We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - OK but needs some improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunseeker Holiday Complex
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average - OK but needs some improvements”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed in a ground floor 3 bed apartment for a week from 11th August 2012.

I’ll start with the positives – the staff were really friendly and minor issues were resolved as soon as we asked. The beds were comfortable and the apartment was spacious, with a lovely big terrace. There is loads of wardrobe space too.

The location is great, set back from the main road so it’s quiet and just a couple of minutes’ walk to loads of bars, restaurants etc.

Buggiba itself is great for families, particularly those with small children. Our 4 year old loved the water park and mini fairground. The beach isn’t great though – it’s grit rather than sand, but there are nicer beaches at Mellieha (a half hour bus ride away).

The views from the roof top pool are lovely, although there was a wait for sun loungers most days and the pool isn’t big enough for inflatables/ball games etc (all of which are banned).

Which brings me on to the negatives. Upon arrival (late at night) we found that the rubbish from the previous occupants hadn’t been removed and the floor throughout the apartment was filthy. Both of these issues were rectified as soon as we reported them the next morning.

The fridge wasn’t very good – milk etc only lasted a day or so and two of the rings on our cooker didn’t work. Some of the kitchen utensils had seen better days too, and we had a few replaced when we asked. The kitchen was a bit of a disappointment for us, as we did need to cook ourselves quite a bit (the 4 year old has a nut allergy).

The towels were changed once during the week and I don’t think the sheets were changed at all – I’ve a feeling they just made the beds with the existing sheets the one time they came in! We took our own rubbish out too – there is a shed thing just outside, so this wasn’t a problem.

There was no real seating area in the apartment – just a sofa bed in the same room as the kitchen. This didn’t really bother us too much though as we had the terrace outside. It might be more of an issue out of season though when it’s cooler.

The bathroom was big (with 2 showers next to eachother!) but was tired and dated.

The biggest problem (which everyone has commented on) was the heat. There is no air con, just ceiling fans which are totally rubbish and it was impossible to sleep. One of our Maltese relations demanded a fan, which they provided free of charge, but this didn’t really help much. I’d read the comments before I travelled, but wasn’t prepared for just how hot it actually was in the apartments.

Overall, these apartments OK, but could really do with some investment – definitely air con (or buy in some decent units for hire), and some modernisation – our apartment particularly needed some money spent on the kitchen and bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KJCLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    185
    49
    20
    9
See reviews for
160
220
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The Sunseeker Holiday Complex was a brilliant place to stay...if there isn't a heatwave. We stayed here in August and found it difficult to cope without air conditioning. If there had been air conditioning this place would have been perfect. There was a ceiling fan in the bedroom and we also hired a fan (available from reception) for the week, but this still wasn't enough to combat the heat.

The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The whole place is spotlessly clean and the amenities are great. There is a shop, bar, breakfast room, gym,launderette, indoor pool and outdoor pool.

The pool on the roof is probably the highlight of this place. It was well managed with a snack bar, free sun-loungers and parasols to use. It never felt too busy and we were generally able to find two sun-loungers to use at whatever time of day we wanted them.

The location is great. It is within a very short walk of Bugibba's main square and bus station. There were a wide range of restaurants and bars within a short walk, but the apartments are tucked away in a little road off of the seafront which means that the apartments are quiet.

We would definitely recommend this place to stay - the ONLY negative aspect was the lack of air conditioning.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back of the complex as it is quieter and most have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyBoltinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed at the Sunseeker for 2 weeks during a heatwave with no air con! But we got through it...Just : )We hired a fan & slept out on the balcony (our balcony was very big). Apart from the room having no air con, can't fault the place! We all had a great time! Very friendly staff all times of the day, clean and the location was great. Although the pool wasn't huge it didn't get over crowded and we were there peak season. Julia's coffee milkshakes were lush : )

Only rated sleep quality as poor because of the heat made it very uncomfortable to sleep! I'm sure if you were to go a cooler time in the year it would be fine.

Room Tip: Ask for the room above reception...Huge balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshlady552070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We originall phoned to book direct with the hotel on recommendation from a customer. The lady on bookings said i could book direct with the hotel and gave me a price, but to try thompsons and malta direct first as they sometimes have discounts on some rooms.
The day after booking through Malta direct much cheaper than the hotel quoted, the hotel emailed us to express they were pleased we had managed to book through one of the operators they had recommended to try first. We were already impressed with this as when we phoned we were willing to book and pay on the spot and it was only on their suggestion we tried malta direct. Have ti admit they could have taken our money and said nothing.
We arrived on Saturday night to find the hotel just up from the beach in a side street. It was about 10:30 and we arrived to a cheerful and very friendly gentleman on reception. He explained where I could safely park the car, then signed us in and showed us to our rooms. He explained that as we arrived late it was customary made up a welcome pack of essential food stuffs from the shop downstairs which they had done and left in our studio with the prices if we wanted to buy any if the products. If we didn't want anything then we just has to return them to the shop in the morn. They were reasonably priced hence we kept them to get us started. Very much appreciated.

Room was a typically basic room as are most rooms in this side of the world. A tv available but u have to pay extra for the remote to use it, but that's your choice. Just use as many days as u want and hand it back the days you don't expect to be in the hotel to watch it. Fridge with lil freezer compartment, cooker, sink etc.. All adequate. Our balcony looked directly onto the back of what looked like other apartments which were on the main street on the sea front, but to the left our view was the bay, actually worked well as it was sheltered which kept the room from being too hot but still gave us amazing view of the sea and bay area.
B
The hotel had a small air conditioned bar with an outside area as well. It has a gym, jacuzzi and sauna you can pay extra for if u wish to book them for a reasonable charge. The gym actually had working equipment which impressed me as many hotels boast a gym but on arrival half the equipment is broken.
The roof top snack bar and pool area was amazing especially as the views were amazing. Three sides looked over roof tops And on one side u could see The landscape. One side looked across toward the bay which gave it that extra atmosphere, (within view but not so close as to annoy at night.)
We had no in hotel entertainment other than DVDs in the film room but to b honest that suited us as there was enough entertainment available round about, within a stones throw.
Buggiba square is also just around the corner.
Cleaners were in midweek but I think u could book an extra visit but didn't need it. Our Room had no air conditioning but had a ceiling fan we left on all night at no extortionate charge that hotels usually have. Even at temperatures of 38 degrees it was more than effective for my family of 4 and also my mother in law who normally would die without air conditioning. She said it was more than adequate.
Julia on the Snack Bar was Very friendly and food was and what you would expect from a snack bar. Clean, freshly cooked, very well presented and not an overly complicated menu or expensive. Well done Julia (who turned out to be from Cumbria.)
On the hygiene side, on our last day a child left a present in the pool and within 5 or 10 mins max the manager and handyman were on the roof fishing, treating and cleaning all the filters. They were incredibly thorough which instilled confidence that they take cleanliness very seriously.

Over all an excellent holiday, excellent hotel and excellent staff in the reception snack bar, bar, shop etc...
We all agreed we would visit again!

Just to finish, on our last day the boss personally approached my wife to thank our family for staying with them.

Thanks sunseeker, this was our first holiday abroad in a few years and worth the wait.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

A group of four adults flew out to Bugibba for 7 days from the 14th August 2012. I had read good reviews and was aware that there was no air conditioning in the rooms.
The complex is situated in a small cul-de-sac literally minutes from the main beach and night life etc.
The building itself looked neat and tidy fom the outside and has all the usual amenities consisting of a bar, shop, pools, gym, jacuzzi etc. The roof top pool is very good, all be it on the small side. The views however are very impressive and I would recommend a strawberry milkshake from the pool bar....it gives McDonalds milkshakes a run for their money!
The apartment itself was clean and averagely sized with a large balcony to the master bedroom. The kitchen was well equipped and the shower room was pretty small but well maintained. The hotel really needs to invest in air conditioning or provide small units that can be hired if requested.
One of the things I look for in a hotel is the attitude of its staff. I have to say this hotel has the most friendliest and helpful staff I have ever come across. They are a credit to the complex.

Overall the hotel is clean, well equipped, friendly and placed in a good location.
Would I stay here again....yes
Would I recommend....yes

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bails999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Ok not the best hotel experience. Think the biggest issue here was this was not a cheap holiday so you would assume there was air-conditioning. . NOPE and to add insult to injury you had to hire a fan per day?! It was not a nice to get ready in such heat as someone else put it 'the sweat box'.

The first thing you see when you get in is information book-more like rule and charges book-not very welcoming.

The breakfast was really disappointing if you like continential, should be more than cornflakes and bread although you could request a fry-up which was nice. The staff were hit and miss some extremely friendly and helpful but ruined by the few who quite frankly seemed miserable. The location was great,literally two mins from the seafront and amonst bars and restaurants.

The hotel was clean,rooms were equipped with fridge and cooker (not that you would ever want to cook in such a hot room) and had a pool bar but the pool was very small. If you brave the hot apartment there is no entertainment unless you pay to use the TV. Also don't use your towels too quick as the charge for additional ones. Fine if your not paying too much but if you are, maybe rethink to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank N0tters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We booked 2 apartments for our large family of 8 and I was a little disappointed to find them on separate floors, one was bigger than expected and the elder children had a little extra freedom sharing the smaller one, so really I should have no complaints there. The welcome pack was good and you didn't have to buy anything you didn't want, only return it to the mini-market. The apartments were clean and had all we needed. The linen, towels and maid service were all regular. The rooftop pool was a big hit with all of us and the rooftop bar with me, perfect for a lazy day. The views from the roof over the bay were lovely and the hotel itself is only a stones throw from the beach, bars, restaurants and shops. Bugibba is perfect for familys and a good base for traveling the islands with bus station 5 mins walk from the hotel. The launderette only has 1 washing machine but I never saw anyone else use it. The mini-market has basic supplies, the bar is small but there are many nearby the hotel. The staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.1 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 15 in Qawra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunseeker Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunseeker Holiday Complex

Property: Sunseeker Holiday Complex
Address: Trejqet il-Kulpara, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 04, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunseeker Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunseeker Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunseeker Holiday Complex Bugibba
Sunseeker Holiday Complex Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing