We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“curries”
Review of New Madras

New Madras
Ranked #17 of 157 Restaurants in Bugibba
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Bugibba, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“curries”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

sorry but not very good the price is high as every thing is priced individually so gets quite expensive the curry is far to dry not enough sauce and nothing like the curries we get in the UK the staff are friendly and do try to be helpful but make sure you check your bill properly as mistakes happen and they over priced our bill

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lynn422014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    47
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
everywhere
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice indian food, although some items are a bit overpriced”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had dinner here twice during a week, both times the food was very nice and service friendly. We do feel that some items were a bit overpriced, like the rice and the lassi, so the second time we just shared a rice and naan, also because the portions were quite big.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iloverocknroll1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Delicious! ”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I went to this restaurant with my husband, mother, father and 1 year old daughter and we all thoroughly enjoyed it! The food was delicious and spicy just as it should be. We had poppadoms with vegetable samosas to start which were very nice. Then we had chicken tikka massala and madras with rice for main. The only downside was the lack of desert options but we had kulfi which was also very good. They do accommodate children but unfortunately have no baby changing facilities. Nonetheless it was one of the best curry houses I've been to and will certainly go again.

Helpful?
Thank Nicola090912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

get lots to eat maybe to much and the price is good. Totaly enjoyed my meal here. staff were friendly and you don't wait to long for your food. definatly recommend

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank janechriseakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a taste and flavour sensation”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was advised to try this by another restaurant owner. his restaurant is also top class. we visited this as not great fans of Indian cuisine but left converted . the food was extremely tasty and very well presented. it was a taste bud sensation and tasted like no other meal I have had in an Indian. the mix of herbs and spices did not fail to please.the chef is the proprietor and is a great chef . we visited once more and enjoyed this as much . quite understated and could be missed if not careful it is a little gem . please visit it and I am sure you will be impressed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Madras also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to New Madras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing