We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mavina Hotel & Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Room Service
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
92
169
107
37
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
169
107
37
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringthe busemptied dailylovely pool areac unitholiday complextowels changed every other daysea frontplenty of bars and restaurantsbed linentwin bedslarge balconyrooms are basictv remotecentral locationfantastic locationstayed here for a week
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 438 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The Malvina Hotel provides spacious apartments, but they are rather dingy and tired. The bath needed re-enamelling and the kitchen units were falling apart. However, it is good basic accommodation to use as a base for exploring Malta and Gozo. The bus station is 5 mintes walk away and it is possible to get buses to all parts of the island from here. Avoid getting the bus back from Valetta during the rush hour as it is absolutely packed and very hot.
The hop on hop off sightseeing bus is good for a day's touring, and you can see the neolithic temples, and swim at the blue grotto all in one day. If you want to see the hypogeum, you need to book at least two weeks in advance.Although there are catacombs in Rabat which are also definitely worth a visit.
We were amazed at the variety of historic sites there are to visit in Malta and Gozo, and would definitely go back again.
However, we would not stay in Bugibba, which is soulless expaenxe of concrete apartment blocks and hotels, forming a blot on the landscape along the coast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

good location,,good facilities,good staff,good rooms overall very impressed and looking to book up for next year already but looking to stay longer.

as with everything some downsides pool closing at 6pm seems a bit early....
charging guests for use of sunbeds even at 1 euro is more a principal than cost issue..

Room Tip: good basics on self catering everything you need for a comfortable stay
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We booked The Mavina for our summer holiday this year and found it to be a great place to stay. We were looking for self catering so we had the option to make our own food aswell as eat out and the Mavina was very adequate and had everything we needed in our apartment. As a young couple we enjoyed the quiet in the hotel as well as the convenient location of it. Saturday night seemed to be the only loud evening but as soon as you shut the balcony doors it kept all the sound out and all the noise in the hotel stopped at 10.30pm anyway.

The room was quite large with a separate kitchen which was good, and a large balcony. We had a room on the back of the building overlooking the pool which was useful because it meant we could see how busy the pool was at different times of the day just by looking over the balcony and then go down there when it was less busy. We were on the 5th floor which was very high up but there is a lift which you can use so no problem. Our C block only had two apartments on the 5th floor which was also nice. The only downside to the room was that it had no airconditioning, which we knew before we booked, but there was a ceiling fan and very dark curtains which we pulled shut during the day to keep the heat out which helped a lot.

The staff at The Mavina were very nice and friendly and were not over the top and didnt try to sell you anything you didnt ask for. If you asked for anything they would help you and sorted problems very quickly - the only problem we had was a missing breakfast bowl in our room and they sorted that out straight away.

Their restaurant and bar were very nice with friendly staff and reasonable prices. As self catering guests we took advantage of the free glass of wine offer when you order from their ala carte menu and had a lovely meal.

Their pool was very nice, clean and a reasonable size, the sun was not on the pool later in the afternoon because it was at the back of the hotel. Only things that would improve the pool would be later opening hours (it closes at 5-6pm) and free sunloungers.

We enjoyed it very much here and would visit again. I would recommend this hotel for couples for all ages, but im not sure there is much to do here if you are a family and like lots of entertainment in your hotel, or if you are a group of friends looking to socialize. But if you like to go out a lot or have a quieter night in, this is the place!

Most things in Bugibba are very short walking distance from here including the bus station, beach, restaurants, shops and supermarket. Just what you want.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel if you want evening sun on your balcony, get one on the back if you want morning sun and a pool view.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_coralie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We returned last Monday from a 10 day stay at the Mavina and had a great time. It was our first visit to Malta and will not be our last. The Mavina is ideally situated for exploring the local area and is only a few minutes walk from the bus station which provides access to the rest of the island.
We were self-catering (not that we did much of that) and the galley kitchen was well equipped with everything we could have needed. Yes, the apartments are a little tired but clean and spacious. We had a very adequate balcony overlooking the pool which was spotlessly clean. Yes, there is a one ero charge for sunbeds but this certainly meant that we were not surrounded by unused beds for large parts of the day and the system worked well for us. We in fact only used them for four days out of 10 as we were out and about on the bus seeing different parts of the island.
The staff at the Mavina are very friendly. We only ate at the pool snack bar but this was excellent value for money.
If there is any criticism it would be the lack of air conditioning.
All in all the holiday scored a perfect 10 and we will certainly return (and will request room B304).

Thank you to all at the Mavina

Julie and Peter Murray
Portsmouth

Room Tip: We were 3rd floor overlooking the pool - the sun was on the balcony all morning but left it in shade in the afternoon which suited us.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jabesomaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The Mavina Hotel is situated in central Bugibba, which is a busy tourist trap. We elected a self-catering room, 301, and it was clean, had adequate cooking facilities, bathroom and balcony. There was no air-conditioning but the ceiling fan helped a little. The swimming pool was clean but too many kids splashing around in the adult section. Restaurants at the resort were good and we ate out for all meals. Staff at hotel were very friendly and helpful. The holiday was arranged through Mercury Direct and I cannot fault their efficiency. Our pre-booked private taxi to and from airport was prompt, the representative was helpful. We booked a Three Island Boat trip which stopped at the Blue Lagoon for two hours. This lagoon was very beautiful but horrendously over-crowded, no where to sit, no shade, with people spread over every square metre, enjoying food from the hotdog and burger stands. This excursion should be avoided at all costs, 55 euros, for a day on a boat looking at seemingly endless limestone cliffs. Overall the holiday was good value and great for sitting drinking a latte and people watching.

Room Tip: Although the view is not great, chose a room on the back of the hotel overlooking the pool, as it is quieter than the busy street on the fr.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CumbriaTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews