We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fish!”

Seashell Fish & Chip Shop
Ranked #39 of 159 Restaurants in Bugibba
Cuisines: Seafood, Central European
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent fish!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This little gem on Triq it-Touristi serves the best fish I've had from a fish shop. The fish is lightly battered so it doesn't have that greasy chip shop taste and it doesn't sit heavy in your stomach! The chips on the other hand were not as good - they were undercooked. Typical chip shop interior and friendly staff. Would definitely go here again for the fish! Great value for money too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank becky12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    94
    26
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent value for Money”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Very generous portions, quick service and friendly staff. Very popular so needed to wait before space was available inside.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jbly007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Food is great and at a cracking price.. we went several times and loved every meal.

Owner and staff are very friendly and easy to chat to.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddog1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not Cod”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were recommended to this eatery by some friends and ended up disappointed. I love my cod and chips and regularly eat at Squires of Braunton who serve nothing but cod loins. As soon as I saw the price of cod and chips at Sea Shells I realised that something was not quite right. It costs a lot to transport cod to Malta which makes it expensive to buy. They were charging 4 Euros 95 for cod and chips, not much profit there.
The meal arrived, my partner had ordered fishcake and chips (which was excellent by the way) and I had the cod. There was a lot of batter to get through before getting to the fish which was of a slimy texture and not large flakes like cod. It was a cat fish, Pangasius ( River Cobbler in Tescos) farmed in Vietnam and thereabouts. Nothing wrong with that but why sell it as cod? We should all know what we are eating. Fair play to the waitress, I told her it had never swum in the sea and she offered to get me something else.
It hasn't put me off tho'. I like the look of some of the things on the menu but will be checking them out before eating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucida100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very reasonable prices”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I tried this Fish & Chip Shop and I was not disappointed. What it lacks in ambience, it makes up for it in food and very reasonable budget prices. Most of the food is marked around the 5 Euros price range. The menu is varied and those who do not like fish and chips can opt for burgers, pasta or other type of food. I chose a fish and chips while my friends opted for a pasta. Friendly service and good food. Therefore I could not ask for more. Certainly good value for money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seashell Fish & Chip Shop also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to Seashell Fish & Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing