We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“june break 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mavina Holiday Complex
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“june break 2012”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

when i go on holiday their are things i expect from my hotel, or i will move rooms or hotels within the hour.I was pleasantly surprised with the studio we were given, it was clean ,roomy,and the kitchen was very well equiped, the staff couldent do enough for us, very pleasant holiday, the pool area was kept clean at all times, you do have to pay 1euro for sunbeds some did moan about that but i liked it because u are guaranteed a bed n dont have to get up at stupid oclock to get your towels on them i go too malta at least twice a year and i am glad i found the mavina,a basic hotel that meets all your needs ,i am returning in september.

Room Tip: 5th floor poolside was good for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brendavidx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    99
    58
    19
    17
See reviews for
54
121
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Me and a friend stayed here for 3 nights in May and I must say that for the price we paid (cheap) we thought the value was excellent. The pool area is quiet, clean and comfortable, sunbeds are 1 euro a day but they are really comfy. The rooms are basic, yes and could do with some refining but when ur paying so little what do you expect! We found we had what we needed in our room and a spacious balcony. We didn't use the cooker which did look dated however the kettle and the toaster seemed fairly new. The tv was not coin operated which was a bonus and there were 3 English channels. The staff at this hotel were also very nice. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the beach and a tiny bit further to the resort but it's a pleasant walk along the beach. I think the location is good as if it was right near the square it would probably be very noisy! I have a final tip fOr those staying here... One side of the hotel looks over the pool and gets the sun in the first half of the day, the other half overlooks a road which can be a little noisy but you get the lovely afternoon sun and sun in the early evening so perhaps pick a room based on whether you like sun in he evening or morning!
All in all a very pleasant and bargain hotel
:)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susierypayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This hotel redefined "basic" for me - went for the studio apartment - decor is "70s retro". By which I mean it was put in in the 70s and never updated.

Visible areas were very clean (although under the beds wasn't spotless) - "marble" floors which meant any noise got magnified a lot!

It was accommodation with no frills. No luxuries (didn't try the pool or the restaurant) but that doesn't matter as really all we were looking for was somewhere to sleep.

We were on the top floor so 4 flights of stairs to climb each time we went out - helps with the fitness (there's a lift but I proudly didn't use it!)

I probably would not go back - I think next time I'll pay the extra for a "nicer" place - but it was cheap, cheerful and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

i have been visiting this hotel for 6 years now and it has always been excellent the rooms are clean and well looked after the servive from staff is great and food is fine even the house wine at lunch is pallatable actually i can find no crititism of this place give it a try i will be there on 2/1 and i know i will have a nice break

Room Tip: ask to stay in main block
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed at the Mavina September 2011 on a half board basis.
No complaints at all. We were at the front of the Complex which was great. Large apartment with fridge and cooking utensils if needed. Half Board food was good. The lack of air conditioning was not a problem in September but I imagine that it would be a bonus in the peak season. Have to say that Jojo202 is 100% correct about the timing of the rubbish truck. We did not need to set an alarm!
We hired a car to explore the island. Would recommend this to all but the faint hearted. Driving in Malta is very similar to driving in Italy!
I would recommend the Mavina as a great base to explore Malta.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HEV64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed at the complex in August 2011 with my husband and two small children. We had a self catering apartment which was a little dated but clean and well presented with all necessary cooking utensils - a two hob cooker, pans, plates etc.
The pool was salt water but kept clean and tidy and well managed - unfortunately arrogancy of other guests can't be sited as a complaint to the resort.
Staff were friendly and appraochable and helped with whatever we asked for. We travelled as a group of ten and this was not a problem when we booked a table for dinner - the waiter was extremely friendly, polite and flexible in catering for the needs of the younger children.
We were very pleased with this resort - lack of air con was a small issue but we knew this from when we booked and it did not affect our holiday! I would recommend this for any family!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter but rooms facing out the front of the hotel are slightly cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Madshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Just stayed there for the third time, will book soon for next year! Family run, basic but spotlessly clean, nothing too much trouble, sea water pool, central. What more could you want! Met up with friends from the twenty years we have been going to Malta as well. Were self catering, but I heard meals were good.

Room Tip: although you see more life from the front, the back suits us as quiter and sun in the morning there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ValBerwickuponTweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
461 reviews
2.1 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mavina Aparthotel
Mavina Aparthotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,462 reviews
3.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavina Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavina Holiday Complex

Property: Mavina Holiday Complex
Address: Triq il-Fliegu, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mavina Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mavina Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavina Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Mavina Holiday Complex Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing