We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay...very central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shamrock Apartments
Ranked #2 of 6 Bugibba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here in the mid August. Antida was very helpful all throughout our one week stay. The apartments are basic but clean and all you really need. The apartments are located in a very central part very close to the bus station. Antida is very helpful... my only complaint is the boat trip she suggested for us it was a total waste of time and money.

otherwise great place to stay while in Bugibba.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blues1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

The lovely Antida picked my wife and I up from the airport but had some bad news as the apartment allocated to us had developed a leak in the pipes and was being worked on but would not be fixed till the following morning .As the apartments were full Antida had booked us into a nearby hotel for the night.
The following morning we arrived at the shamrock and Antida took us to our room ( they were just giving a final clean after working through the night to replace tiles in the bathroom after the leak)
Some might say a bad start to our holiday but i would disagree , It`s how you deal with problems that matter , because its not a perfect world things will always go wrong.
When we went to pay the balance of our holiday Antida refused to take payment for the airport transfer or the TV hire as compensation for what had happened .
If nothing goes wrong most people would say ... yes the Holiday was good ... but if things go wrong, its how they are sorted that matters and that's when you see the real person.
Antida and her lovely sons are genuinely good people who care for the people who stay in there apartments.
I suppose i should say a few words about the Shamrock but suffice it to say that this was not our first visit and many of the guests come year after year (we all cant be wrong).

Room Tip: rooms on the fourth floor are new and as good as any hotel room. Ours was 19 and had a view over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank keredNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for one week in may. We had apartment 11which was massive two bedrooms living area two balconies all kitchen appliances which we made full use of breakfasts and dinners whilst eating out on an evening it's central to everything. safe ( key access main door) the corridors are dark but pir motion detectors switch the lights on. they are basic but clean we stopped at quara palace last year which had dirtier dinning room with no view from the room .the views from the sun terrace were great also we also took advantage of the transfers which were excellent .you get what you pay for but here you get a bit more

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watto64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

So the apartments are a little dated and not as modern as some of the bigger apart hotels We are in apartment 11 it's clean, functional and the beds (important to me) are very comfortable. Antida the owner is lovely and very helpful, I messed the booking up a little but she sorted it out, arranged transfers from the airport and was available to sort the little things out. It's cheap lets face it. If your expecting room service everyday and a concierge then you have booked the wrong place. For somewhere that is as close to the main part of Buggiba as the shamrock appts are I think we did incredibly well. Can't say that for using the electric cooker but we coped. The pool on the roof is not massive but it does the trick of cooling you down if you lay out in the sun . The apartment is spacious you can make a cuppa whenever you want one , cook a meal or just a snack. Whilst I have read some reviews on here that slated the place I cannot agree with them. If you pay €300 for 10 nights for four of you then the the Ritz it ain't. Malta's main income is tourism they do what they can for you they want you back. So it could do with a bit of modernisation but it is kept clean. I'm already thinking of coming back here next year. The money I say on the accommodation will pay for more trips out or nights down the pub.

Thank you Antida for everything ..

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank julia020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was a great apartment to stay in. If you can get the bottom floor apartment as it is massive and comes with a private pool. The owner helped us with all arrangements for sightseeing and trips and even got us a discount on most of them. Would recommend highly. It's only 30 seconds from the main street where you can shop or grab a bite to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had arranged a transfer via the apartments when we first booked – I emailed several times the week before to re-confirm our flight details and pick up time but had no response. I had to telephone in the end, and our pick up was fine thereafter.

We arrived at the apartments just after 11:00 AM and our room wasn’t ready (fair enough). We were told to come back at 2:00 PM which we did but no-one arrived at reception to meet us for nearly an hour (we were hot, tired and our luggage was locked in the reception area).

Although our 2 bed apartment (no 5) was huge, we were disappointed with the standard of it.

The view from the balcony was over a wasteground car park and we experienced constant noise and dust. As the apartments are not cleaned at all during a one week stay I ended up having to mop and clean it myself to keep on top of the dust (our 5 year old has asthma).

The corridors were dark and dingy and half of the apartment (one bedroom, the kitchen and the bathroom) had no natural light due to the layout of the building.

The woodwork/door frames throughout the apartment and corridors were literally falling apart from the bottom up (splintery edges).

The curtains in one bedroom were hanging off (we were promised they would come back and fix – no-one ever did). The window ledge in the same bedroom was also falling apart (cracked tiles). The beds were hard and the pillows were awful.

We had paid for an apartment with air-con. Be warned – this is only in one of the bedrooms and empties into a bucket on the balcony, which we had to empty several times. The other rooms are unbearably hot and the fan in the other bedroom was too noisy to use when trying to sleep.

The fridge handle was rusty and broken and it wasn’t the cleanest or coldest. We didn’t really use the electric cooker as it also looked dodgy. There were only a couple of cupboards in the kitchen to hold the utensils etc, so there was nowhere to store any food.

The pool has nice views but it's tiny – this was OK for us though (our 5 year old loved it), but if you want to swim or use inflatables, it's not for you.

On a positive note, the location is good, the shower was good and it wasn’t too expensive. I believe the studio apartments are much nicer and more modern than the 2 bed apartment we had.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KJCLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here for two weeks, Very dated the cooker was faulty it kept tripping the electric which we reported and was told to use a different ring pointless, the fridge broke down which they did replace, holes in the floors in the corridor and the edges of the beds are very sharp, The wood on the door frames is coming apart, lots of noise from other guess as there was a group of all male teenagers staying there, the clean towels that they supplied had a big lump of hair on yuck so glad we took our own, the pool was not very clean either

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.2 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
4.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Apartments

Address: Shamrock 137 Triq J. Quintinus, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 1300, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bugibba
Price Range: £20 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shamrock Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shamrock Apartments with shared swimming pool are centrally located and located in a very safe neighbourhood in Bugibba in St Paul's Bay area in Malta. The Shamrock Apartments are 8 minutes by walk from supermarkets, bus station, main square, sandy beach, banks, restaurants, pubs, casino and other any tourist services and facilities. The Shamrock Apartments is a small family-run business and a unique feature of the Shamrock Apartments is its rooftop swimming pool with sea views. Other facilities include: Inroom wireless internet access (WI-FI) in the apartment, ample free public car parking, free lugguage storage, passenger lift and office to assist guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamrock Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Apartments Hotel Bugibba
Shamrock Apartments Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing