We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, adequate accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunseeker Holiday Complex
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Clean, adequate accommodation”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a cheap and cheerful place, spotlessly clean with friendly staff. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you could possibly need, however some of the saucepans had seen better days and needed replacing. Bedding was changed weekly with a towel change midweek.

Unfortunately for us as non smokers, previous guests had smoked in the kitchen so every time we returned to the room we were aware of the smell of cigarettes, it wasn't so bad that we wanted to move but there all the same. There was a notice in the bedroom asking guests not to smoke in bed but iwe got the feeling that smoking was allowed as there were two ashtrays provided.

The sliding window of the kitchen had a big gap so that when the wind was in the wrong direction it was quite cold and the curtains moved because of the breeze. The beds were quite comfortable but mattresses were old and the springs creaked every time we moved.

All in all for the money we paid it wasn't bad. I would have liked to score it more highly but for the lack of replacement of worn furnishings and fittings.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    188
    49
    20
    9
See reviews for
163
223
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

great price, good basic clean hotel. staff friendly .....bedroom shower good size.lounge /kitchen cosy size for 2 people.we didn't rent tv control 2-50 euro a day.people leaving said its English news and very old films.we took small radio and kindles.tv in bar, we didn't use bar,so don't know prices.
towels beds change twice a week.take your own towels for shower everday.plenty of hot water. bedroom not a lot of drawers for clothes,small wardrobe take coat hangers. kitchen is ok. fridge, gas cooker,microwave,toaster, electric kettle. making a meal is no problem..we stayed 2 weeks.....trollees/carrforr super market is close by, and they have extened it to 2 floors.you can buy all you need there. mini market in sunseekers is great for water, drinks, milk. save carrying it.there are shops with fresh bread and cakes,and little kiosks with great pizza slices and pies.good for lunch.
fridge is very noisy at night, so close bedroom door,or it could wake you up.
roof good for sunbathing.
good central position for shops, bars,bus station.
as it is getting warmer buy bug killer or spray
.we have stayed in a few self catering in malta. and this is good for price paid

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank harry_maggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a difficult place to review. As most reviewers have suggested. The hotel is basic, clean and for the price it is difficult to find reason to not recommend it. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The store on-site is limited but useful. The selection of products in the room on arrival was a nice touch due to our late arrival.

However, it was not all positives for us. Like another reviewer, we also found the room quite dark. The balcony was also gloomy, shaded and had no view whatsoever. As a result we spent no time at all sitting out on it. There was also a slight musty smell noticeable on a few occasions, closer inspection suggested that this came from what appeared to be a small damp patch in the wall between the fridge and shower. On the whole the room was really clean but could really do with more than one maid visit during a weeks holiday. A final slight niggle was that we found the indoor pool quite cold, however I am not sure if the hotel claim that the indoor pool is heated so this maybe a mute point.

Overall the positives and negatives we experienced balanced each other out. We were neither impressed or disappointed with our stay, we felt we ultimately got what we paid for and as such were not disappointed due to the rated being so low.

I would ideally like to score the Sunseeker 2.5 but since I can't do this on the TripAdvisor system, I have opted for 3 as I think scoring a 2 would be overly critical.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank llamatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

5 nights stay here. Easily the best place I have stayed (visited Malta 5 times before). Very friendly and accommodating staff. Clean and spacious studio, within 2 mins walk to the seafront, shops and bus terminal. The hotel also has a handy Mini market where you can get all your goods at reasonable prices. Satellite TVs (2) showing a range of films and sports in the chillout bar area...

Generally good value for money. Reason a top rating is not given:

Remote control in room for TV is hired at 2.50 euros/night
No free internet / wifi - 2 euros/hour
Gym is not free either.

Would be visiting Sunseeker again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tonye V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 day holiday in Malta. Our stay at Sunseeker was all that we wanted. Rooms were clean and with all facilities you might need. We would recommend this as a good base to explore the island. The staff were very helpful and made us very welcome. Thank you for helping to make our holiday so memorable.

Room Tip: Ask and the staff will always try to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

staff were brilliant, so friendly. central location. our room had a balcony which wasn't very nick , complete concrete and the kitchen area is very dark. if they used softer lighting on balcony and in the kitchen area would make so much difference. fan on ceiling in bedroom does make a noise but you can hire fans from reception. I heard that they are having air con this year. pool on roof is lovely with a great snack bar, great views as well. cant fault it really apart from the horrible lighting in the room and balcony ans as I said if they change the bulbs would make so much difference. also indoor pool which was lovely and made a change from roof pool. overall I would def stop here again. oh and a great little supermarket in basement. central location is great in the middle of bugibba itself. lovely place

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank podeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Excellent customer service, all the staff at reception were incredibly helpful no matter what time of day or night. When you arrive there is already basic groceries in your room and you can just return the ones that you don't want/need, an excellent idea! Brilliant location for exploring Malta :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dreya57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.1 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.5 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 15 in Qawra
918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunseeker Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunseeker Holiday Complex

Property: Sunseeker Holiday Complex
Address: Trejqet il-Kulpara, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 04, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunseeker Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunseeker Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunseeker Holiday Complex Bugibba
Sunseeker Holiday Complex Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing