We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bugibba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bugibba Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Hotel NOT as advertised we paid for self catering studio with balcony with microwave toaster and all that is needed for cooking (we got two knives two forks two spoons two plates frying pan and pot) free WiFi in every room two large swimming pools and a child's pool indoor pool sounds good. What we got was a room so small that the bed was touching the cooker no balcony no toaster microwave or free Wifi. The pool was small the second pool was smaller the kids pool was no bigger then a paddling pool the indoor pool was closed. Reception wasn't any help and rude the cleaners we're nice and tried their best but the hotel was very dirty in the lobby the seating could do with a good cleaning. All I can say is don't go keep away.

Room Tip: No tips available as hotel deceiving
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antida N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    123
    176
    155
    326
See reviews for
219
330
68
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

It advertises as 3 star hotel, but is worse than 2. And all those ad photos don't represent the reality.
Elevator never worked.
Breakfast was terrible, the food was tasteless and synthetic (after few mornings we stopped going there even though we booked it for entire 7-day stay).
No air conditioning (there was a broken fan in the room).
The only reason I gave "poor", not "terrible", because it was cheap.
Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakurad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bugibba hotels

ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom self catering apartment with balcony but when we arrived we were given the keys to a hotel room with 4 beds and balcony we complained and where told to go to reception in the morning. In the morning we were told there was no apartment 4 us and they could do nothing about it. We were expected to share with our 12 and 14 yr old children in the one room. They offered us half board but we declined because we heard how bad the food was in the reviews before we went, one of the reasons we had booked self catering in the first place (the second reason being that our children have dietary requirements). We said we needed an apartment as booked and were then told to call back at 11am and maybe they would have something then. We were then offered an apartment with extra rooms so we would have some privacy but we still had no kitchen to cook in. We were given a small fridge to hold water in and under DURESS we had to accept this room as we were AGAIN told they had nothing else even though we had booked months in advance. We got so annoyed as days went by and we were out more money than we should have been because we had to buy breakfast and dinner down the street for the four of us when we should have been fit to self cater. We went back to reception and complained again for the third time and finally they magically had the keys to an apartment that we should have received in the first place. The management have a lot to answer for as they obviously haven't a clue how to run the hotel or honor the bookings they are taking they also are never to be found when you go to complain and never answer their phones when reception staff try ringing them (or so we are told). If we had received our correct apartment on the night we arrived or even the next morning we would have easily given this hotel 9/10 but because a full week of our holiday was ruined because of the accommodation we would only give it 4/10. Saying that Taz and co animation entertainment around the pool are great and lively they work hard and were great at their jobs. The house keeping was also very good clean towels and rooms cleaned regularly. Yes the hotel needs a lick of paint and some TLC but that sort of thing doesn't take away from your holiday. The only thing letting down this hotel is the management who need to learn/do their job and honor their bookings, we were not the only ones who didn't get the correct rooms/apartments as there was a line of people behind us complaining and none of them received their correct booking either. Not once did management try to talk to us or explain why we hadn't received our correct booking they hid behind reception staff. three times we complained and a full week before we had the correct apartment. NOT GOOD ENOUGH!

Room Tip: Don't expect to get what you have booked!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sharonmacIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

The room was like an oven.the air conditioning wasnt working in lot of rooms.i slept in a 40 degrees room.nobody helped me.the breakfast was terrible.beans or eggs or eggs and beans.the main doors were glass and looked like they hadnt been cleaned f fingerprints for days.the hotel was very noisy day and night.however the 3 girls on reception were very nice.it was difficult for them trying to cope with all the problems.the hotel really needs some maintainence.lots of stains on walls and floors.cut my stay short by 2 days .coldnt stand it any longer.wlll not return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank rose r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I visited this hotel with friends.. I had thought of staying here but thank god I didn't. It was dirty. The locks on the toilet doors were broken, the pool area had broken tiles around the pool and it is just not the sort of place to take your kids. too many dark corners as half the lights were broken or just not lit. I know it's cheap but if they bothered to keep it maintained and clean it would maybe look better. The only saving grace on the two occasions I visited was the entertainment and on the second occasion they could see what they were doing as the lighting was broken(not their fault) The management need to step up to the mark and sort the place out.Cheap but not so cheerful.

Room Tip: As I didn't stay at the hotel. I can't comment on the rooms but the state of the toilets sai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish4426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Good simple value in an ideal location for transport and local atmosphere. Rooms basic but clean. Food lovely.
No toys here which would have enhanced our stay but certainly not lacking in anything else

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScorpioLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.4 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 16 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bugibba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bugibba Hotel

Property: The Bugibba Hotel
Address: Tourist Street, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 1025, Malta (Formerly Blue Sea Bugibba)
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bugibba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bugibba Hotel & Apartments is an ideal choice for those looking for a charming break in the popular St. Paul's Bay area of Malta. Just a five-minute stroll from Bugibba's pretty seaside promenade and town centre, families, couples and friends will enjoy the comfortable facilities and pleasant service of this delightful 3-star hotel. The 165 Mediterranean style rooms and apartments centre on a spacious outdoor swimming pool complete with terrace and sun loungers perfect for relaxation and revitalisation, plus a separate children's area. Guests of the Bugibba Hotel & Apartments can also enjoy a large indoor pool (non-heated) and Jacuzzi, providing an idyllic space to retreat to if the Maltese sun gets too much. Further facilities include a pool bar, 24-hour reception and Wi-Fi to make every stay as comfortable as possible. Decorated in a traditional style, each accommodation includes an en-suite bathroom with a shower or bathtub, cable TV, air-conditioning and heating. Many rooms enjoy a private balcony with attractive views of the pool or internal courtyard. For guests who opt for an apartment stay, a kitchenette complete with fridge and cooker is provided, great for preparing simple meals from the fresh, Mediterranean produce available nearby. Those who prefer to leave the cooking at home can make the most of the hotel's buffet style restaurant, complete with al fresco relaxation area available during the summer. There's also Jack's Bar, reminiscent of an English style pub, sometimes with entertainment, and a pool bar offering a wide range of drinks and light snacks to keep hunger at bay. Being perfectly located in the centre of town, the Bugibba Hotel & Apartments is close to the seafront, restaurants, bars and shops. The resort's lively main square is within walking distance, as are public transport options that link you to the many fantastic sights and attractions that the whole of Malta offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Onthebeach, TravelUp, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bugibba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bugibba Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Holiday Complex Bugibba
The Bugibba Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing