We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mavina Holiday Complex
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We booked the hotel on a late deal never having been to the hotel before. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The rubbish was removed every day. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is just a short walk from Bugibba and was far enough away from the clubs. there are plenty of shops and restaurants to choose from. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    102
    63
    19
    17
See reviews for
56
126
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maynooth, Kildare, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We have been staying in Mavina for the last fifteen years and have always found it just perfect. It is in a great location,near bars, cafes, nightclubs. The rooms are always clean. The staff are the best ever so friendly they are all just like our extended family and cannot do enough to make sure your stay in the most enjoyable experience. The only negative thing I can say is that I cant stay there as often as I would like. The swimming pool is just so private and well kept. I am looking forward to my return visit in September and meeting up with all the friends that I have made during my stay in the Mavina Holiday Complex.

Room Tip: If it is quite that you are looking for look for a room on the south and the front of the hotel gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I had a very nice and large apartment on the fifth floor overlooking the back, with two beds put together to form a kingsize: exactly as I requested, but I found that it needed a touch of TLC, for which I would have paid a lot more. I needed nice non-lumpy pillows, a duvet, larger sheets, comfortable chairs, more electric sockets, a heated towel-rail in the bathroom (this was December/January and there was a small heater for the main room), more and hotter water, a remote control for the TV (which provided more English speaking programmes than the 4-star I moved to later) and better housekeeping, which wouldn't cost them that much, and would ensure my return. I was prepared to clean up after myself, but didn't expect to have to clean the apartment, particularly the bathroom, when I arrived; there was a mop and bucket, such as I haven't seen since the 1940s/50s, on the balcony, but no modern squeegee - was that for my use? And I would have expected them to supply basic cleaning materials and products, but had to buy my own from the excellent supermarkets which abound locally. And the room card, and I checked with reception, promised me that the floor would be washed once a week - it wasn't ever and hadn't been before I arrived, and the bins were sort of partially emptied irregularly. There was no inventory, and I did not want to pay for the missing and broken items when I arrived - but those on reception sorted it very swiftly without question. I spoke to others staying there, and they experienced the same things. I suggest that housekeeping be monitored and improved, that no smoking be allowed on the flat roof, as it penetrated the hallways and the lifts and my apartment, nor in the doorway of the building, that the lift be given a damn good clean, and an inventory be supplied! I stayed two of my three scheduled weeks, but needed some comfort and adequate hot water so moved to a nearby hotel for the third, for which I paid a very reasonable €32 pn B&B. The girls on reception at the Mavina were lovely, although the men shouted, as Maltese men tend to do, but the breakfast was too basic and bread not good, so I ate there only twice. Perhaps if the Mavina spent a little money on upgrading their apartments and breakfasts to the minimum comforts we expect, I would be more than happy to stay there again, and willingly pay more.

Room Tip: Front rooms get afternoon sun, but also the noise from Incognito, the restaurant on the corner. Bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoneCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

just got back after a 28 day stay at the Mavina good hotel staff helpful and friendly central location good shops buses ext good english hairdresser opposite [ louise ] the owner very helpful and freiedly we will return in December

Room Tip: prefer rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 356aaaaaa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

I have been to Malta a few times now and I will never stay here again, between the cockroaches that we had in the kitchen and the thumping music that is played from 10p.m. till 2a.m. its been the worst place i have stayed in Malta.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bugibba hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I have stayed here for about 10years always great service and value also staff very helpful and rooms are just hat you need all amenities are within walking distance the food in restaurant us great i always have a half wine with meal for about 4euros very nice give it a ryy you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrlunniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Very pleasant self catering apts with several supermarkets within 3-4 minutes walk. Similarly the bus station is also very close and being at the beginning of the bus routes means you can get a seat!! Malta buses tend to be very crowded, more so if you try to board half way thru' a route, then it becomes standing room only. Nos 12 and 32 go to Valletta, 12 goes on the coast road, 32 goes inland but can be faster. Either way it takes about an hour.
Best rooms at these apts are the ones at the back in block 2 which overlook a builders yard. You get minimal noise here at night. Over reception, in the front, you may get a little noise at times from bars etc.
Several timeshare people around accosting tourists and offering freebies if you go along to a session in a couple of the local hotels. Your choice if you want the freebies.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,538 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bugibba Hotel
The Bugibba Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bugibba
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The San Anton Hotel
The San Anton Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bugibba
125 reviews
2.2 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mavina Aparthotel
Mavina Aparthotel
#9 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavina Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavina Holiday Complex

Property: Mavina Holiday Complex
Address: Triq il-Fliegu, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mavina Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mavina Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavina Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Mavina Holiday Complex Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing