We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hated it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shamrock Apartments
Ranked #2 of 6 Bugibba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We arived to malta to have a holiday and were collected by the owners Antida and her husband, they took us to the apartments from the airport. we then asked if the extra couple that was staying with us in the same apartment would need to pay , Antida said no no it is all inclided in the price, however as we went to the office to pay for the apartment she then charged us a 150 euros! even through she has told us that we will not need to pay. we then went to the pool on the roof and were greeted by an extremly small pool never mind the fact that the tiles were extra hot and slippery around it and and the barrier did not look safe therefore we had to watch our toddler all the time. the apartment itself was ok except for the balconys that once again had a small barrier. on our first night we slept well and it was all nice owever on the second night we discovered ants crawling under the bed and around our stuff! the beds were made out of wood and seem to be hand made which provided all of us to have a sore back the only one who slept well was the toddler who had a cot for himself. the surroundings were ok and the shops were close however we were told there is a "lovely beach" 300m from the appartments however it was all rocks and no sand whatsoever , to get to a LOVELY BEACH you needed to take a bus and travel about 35 to 40 minutes. on our last day we found out we needed to pay extra for every hour we stayed because the check out is at 12! after that no matter how long you stay you have to pay extra 3euros.There was an air conditioner in only in one room and it was the biggest waste of money spent in malta as the conditioner was not cold and very dear. the frezer was not working properly and would berly keep the food and drinks cold. The owenrs were nice and provided us the taxi whenerver we needed it.
If you are going to Malta to enjoy yourself do NOT stay in Shamrock apartments.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sonata f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shamrockapartments, Owner at Shamrock Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Dear Guest
Thanks for your review and thanks for saying that we were helpful during your holiday. I think your main concern with this review is that you were not prepared with extra payment of 150 Euros for the extra people that have joined you. On our website (above) there is a clear pricelist showing that the more persons you are in the apartment the more is the price. We have never said that the extra couple would stay for free during your 16 nights stay. Also we were advised regarding this extra couple just 24 hours before your arrival so we did not have enough time to resend you the revised bill with extra persons. Also you were not prepared for the extra payment for late check-out. Usually checkout is at 12:00; however you have decided to keep the apartment till 18:00. (extra 6 hours) The extra charge of 3 Euros is optional to keep the apartment and if you wished not to pay anything extra you could have just left the luggage in our luggage room for Free. All this information is available on our website and is also mentioned as part of the information at the back of the apartment’s door. Regarding the ant and the freezer that was not cool enough were just mentioned just in this review and never mentioned to us while you were here, so that we could take action immediately and solve the complaint, even though we used to meet every single day and asked if everything was fine
Thanks for your review again. Should this particular guest or any other person interested in the Shamrock Apartments need further clarification or any further information kindly contact us on the above details which include our website, e-mail and phone number. We are happy to reply to your requests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2011

we av been goin to these apts since they were first built we av seen antidas and felix s childrengrow up into fine adults julie was 3 yrs wen we started goin these apts are very well kept and so clean you cud eat your meals of the floor antida is such a lovely person nothin to much trouble for her you av all you need in these apts for self catering it is so peaceful so no problems gettin a good nights sleep i would certainly recomend these lovely apts to anyone we were hopin to go in july but sadly they are booked up we will certainly be goin bk this year my kind regards to antida felix and family all the best richard maureen mallinson nottingham england

Room Tip: all rooms very nice and spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlemo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Me and a group of small friends stayed at shamrock apartments this july and we had a great time. Leading up to our stay Antida provided lots of information about the appartments and local area including a brief holiday plan. She also organised taxis to and from the airport which was very helpful.

When we arrived at the appartments Antida offered to upgrade us to the gorund floor appartment with a private pool at a reasonable additional cost per person. The appartment was huge with two bedrooms and a large open plan living room and kitchen. One of the only small negatives about the appartment was the decor, it was a bit of the shame the partition walls were made of silver plastic.

The bedrooms all contained fans which kept them cool even when the temperatures soared to 35 degrees! Both bedrooms had a bathroom with a shower and toilet which made it perfect for a group of four girls.

The pool was also fantastic, it was large enough to have a swim as well as having a patio area surrounding it with four deck chairs. There is also a table and chairs outside which meant we could eat meals outside in the sun. Antida always made sure the pool area was kept very clean and the pool was cleaned regularly. One tip would be to always ask Antida if you need anything as she is extremely helpful.

Overall I would say this is a perfect place to stay if you are travelling to malta on a budget, the appartments are clean and spacious as well as having a central location and being close to the bus terminus. We would all definitely recommend these appartments!

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor flat with the private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brit_travellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

These apartments are great value for money are clean and tidy.
We stayed here as three couples in three apartments. The apartments are large and have two bedrooms. They have two balconeys, one on the lounge area and one in the main bedroom.
The rooftop pool is quite small but ideal to cool down in. There are also some sun beds provided which we never had a problem getting.
All in all I would have no hesitation in going back.
Thanks Antida!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ogrumpyone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I was surprised at how big the apartment was. We had a 2 bedroom one which was very airey and clean. There was a big fridge in the kitchen which was brilliant. I missed a plug in kettle (ours heated up on the hob) and a microwave but everything else was functional. It was just off the main tourist drag but still managed to be quiet. We were also on the 3rd floor and had a sea view which was an unexpected bonus as we were able to enjoy the beautiful sunset every evening. The bedrooms had fans. I was awoken by the dustbin lorry the first few mornings but i soon got used to it and could ignore it. This was the only noise we experianced. The pool is small but lovely and clean, you dont expect to do laps in it - it's ideal for cooling off in it when you need. My three children were hardly out of it on the days we stayed at the apartment instead of going out and about, it was more than adequate. Be very careful on the steps down though as they become very slippery when wet as my husband and the kids found out the hard way! Antida and Robert were very friendly and helpful.

Lots of places to eat and drink nearby. There is a field/paddock outside that we were told that if we walked across it and down the facing street there was a pub round the corner called The Bell which was highly recommended for value and we can confirm this. A hearty breakfast before noon is a mere 2.5 euros. We didnt eat breakfast there but had a couple of evening meals (would have been more if we'd found out about it sooner!) We really enjoyed the local Peking restaurent along the street (main drag) and can highlly recommend it. However i would give the chinese (Great Wall, beside the Diana pub) a wide berth as it was the worst takeaway ive ever had - totally tasteless!! - no soy sauce very bland and they forgot to include the chilli i asked for as well but I dont think that would have saved it from the bin.

Overall it was good value for money which we booked direct with the owner.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We have just come back from the most enjoyable stay at Shamrock Apartments.We stayed for 2 weeks from 31st May to 14th June.We cannot believe how much we found to see and do in Malta,and Antida was very helpful with advice on where to go and how to get there.the apartments are very handy and close to everything but lovely and quiet when you come back at night,I cannot remember a holiday when I slept so well and felt so relaxed.We would recommend them to anyone and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shamrockapartments, Owner at Shamrock Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Shamrock Apartments, Malta and for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travellers.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience in Malta and that you were satisfied with the apartment and service offered during your stay.

It would be a great pleasure to be your host iagain n the future for your next visit on the Maltese Islands.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We have been to Malta many times - but we fancied self catering as opposed to our usual B&B stays. After a search, we decided on the Shamrock Apartments. They are in an ideal spot - just off tourist street and just a few minutes from the bus station. All the rooms a large and airy and are very clean and tidy. The owner and staff are very friendly and will do their best to make your stay as nice as can be. There is a large roof top sunbathing area with a swimming pool, loo etc. The apartments are very quiet - with many guests staying on long lets

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigsimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shamrockapartments, Owner at Shamrock Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2011

Dear Guest
Thanks for taking out your precious time and giving your very positive feedback for Shamrock Apartments - Malta. You are very right the apartments are also very popular for winter long lets where the guest can benefit from very special offer during winter. We would like to take this opportunity to say you very heartiest Thanks from entire team for your compliments.

We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. We hope for the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.2 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
495 reviews
4.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,944 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Apartments

Address: Shamrock 137 Triq J. Quintinus, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 1300, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bugibba
Price Range: £18 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shamrock Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shamrock Apartments with shared swimming pool are centrally located and located in a very safe neighbourhood in Bugibba in St Paul's Bay area in Malta. The Shamrock Apartments are 8 minutes by walk from supermarkets, bus station, main square, sandy beach, banks, restaurants, pubs, casino and other any tourist services and facilities. The Shamrock Apartments is a small family-run business and a unique feature of the Shamrock Apartments is its rooftop swimming pool with sea views. Other facilities include: Inroom wireless internet access (WI-FI) in the apartment, ample free public car parking, free lugguage storage, passenger lift and office to assist guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamrock Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Apartments Hotel Bugibba
Shamrock Apartments Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing