We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean ( ish) is all I can say, a grim dated hotel - AVOID”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mavina Holiday Complex
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here for one week in two adjoining rooms, I'm afraid even though I expected basic and prepared for it I was sorely disappointed with the place
Towels and sheets are not changed ALL week
There is no air conditioning available even for rent and it was stifling at night
The bathroom was a strange chocolate brown colour
Curtains torn
Bedding covers and curtains that must be 15 years old +
The pool shuts at 5 pm at the weekend which is madness and 6 pm in the evening.. No nice evening swims here.
A couple of the cleaners were positively rude
The lift is terrifying.. Holds 3, slams shut on your arms, hot inside, carpeted walls.. Just odd.
Staff on reception looked and acted mainly disinterested and tired/ bored
The streets around the hotel were full of rubbish and for days it stayed there.
The hotel breakfast was totally inedible, just vile.

Pluses were we had good food at many restaurants and despite the grim surroundings we got out and had a good time. I absolutely would NOT go here again it's like some grim Butlins but without the red costs..

The holiday was £350 so it should have been a bit better than it was.. The view from the bathroom was plain scary !!!

Room Tip: Just don't bother going.. If you do the pool side is better as cars beep on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donna_ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Tiia M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a family run hotel which was just perfect for our 9 day stay.
We are 3 women aged 56, 59 and 77 (all related).
We had 2 adjoining apartments which was brilliant as it meant we had 2 bathrooms and 2 kitchens (but we only used 1). We also had 2 balconies, one overlooking the street and one overlooking the back. The apartments were spotlessly clean and well equipped for our needs.
It was in a perfect spot for us with Trollees supermarket just across the road, the bus station round the corner and lots of shops, bars, cafes and restaurants all in very close proximity.
The staff are just brilliant and looked after us well.
We are hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The best place to stay for this price....deserve more money the place.
We really felt wonderful from the beginning untill the end of our 5 days to St. Paul Bay.
It was our first trip outside country and it was fantastic.




  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
3  Thank Bubyiuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Spent 5 days here at the end of April. This being the second time I've stayed at the Mavina. Previously I stayed in a studio, this time a one bedroom apartment. The rooms could best be described as dated but adequate. The beds are reasonably comfortable, however the ones this time out are the creakiest I've ever come across. I wouldn't go so as to say the room was dirty, but it also wasn't spotless. Take some wipes with you if this sort of thing bothers you. The big plus is the location, handy for everything.
Reception staff are also extremely pleasant and helpful.
One thing you should be aware of is when self catering, maid service is only once a week, though they do empty your bin daily. You also need to supply your own loo paper when your 1st one runs out.
Forget about the star rating, it not the same as the UK.
To sum up, great value for money and location. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Lkat1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I had been to Malta once before, but it was my wife's first visit. Priority was Wheelchair friendly. So we choose the Mavina Holiday Complex with Chevron Holidays. On arrival it was as stated wheelchair friendly with ramp access into the reception area. However we were allocated an apartment on the first floor. There was a lift but not large enough to take a wheelchair with a person in it. This wasn't a problem to us as my wife can get out of the chair and use the lift. There was also a convenient place to leave the chair near the lift. The apartment us very clean but basic. The shower and bathroom (no bath) were adequate and the water was good and hot. Two single beds but quite comfortable. We had booked self catering, but mainly intended to eat out. This was a good thing as the kitchen equipment left alot to be desired. Only one ring on the cooker worked the grill was useless also the oven was not brilliant but we didn't complain so wether the equipment would have been upgraded I do not know. The staff in the reception area and the bar were all very nice and the bar prices where very reasonable. As it was January entertainment was on on Thursday night and this was excellent. Food was available in the restaurant but we were not impressed by the quality. In all you only get what you pay for and it was a good base for us and near to the main bus station. Chevron proved to be an excellent company to travel with and we where looked after really well. We would stay at this complex again .

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the complex but really check if you need wheelchair access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Went to Malvina, self catering, in Feb. 2014. We got a room overlookinf the pool which was not open that time of the year. The whole appartment was clean and well presented, as the experts say.
The one bedroom appartment was "adequate" as there were only two of us. Any more, and the pull out beds would not be "adequate".
The kitchen area consisted of a kettle, a sink, a refigerator and one of those Belling ovens with two rings and a grill. As we eat out most of the time this was "adequate".
The bin was emptied daily by the staff who were most helpful. The hot tap in the bathroom sink was not working but was fixed inside an hour of being reported and was fine for the rest of the holiday.
Food in the hotel dining room was resonably priced, large in portions, a bit limited in choice but perfectly "adequate" if you didn't want to cook or go out.
Straight out of the hotel, about 100 mtrs down, on the left, is a Carrefoures supermarket which can supply most of your needs at a reasonable price.
The big plus was the bus terminus, also about 100mtrs away, where you can catch a bus to virtually anywhere on the island. A one week unlimited bus ticket for 6.5 euro is an absolute bargain.
150 mtrs to the "beach" and another 200 mtrs to any action along the seafront was quite "adequate".
I guess, if you want more than "adequate" you pay a lot more than we did.
Most enjoyable.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool get the sun in the morning and not in the evening. This will make it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham_Y0rkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
496 reviews
2.2 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,399 reviews
0 mi away
Mavina Aparthotel
Mavina Aparthotel
#9 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
820 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,690 reviews
5.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavina Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavina Holiday Complex

Address: Triq il-Fliegu, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range: £12 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mavina Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mavina Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavina Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Mavina Holiday Complex Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing