We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but pretty basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mavina Holiday Complex
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Cumbria
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value but pretty basic”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The Mavina Hotel is situated in central Bugibba, which is a busy tourist trap. We elected a self-catering room, 301, and it was clean, had adequate cooking facilities, bathroom and balcony. There was no air-conditioning but the ceiling fan helped a little. The swimming pool was clean but too many kids splashing around in the adult section. Restaurants at the resort were good and we ate out for all meals. Staff at hotel were very friendly and helpful. The holiday was arranged through Mercury Direct and I cannot fault their efficiency. Our pre-booked private taxi to and from airport was prompt, the representative was helpful. We booked a Three Island Boat trip which stopped at the Blue Lagoon for two hours. This lagoon was very beautiful but horrendously over-crowded, no where to sit, no shade, with people spread over every square metre, enjoying food from the hotdog and burger stands. This excursion should be avoided at all costs, 55 euros, for a day on a boat looking at seemingly endless limestone cliffs. Overall the holiday was good value and great for sitting drinking a latte and people watching.

Room Tip: Although the view is not great, chose a room on the back of the hotel overlooking the pool, as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CumbriaTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    89
    57
    19
    17
See reviews for
51
110
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2011

staff nice but rooms need to be updated and linnen and towels need to be replaced more.

air connditioning is necessary as the ceiling fan is not good enough and the fan you can hire is simply not good enough

Room Tip: take sheets and be prepared to purchase own toilet rolls
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Apartments were clean, staff friendly and pool spotless. The apartment decor was dated (green bathroom suit!) but was all very clean with a small but perfectly formed kitken, though we didnt cook in the apartment it had 2 hobs, grill, oven, toaster, kettle and fridge. The reception staff were very friendly and good at suggesting things to do and what bus to catch. A few reviews on here said it was noisy but we found this not to be the case. Pool was very clean, with hardly anyone in it, which was good as area around pool was small. Sunbeds by pool were 1 euro per day but at least this mean no getting up early to put towels on sunbeds! Room was not cleaned on our stay of 1 week but towels and bins were changed.
Apartments were in a good location, near the center but not too close to suffer from noise.
Beach: 5 minutes
Bus terminal: 5 minutes
Bugibba square: 10/15 minutes
Nearest supermarket: 30 seconds

Room Tip: A room at the front gets the sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExeterHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

staff brill rooms clean food good just one night we had chicken drum sticks more like chicken match sticks but would go back againe loved it there

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rikchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

As a regular visitor to this sunshine island,i have stayed in 1or 2 hotels/ apts.My long term hotel THE'Rocomar' closed many years ago now,so it was to my delight to find such a friendly hotel to be of a substitute.It is located just round the corner from where the'Rocomar' was and is in touching distance from the beach,bars & bus station to all parts.I found my stay here to be very pleasant,as were all the staff.I also found the place very clean and tidy.When i return to 'Malta' i will almost be certain to try and stay here again.!1st class for the money payed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank archieno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We had our honeymoon here in April 2003, (couldn't) put that as a date above).
I had recently had my lower left leg amputated and had a wheelchair as well as a prosthetic leg.
The staff almost fell over each other to help.

Because of financial restraints we were on a very tight budget and also had to book last minute, as we got married on 5th April but I didn't get my leg until the very end of March, so we didn't know what we were doing.

However we had a great time and did the tourist bit and also enjoyed the hospitality of Francis at The Little Waster Pub, I managed to slip in the bathroom and broke my arm so missed the delights of the pool but my new wife loved it.

If we can ever afford passports we'll go again, and now my Aunt lives on Gozo a double reason for making the trip.

If you weren't wasted, the holiday was. Enjoy

Room Tip: go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

If you turn up here and they offer you a room in Block A, don't take it. Otherwise you will be treated to all the noise from the bar, kitchen, and music from the pizza place next door echoing up the stairwell til all hours of the morning. I'm also convinced that staff members had accomodation on-site as there seemed to be televisions on in some of the rooms 24 hrs a day.
The room itself - I would describe as spacious, but as welcoming and comfortable as a common room in a detention centre.... The furniture is reclaimed 70's, but not in a hip way. The headboards on the beds were those white, padded, PVC affairs with buttons missing and nice yellow staining from countless other heads. The chairs were 1970's school chairs. You know - the metal ones with wooden seats and back rests? The bathroom had a brown suite, stained (I'm hoping) by the mineral content of the water supply and not by poor cleaning-up after the previous occupants.
The kitchen had a fridge, 2-ring cooker, kettle, and toaster. The fuse box was a bit temperamental in that whenever we used the cooker, the entire electricity supply to the apartment was cut off.
All-in-all, very disappointing. Probably fine if you literally just want somewhere to lay your head for the night, but if you like somewhere nice to come back to relax in the evening with a book and a bottle of wine, forget it. I will definitely not be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julesmayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bugibba hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mavina Aparthotel
Mavina Aparthotel
#9 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavina Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavina Holiday Complex

Property: Mavina Holiday Complex
Address: Triq il-Fliegu, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mavina Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mavina Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavina Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Mavina Holiday Complex Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing