We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mavina Holiday Complex
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location and get what you pay for”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Spent 5 days here at the end of April. This being the second time I've stayed at the Mavina. Previously I stayed in a studio, this time a one bedroom apartment. The rooms could best be described as dated but adequate. The beds are reasonably comfortable, however the ones this time out are the creakiest I've ever come across. I wouldn't go so as to say the room was dirty, but it also wasn't spotless. Take some wipes with you if this sort of thing bothers you. The big plus is the location, handy for everything.
Reception staff are also extremely pleasant and helpful.
One thing you should be aware of is when self catering, maid service is only once a week, though they do empty your bin daily. You also need to supply your own loo paper when your 1st one runs out.
Forget about the star rating, it not the same as the UK.
To sum up, great value for money and location. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lkat1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    102
    66
    20
    20
See reviews for
58
129
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I had been to Malta once before, but it was my wife's first visit. Priority was Wheelchair friendly. So we choose the Mavina Holiday Complex with Chevron Holidays. On arrival it was as stated wheelchair friendly with ramp access into the reception area. However we were allocated an apartment on the first floor. There was a lift but not large enough to take a wheelchair with a person in it. This wasn't a problem to us as my wife can get out of the chair and use the lift. There was also a convenient place to leave the chair near the lift. The apartment us very clean but basic. The shower and bathroom (no bath) were adequate and the water was good and hot. Two single beds but quite comfortable. We had booked self catering, but mainly intended to eat out. This was a good thing as the kitchen equipment left alot to be desired. Only one ring on the cooker worked the grill was useless also the oven was not brilliant but we didn't complain so wether the equipment would have been upgraded I do not know. The staff in the reception area and the bar were all very nice and the bar prices where very reasonable. As it was January entertainment was on on Thursday night and this was excellent. Food was available in the restaurant but we were not impressed by the quality. In all you only get what you pay for and it was a good base for us and near to the main bus station. Chevron proved to be an excellent company to travel with and we where looked after really well. We would stay at this complex again .

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the complex but really check if you need wheelchair access
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Went to Malvina, self catering, in Feb. 2014. We got a room overlookinf the pool which was not open that time of the year. The whole appartment was clean and well presented, as the experts say.
The one bedroom appartment was "adequate" as there were only two of us. Any more, and the pull out beds would not be "adequate".
The kitchen area consisted of a kettle, a sink, a refigerator and one of those Belling ovens with two rings and a grill. As we eat out most of the time this was "adequate".
The bin was emptied daily by the staff who were most helpful. The hot tap in the bathroom sink was not working but was fixed inside an hour of being reported and was fine for the rest of the holiday.
Food in the hotel dining room was resonably priced, large in portions, a bit limited in choice but perfectly "adequate" if you didn't want to cook or go out.
Straight out of the hotel, about 100 mtrs down, on the left, is a Carrefoures supermarket which can supply most of your needs at a reasonable price.
The big plus was the bus terminus, also about 100mtrs away, where you can catch a bus to virtually anywhere on the island. A one week unlimited bus ticket for 6.5 euro is an absolute bargain.
150 mtrs to the "beach" and another 200 mtrs to any action along the seafront was quite "adequate".
I guess, if you want more than "adequate" you pay a lot more than we did.
Most enjoyable.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool get the sun in the morning and not in the evening. This will make it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham_Y0rkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for 21 nights over the Christmas period on a self catering basis.we had a kitchenette with all you would want to make a simple meal kettle toaster small oven and fridge .the main room had two beds a sofa and table and chairs dressing table and balcony everything was basic but clean the staff were really polite and helpful.the location is great plenty of bars and restaurant s and right near the bus station .for the price you cannot go wrong we really enjoyed our stay and we will certainly be back again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Firstly these apartments are really Qawra more than Bugibba, good location though, not far from sea front and Bugibba square and Qawra itself has lots of bars, restaurants and shops.
Thank fully I needed my studio just for a base, I was staying with friends but as it was an 11 day trip needed somewhere to keep all my belongings, get some space and do some cooking.
The studio had a toaster, kettle and baby belling, with small cooker with hob. There was no microwave. Full size fridge was good. Cutlery and dishes not great and I had to ask for a sharp knife for chopping, however not a bad little kitchen.
The room was very basic and very old, it also couldn't have been occupied for ages as when I first turned on the taps the water was rusty and needed to run for a few minutes. The toilet flush is old fashioned and needed turning off, it also leaked.
The room was freezing, I know it is the colder season but the bar heater they provided was no where near sufficient for the size of the room as I was grateful to not have to spend anymore than two of my nights out of 11 there. Also the nearby bars were loud until quite late and this was out of season!
The bar I small and I didn't see it busy whilst I was there, there seemed to be very few other occupants or at least that I saw off. There was food available but I didn't try eating there, didn't seem that good value especially with all the choices available very neary by (2 mins walk)
The bin was emptied every day and linen and towels changed once per week.
No hair dryers in room, could borrow one for 20E deposit.
Reception staff were helpful and friendly.
I have stayed in places for a similar value that provided a nicer experience, it was very basic and I wouldn't return. It really needs to be updated.

Room Tip: avoid west facing at present due to view of building site, however nice afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachwBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bugibba hotels

liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

we have stayed twice before at the mavina with no problems.this time our apt was on the third floor instead of first floor as usual.at first it looked very dated but ok,then in the bathroom it was very dingy with blobs of rust around the bath and plughole.we thought we would put up with it as we had unpacked.we then turned the oven on and as it warmed up we found cockroaches scurring from under the cooker,so our self catering stay became an eating out holiday.we had to put a card in the lights to keep them on so the little beasts stayed away.there was nothing down below available and it was quite a relief to get home.needless to say they have lost our custom but if you are going there to a low floor is ok and the staff are really good its just a pity we got that apt. s0 if you are offered B303 REFUSE

Room Tip: Take a low room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tommyrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

visited his establishment for the third year running as it is very centrally situated with all amenities close by supermarket on your doorstep bus station at end of road plenty bars and just a five minute walk to the promenade.The aparthotel has a swimming pool bar and restaurant with clean self catering room nothing special but clean beds are all you need at night will definately be back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanW170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bugibba
472 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,580 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bugibba Hotel
The Bugibba Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bugibba
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The San Anton Hotel
The San Anton Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bugibba
159 reviews
2.2 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mavina Aparthotel
Mavina Aparthotel
#9 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavina Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavina Holiday Complex

Property: Mavina Holiday Complex
Address: Triq il-Fliegu, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mavina Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Mavina Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavina Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Mavina Holiday Complex Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing