We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, clean & fab location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunseeker Holiday Complex
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed at the Sunseeker for 2 weeks during a heatwave with no air con! But we got through it...Just : )We hired a fan & slept out on the balcony (our balcony was very big). Apart from the room having no air con, can't fault the place! We all had a great time! Very friendly staff all times of the day, clean and the location was great. Although the pool wasn't huge it didn't get over crowded and we were there peak season. Julia's coffee milkshakes were lush : )

Only rated sleep quality as poor because of the heat made it very uncomfortable to sleep! I'm sure if you were to go a cooler time in the year it would be fine.

Room Tip: Ask for the room above reception...Huge balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshlady552070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

We originall phoned to book direct with the hotel on recommendation from a customer. The lady on bookings said i could book direct with the hotel and gave me a price, but to try thompsons and malta direct first as they sometimes have discounts on some rooms.
The day after booking through Malta direct much cheaper than the hotel quoted, the hotel emailed us to express they were pleased we had managed to book through one of the operators they had recommended to try first. We were already impressed with this as when we phoned we were willing to book and pay on the spot and it was only on their suggestion we tried malta direct. Have ti admit they could have taken our money and said nothing.
We arrived on Saturday night to find the hotel just up from the beach in a side street. It was about 10:30 and we arrived to a cheerful and very friendly gentleman on reception. He explained where I could safely park the car, then signed us in and showed us to our rooms. He explained that as we arrived late it was customary made up a welcome pack of essential food stuffs from the shop downstairs which they had done and left in our studio with the prices if we wanted to buy any if the products. If we didn't want anything then we just has to return them to the shop in the morn. They were reasonably priced hence we kept them to get us started. Very much appreciated.

Room was a typically basic room as are most rooms in this side of the world. A tv available but u have to pay extra for the remote to use it, but that's your choice. Just use as many days as u want and hand it back the days you don't expect to be in the hotel to watch it. Fridge with lil freezer compartment, cooker, sink etc.. All adequate. Our balcony looked directly onto the back of what looked like other apartments which were on the main street on the sea front, but to the left our view was the bay, actually worked well as it was sheltered which kept the room from being too hot but still gave us amazing view of the sea and bay area.
B
The hotel had a small air conditioned bar with an outside area as well. It has a gym, jacuzzi and sauna you can pay extra for if u wish to book them for a reasonable charge. The gym actually had working equipment which impressed me as many hotels boast a gym but on arrival half the equipment is broken.
The roof top snack bar and pool area was amazing especially as the views were amazing. Three sides looked over roof tops And on one side u could see The landscape. One side looked across toward the bay which gave it that extra atmosphere, (within view but not so close as to annoy at night.)
We had no in hotel entertainment other than DVDs in the film room but to b honest that suited us as there was enough entertainment available round about, within a stones throw.
Buggiba square is also just around the corner.
Cleaners were in midweek but I think u could book an extra visit but didn't need it. Our Room had no air conditioning but had a ceiling fan we left on all night at no extortionate charge that hotels usually have. Even at temperatures of 38 degrees it was more than effective for my family of 4 and also my mother in law who normally would die without air conditioning. She said it was more than adequate.
Julia on the Snack Bar was Very friendly and food was and what you would expect from a snack bar. Clean, freshly cooked, very well presented and not an overly complicated menu or expensive. Well done Julia (who turned out to be from Cumbria.)
On the hygiene side, on our last day a child left a present in the pool and within 5 or 10 mins max the manager and handyman were on the roof fishing, treating and cleaning all the filters. They were incredibly thorough which instilled confidence that they take cleanliness very seriously.

Over all an excellent holiday, excellent hotel and excellent staff in the reception snack bar, bar, shop etc...
We all agreed we would visit again!

Just to finish, on our last day the boss personally approached my wife to thank our family for staying with them.

Thanks sunseeker, this was our first holiday abroad in a few years and worth the wait.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

A group of four adults flew out to Bugibba for 7 days from the 14th August 2012. I had read good reviews and was aware that there was no air conditioning in the rooms.
The complex is situated in a small cul-de-sac literally minutes from the main beach and night life etc.
The building itself looked neat and tidy fom the outside and has all the usual amenities consisting of a bar, shop, pools, gym, jacuzzi etc. The roof top pool is very good, all be it on the small side. The views however are very impressive and I would recommend a strawberry milkshake from the pool bar....it gives McDonalds milkshakes a run for their money!
The apartment itself was clean and averagely sized with a large balcony to the master bedroom. The kitchen was well equipped and the shower room was pretty small but well maintained. The hotel really needs to invest in air conditioning or provide small units that can be hired if requested.
One of the things I look for in a hotel is the attitude of its staff. I have to say this hotel has the most friendliest and helpful staff I have ever come across. They are a credit to the complex.

Overall the hotel is clean, well equipped, friendly and placed in a good location.
Would I stay here again....yes
Would I recommend....yes

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bails999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Ok not the best hotel experience. Think the biggest issue here was this was not a cheap holiday so you would assume there was air-conditioning. . NOPE and to add insult to injury you had to hire a fan per day?! It was not a nice to get ready in such heat as someone else put it 'the sweat box'.

The first thing you see when you get in is information book-more like rule and charges book-not very welcoming.

The breakfast was really disappointing if you like continential, should be more than cornflakes and bread although you could request a fry-up which was nice. The staff were hit and miss some extremely friendly and helpful but ruined by the few who quite frankly seemed miserable. The location was great,literally two mins from the seafront and amonst bars and restaurants.

The hotel was clean,rooms were equipped with fridge and cooker (not that you would ever want to cook in such a hot room) and had a pool bar but the pool was very small. If you brave the hot apartment there is no entertainment unless you pay to use the TV. Also don't use your towels too quick as the charge for additional ones. Fine if your not paying too much but if you are, maybe rethink to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank N0tters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We booked 2 apartments for our large family of 8 and I was a little disappointed to find them on separate floors, one was bigger than expected and the elder children had a little extra freedom sharing the smaller one, so really I should have no complaints there. The welcome pack was good and you didn't have to buy anything you didn't want, only return it to the mini-market. The apartments were clean and had all we needed. The linen, towels and maid service were all regular. The rooftop pool was a big hit with all of us and the rooftop bar with me, perfect for a lazy day. The views from the roof over the bay were lovely and the hotel itself is only a stones throw from the beach, bars, restaurants and shops. Bugibba is perfect for familys and a good base for traveling the islands with bus station 5 mins walk from the hotel. The launderette only has 1 washing machine but I never saw anyone else use it. The mini-market has basic supplies, the bar is small but there are many nearby the hotel. The staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We arrived at the hotel late at night to find a very warm welcome, and a very substantial welcome pack. The next morning after a good sleep we had a good look around the room not to be disappointed! The one bedroom apartment we had booked was fairly basic but more than adequate and SPOTLESSLY CLEAN! After we had booked the holiday I was concerned we had made a mistake because we hadn't got A/c in the apartment but with the 4 ft fan above the bed and leaving both patio doors open in room we slept better than at home!!!
The roof top pool was big enough, and whilst we were there never found it to be over crowded! And the views over bugibba bay via the glass balustrade were fantastic. We have travelled all around the world in some excellent hotels but would have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel to anyone, and will certainly be returning next year.
Big thank you to George, Neville and all the staff for a fantastic stay! Keep up the good work!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

We arrived late at night and were greeted by at reception and showed to our rooms and all our questions answered. This for me made a big difference after having been on other holidays and having to find our own keys and rooms at silly o'clock in the morning!
The apartment, swimming pool, shop etc were all spotlessly clean and I couldn't fault them in anyway.
We had a brilliant holiday and I am by no way denying that, but there were some points that's we did feel we're not perfect.
The main one was probably the Cruise around Malta we went on although this doesnt affect the hotel. I would advise anyone to consider a different company aside from 'captain Morgan' as it was poorly organised, the boat was cramped and in actual fact really boring! The second thing was we were lucky enough to have a balcony but it was placed right above reception and the bar, so if you do want early nights or have small children this probably would cause more concern than it did for us. There was a lot of noise from new arrivials in the night and then the bin men and their lorry were a early wake up call most mornings!
Finally, one thing I do want to mention is that bugibba is a lovely coastal resort with some brilliant scenery, shops and places to eat. But it didn't appear to have much of a drinking culture so finding somewhere to go and have a drink after a meal was an issue for us and perhaps because of this there seemed to be a lot of foreign students on school trips etc who seemed to collectively hang around in large groups at various parts of the town just making a general racket!
As i said, The hotel itself is well recommended by us, it's staff are warm and friendly and brilliant with any problems. And the same for Malta, the people and culture are so welcoming, but if your after a lively holiday with a good night life then perhaps bugibba isn't the destination for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank missAmy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3,004 reviews
4.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunseeker Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunseeker Holiday Complex

Address: Trejqet il-Kulpara, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 04, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range: £41 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunseeker Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunseeker Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunseeker Holiday Complex Bugibba
Sunseeker Holiday Complex Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing