We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want cheap clean accomodation, this would be hard to beat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shamrock Apartments
Ranked #1 of 6 Bugibba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at Shamrock in October 2011 and just wanted a cheap place to stay for a late holiday.
We were visiting Malta to see Maltese friends we had not seen for many years and when they phoned Shamrock to get in touch with us the message was passed on straight away.
We were not disappointed with Shamrock, the apartment was basic but really clean and both bedrooms were a decent size. It was really handy having 2 balconies as you could hang wet towels etc on the balcony leading from the bedroom and the other had a table and chairs. We had a couple of cold very wet and windy days so we popped to the supermarket to get food, which is only a couple of minutes walk away, rather than going out to eat. The cooker worked perfectly well and was spotless and aluminium foil sheets were provided to keep the oven clean. A microwave would have been handy but we managed without. We didn't use the pool but although fairly small we saw some children having a great time. We hired a TV for the week which was very good value. Antida and her family are friendly and live on the premises so are on hand if you have any problems, but we didn't have any problems. The apartments are in a good location within easy walk of all facilities. You can't expect to pay a budget price and get 5 star accommodation but for the price, the apartment exceeded our expectations. All in all we had a very nice stay and would stay again if we revisit Malta.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank breakawayHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed during November, apartments very clean, but kitchens need updating they are very basic, ideal for short holiday lets, if you do not intend to do a lot of cooking.but not for long term winter lets, we did mention this prior to departure,and we're told we only had to ASK. Maybe guest information should be updated in the apartments. The apartments are a very good size, and kept very clean by antida and her family.
If going for a winter holiday, I would suggest a front facing apartment, they get all the sun.
The apartments are located in a part residential area, so not noisy at night, but you can get disturbed early when people are going off to work in their cars, it didn't bother us, but feel it could be a problem for some.there is a small pool on the roof, with a nice sun bathing area, ideal for a friendly chat with fellow guests, or just chill and read your book.good views from the roof terrace, kept hubby amused for long enough fo me to catch up on my reading.

Ideally situated for local eateries, and very convenient for the buses. Day pass on the bus was 2.60 euro pp while we were there, very good value, just hop on and off when you like.

Good breakfast and good value, go out the front, follow the path over the green in front of the apartments, then straight down the road you see in front of you.on your left you will see the George pub,



Wi-fi is offered at fee of 25.00 euro a month, good for staying in touch with family at home, but we found it to be very slow and tempermental, and we are very up to date with
technology.
Overal we found the apartments to be what they advertise, Budget Accommodation, very reasonably priced, very clean, with friendly welcoming family . If you are looking for budget ,but CLEAN, Self catering accommodation then you have found the right place

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BlackpoolWaverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

A nice app. with room enough and very clean. Everything you need (basic) is in the appartment. Quiet place and very near restaurants, supermarket, and of course souvenirshops. The sea is very nearby (a few meters). You cannot get better for the price. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. Little swimming pool on the roof with a sun-terrace.
Only one thing: it's a little bit hard to find by car (one way streets): take the Triq Turisti: it's a very small street near restaurant 'La Stalla': it leads you to a 'free parking' (mentioned) and there's shamrock!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ghisoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamrock Malta B, Owner at Shamrock Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your excellent review with the Tripadvisor community. It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We take the feedback from our guests extremely seriously as we can improve our service and provide a better experience to our esteemed guests. If anyone needs more information about the Shamrock Apartment or would like to get in contact with us kindly use the above details where you can find our direct official website, our e-mail and phone number. Kind regards Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

As a family of four, we stayed at Shamrock - and really liked the accommodation. Antida and her family were very kind and friendly. The apartments are fairly basic, but still very good value for money for the size and location - we really enjoyed our stay.
This is the ideal budget apartment for a couple - or family.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allister_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamrock Malta B, Owner at Shamrock Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your extremely positive feedback. It is great to read that you have enjoyed your visit. Thank you for pointing out that our apartments are basic and offer good value for money. We define the Shamrock Apartments as simple, comfort and great value accommodation in Malta. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel. If anyone needs more information about the Shamrock Apartment or would like to contact with us kindly use the above details where you can find our direct official website, our e-mail and phone number. Kind regards Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I chose these apartments on the basis of some very good reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. We were a family of five - my parents, my children and me, and had two apartments between us, both with two double bedrooms. Both apartments were clean and spacious - very good value. Antida and her family were friendly, efficient and approachable, without being at all pushy. The kitchen was adequately equipped and I had the impression that if we had needed any extra equipment Antida would have done her best to provide it. It's true, as some have mentioned, that the rooftop pool is small - suitable for a quick dip to cool down rather than for swimming, but there's the beautiful sea close by - brilliant for swimming and snorkelling. If you want a poolside bar and entertainment, you're better off booking a hotel. But this is a great budget alternative, and there's plenty of entertainment in the area, to suit most tastes, I would have thought - from English karaoke bars to local hotels where local entertainers do the rounds. The Seaview Hotel was a bit quiet, but offered music and dancing and reasonably priced drinks. The San Antonio (think that's the name) was much posher and busier with more atmosphere, but more expensive. Loads of places offer trips, including boat trips to the islands. Antida arranged a discount for us on one of these - to the Blue Lagoon, and I can heartily recommend it, especially if you like swimming in the sea. She also arranged the airport transfers for us. All in all a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnBywater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamrock Malta B, Owner at Shamrock Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a glowing review with Tripadvisor! It is great to read that you enjoyed your visit. I am glad we met your expectations and budget. Also we appreciated that you have pointed out the cleanliness as it is a priority for us. You are very right the swimming pool is small ( 7.5 meters by 3.5 meters), which we think is still a decent size for this small holiday complex. As correctly stated in this review we organize airport transfers for our guest which is often cheaper than usual prices in the area also we offer discounted tours for our guests as an appreciated that they are staying with us

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel if you require any assistance with accommodation arrangements in Malta in the future..

If anyone needs more information about the Shamrock Apartment or would like to contact with us kindly use the above details where you can find our direct official website, our e-mail and phone number. Kind regards Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I booked the apartments on line for myself + 9 family members not knowing what to expect. We were met at the airport by a mini bus which Antida had arranged for us and when we arrived at the apartments we were greeted by Antida who was very welcoming and helpful, she had also arranged the apartments opposite each other which we requested but do not always get at other establishments. The standard of cleanliness was of an extremely high quality as were the apartments. The location was very central about a 5 minute walk to the bus terminus and the same again to reach the centre of Bugibba. We would certainly stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending The Shamrock Apartments to friends and neighbours. Thank you Antida and family for making us feel extremely welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamrock Malta B, Owner at Shamrock Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Shamrock Apartments Malta and share your feedback with Tripadvisor. Again I would like to thanks this guest for pointing out the cleanliness of the apartments and that we were of great help. We are at the apartments all day long to assist guests with information they may need or any faults that can happen It is great to hear you would return to Shamrock Apartment, we genuinely look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back.
If anyone needs more information about the Shamrock Apartment or would like to contact with us kindly use the above details where you can find our direct official website, our e-mail and phone number. Kind regards Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

we have just returned from our holiday in malta staying at the shamrock myself partner and daughter and have had a wonderful time! i can honestly say that staying at the shamrock was a pleasent relaxing and peaceful stay. we arrived early hours and antida was there to greet us and even in them early hours made time to help us into our apartment and answer any questions.the apartments were spotless comfortable and had everything we needed although im sure if there was anything we needed and didnt have antida would have got it.my partner and daughter loved the film channells well worth the cost.having read previous reviews i cant understand how anyone can write a bad review as for insects i never saw one.we will definately be returning.thankyou shamrock for a wonderful stay... must mention the cat she is gorgeous and hope to see her on our return....

Room Tip: get a front facing apartment for morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yatjohnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamrock Malta B, Owner at Shamrock Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Shamrock Apartments
We are delighted that you found the apartment clean, friendly and helpful staff. Also I am glad you have enjoyed the channels that we provide which are mainly movies in English, some bbc channels and sky news.

We also thank you for recommending the Shamrock Apartments to fellow travellers and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future
If anyone needs more information about the Shamrock Apartment or would like to contact with us kindly use the above details where you can find our direct official website, our e-mail and phone number. Kind regards Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.2 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
496 reviews
4.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,954 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Apartments

Address: Shamrock 137 Triq J. Quintinus, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 1300, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bugibba
Price Range: £17 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shamrock Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shamrock Apartments with shared swimming pool are centrally located and located in a very safe neighbourhood in Bugibba in St Paul's Bay area in Malta. The Shamrock Apartments are 8 minutes by walk from supermarkets, bus station, main square, sandy beach, banks, restaurants, pubs, casino and other any tourist services and facilities. The Shamrock Apartments is a small family-run business and a unique feature of the Shamrock Apartments is its rooftop swimming pool with sea views. Other facilities include: Inroom wireless internet access (WI-FI) in the apartment, ample free public car parking, free lugguage storage, passenger lift and office to assist guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamrock Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Apartments Hotel Bugibba
Shamrock Apartments Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing