We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“upgrade” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bugibba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bugibba Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“upgrade”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We arrived about 9.45pm. The room we were given was on the 6th floor. The room itself was clean, being on a budget holiday it was okay. We had a 10 night stay booked, After 3 days we decided to look for an upgrade, it cost an extra €42 euros. The difference was just like going from a 1 star to a 5 star room, IN THE SAME BUILDING. I was reading some comments about the staff at reception being not very nice, all i can say is that if they are dealing with somebody and you are just looking for your room key, well you could stand there for eternity before they even look in your direction. A little bit of advice too all reception staff just look in the direction of people at reception desk and at least let them know that you recognize them as GUESTS.
Overall enjoyed holiday would go back, loved the area....

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor at first, upgraded to room overlooking the pool, on the 3rd floor,1000...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stokecity84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    121
    173
    154
    324
See reviews for
216
328
67
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We booked a budget hoilday for 2 weeks and after reading reviews were expecting a broom cupboard infested with bugs, what we got was a nice suprise, double room and everything was clean, no AC but we did have a fan which is what we have in uk. We are fussy and to be honest had no complaints what so ever, towels changed every day and housekeeping was done everyday. Breakfast was CONTINENTAL as advertised so dont complain, there is more than enough choice. We didnt use the pool as we prefer the sea. We had a nice experience at this hotel, front of house staff were always very helpful and yes we would return to this hotel. We stayed in room 437 inland view but perfect for a glass of wine on the balcony after a day sightseeing. 2 good supermarkets just over the road for any extras you need. Only a short walk to the bus station.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divebuddy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrigatogher, Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We knew before booking this place that this was a budget hotel. That was all we needed as we were attending a local wedding and we had to do a lot of driving around the island so we would use the complex for bed and breakfast only.

There is so many options for rooms when booking on-line so before we booked it, the one room we didn't want was ECONOMY so we booked a STANDARD one bedroom apartment with request for high level and pool view.

We arrived at the complex around 10 pm and was given the keys to our room. It was on second floor (which is street level), had 2 bedrooms and was ECONOMY. There was no pool view but street side and the patio window was guarded by metal shutters. The plasterwork was falling off walls, it was poorly decorated, very dark and the smell was awful.

We went straight to reception with our bags and keys and my wife was in bits (she was exhausted from completing 3 night shifts in the hospital and traveling from Ireland). The lady at reception initially could not help us because she was unable to contact the manager but after 10 minutes trying, she gave us a key for one bed apartment on 6th floor and it was perfect. This was what we paid for.

We later found out on the complex website that second floor is ECONOMY ROOMS.

However apart from this, the complex was regularly cleaned, the breakfast was ok, we got clean towels everyday and the bed sheets was changed once during the week and we found the staff and the cleaners very friendly and brilliant.

Nearly everything worked in the room but it could do with a few days labour to paint it, fix the electrics, lower shower curtain rail, new shower head, fix loose units in bathroom, window handles not closing and the rusty fridge door in the kitchen -would recommend changing the fridge.

We didn't stay in the complex during the days so we didn't get a chance to use the swimming pool, bar, restaurant etc.

We like to thank the receptionist for her help on the night we arrived.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay. It is a budget holiday complex after all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROCKTOP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I wish I could post photos on here so you could see how bad it is. This place shouldn't be allowed to call itself a hotel. There are too many things to list on here so all I can say is DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Pay a little extra and go else where also the staff are not helpful at all. I'm sorry I had to disturb there conversations to ask for things. I really should know better.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bugibba hotels

Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Hotel NOT as advertised we paid for self catering studio with balcony with microwave toaster and all that is needed for cooking (we got two knives two forks two spoons two plates frying pan and pot) free WiFi in every room two large swimming pools and a child's pool indoor pool sounds good. What we got was a room so small that the bed was touching the cooker no balcony no toaster microwave or free Wifi. The pool was small the second pool was smaller the kids pool was no bigger then a paddling pool the indoor pool was closed. Reception wasn't any help and rude the cleaners we're nice and tried their best but the hotel was very dirty in the lobby the seating could do with a good cleaning. All I can say is don't go keep away.

Room Tip: No tips available as hotel deceiving
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antida N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

It advertises as 3 star hotel, but is worse than 2. And all those ad photos don't represent the reality.
Elevator never worked.
Breakfast was terrible, the food was tasteless and synthetic (after few mornings we stopped going there even though we booked it for entire 7-day stay).
No air conditioning (there was a broken fan in the room).
The only reason I gave "poor", not "terrible", because it was cheap.
Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakurad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
1.0 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.0 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 16 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
0.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.5 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bugibba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bugibba Hotel

Property: The Bugibba Hotel
Address: Tourist Street, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 1025, Malta (Formerly Blue Sea Bugibba)
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bugibba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Bugibba Hotel & Apartments is an ideal choice for those looking for a charming break in the popular St. Paul's area of Malta. Just a five-minute stroll from Bugibba's pretty seaside promenade and town centre, families, couples and friends will enjoy the comfortable facilities and pleasant service of this delightful 3-star hotel. The 173 Mediterranean style rooms and apartments centre on a spacious outdoor swimming pool complete with terrace and sun loungers perfect for relaxation and revitalisation, plus a separate children's area. Guests of the Bugibba Hotel & Apartments can also enjoy a large indoor pool (non-heated) and Jacuzzi, providing an idyllic space to retreat to if the Maltese sun gets too much. Further facilities include an outdoor pool bar, 24-hour reception, gift shop and Wi-Fi to make every stay as comfortable as possible. Decorated in a traditional style, each accommodation includes an en-suite bathroom with bathtub, cable TV, air-conditioning and heating. Many rooms enjoy a private balcony with attractive views of the pool or internal courtyard. For guests who opt for an apartment stay, a kitchenette complete with fridge and cooker is provided, great for preparing simple meals from the fresh, Mediterranean produce available nearby. Those who prefer to leave the cooking at home can make the most of the hotel's modern buffet style restaurant, complete with al fresco dining available during the summer. There's also Jack's Bar, reminiscent of an English style pub with regular entertainment, and a pool bar offering a wide range of drinks and light snacks to keep hunger at bay. Being perfectly located in the centre of town, the Bugibba Hotel & Apartments is close to the seafront, restaurants, bars and shops. The resort's lively main square is within walking distance, as are public transport options that link you to the many fantastic sights and attractions that Malta offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia and Onthebeach so you can book your The Bugibba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bugibba Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Holiday Complex Bugibba
The Bugibba Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing