We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Apple Bar

Apple Bar
Ranked #57 of 153 Restaurants in Bugibba
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: Small bar/restaurant situated in Bugibba/Qawra district on island of Malta.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Found this little diner by accident at the top of Tourist street. We just wanted something nice to eat rather than pizza or pasta. I had the cottage pie and it was really homemade my other half had a Pukka pie with mashed potatoes and garden peas. We really enjoyed it. Very friendly staff who aim to please and very reasonably priced. Great for families or limited budgets. We did not visit the adjoining bar but heard it was very popular. We also had a Sunday lunch here which was excellent and again value for money all three courses.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pablo1827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“reasonable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

apple bar diner just up from apple bar same owners was asked to go to the diner as we would get served qiucker had breakfast there the food was ok average for a breakfast service ok we didnt get butter for toast or sauce its a very expats bar

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diane186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great bar friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

what a great little bar for late night drinks and karaoke very friendly atmosphere and friendly staff

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

The Apple Bar is a small (but long) bar along Tourist Street. You can get a pint of lager for 1 euro, as well as slightly more expensive ones. Tea and coffee are just 60 cents, and a bag of crisps 50 cents..bargain! They also do snacks like pukka pies and toasted sandwiches.

In the back room there are computers for access to the internet, at much cheaper than the rates at the hotel we stayed at, and a full size snooker table.

It's a very 'British' bar, most of the customers are ex-pats, and all of them friendly and helpful with things to do on the island.

My only gripe is that they had karaoke EVERY night, and for me personally, as it's what I do for a living, I like to get away from it when I'm away. It would have been nice if they had a quiz night at least once during the week, because we did tend to leave once the karaoke started to find a bar that had alternative entertainment (which isn't easy in Bugibba, karaoke is everywhere!) That being said, it was a good sound system and thousands of songs.

It was always busy, both day and night time, although populated mostly with older people, kids wouldn't find a lot to do in there.

Well done Silvio & Sandra and all the staff...we were made to feel very welcome!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank mandyb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good company”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Me and my wife were on holiday in may & again in oct this year ,we spent quite a lot of hours in the Apple Bar,because the staff were friendly especially John,Simon is a good lad ,Sandra makes you feel really welcome,and that alone is comforting,George was home I believe for his 65 th birthday ,,,old got. But please give him my apologies,for missing his ,,,Do ,,, in the wharf pub,will be back next year in April I think,love to you all,you are really good people and we have told all our friends if you go to Malta go to the Apple Bar good ale cheap ale but good,and nice people yours,Pete Bishop

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bishop54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apple Bar also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to Apple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing