julia,Teodore,Emanuel,Paul and Rabin.
Rooms are immaculate with all the amenities needed, food is great , location is a short walk from town, rooftop pool is superb with a panoramic view of Bugibba and surrounding area, all bound together with an extremely friendly atmosphere- Hotel staff can't do enough for you. Brilliant

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 15 in Qawra
1,722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hotel

Property: Coral Hotel
Address: Triq il-Korp, Tal-Pijunier, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hotel Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing