We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunseeker Holiday Complex

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sunseeker Holiday Complex
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a studio apartment which had everything you needed for two people. The beds were adequate with decent pillows! (Unusual in Malta) The whole complex was clean and well cared for. Poole areas were well looked after and the indoor pool was amazing.
Downside was a very small shower room which did let the apartment down. However, we both managed to use it albeit that it was 'cozy'. Staff were lovely and we had a great stay.
Location is excellent being only a short distance from the square and to the main bus station. Excellent price for an excellent place to stay. Will certainly go back, what better recommendation is there? We did have air con and a fan in the studio, so perhaps some apartments do and others don't.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1021, view from the balcony was great, but shower room tiny. Need to be first floor or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    181
    49
    20
    9
See reviews for
156
211
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have stayed at the Sunseeker twice now. Most recently in August 2013. They are good value for money and clean and tidy. We chose them because they are reasonably priced. There is no air con in the rooms, despite some companies advertising this. The only air con is in the small bar. The first time we stayed we had a one-bedroomed apartment overlooking the front of the building, which was nice, and it was quite spacious. On our last visit we again booked a one-bedroomed apartment, but we were a little disappointed to be stuck down in one corner and only had a view of the building next door. The apartment was also a lot smaller than the one we had stayed in previously. I guess it's pot luck what you get allocated. We have stayed in this area various times so know it well. We were just after a base, and Sunseeker is fine for that. The pool on the rooftop is small, but sufficient, even in August. There is a pool snack bar selling drinks, snacks and ice creams. They don't like you to bring your own drinks up to the pool area, and expect you to buy theirs. Fair enough, but they don't open the snack bar until later in the morning, so we had to have our own water with us and just kept it hidden. Staff are friendly. We used the gym on both trips. On our last trip it had gone downhill a lot, with a few pieces of equipment not working. There is no air-con in the gym either, so be prepared to sweat. A lot. The gym is next door to the indoor pool though, so you can jump straight in there afterwards.
The apartment itself was a little under equipped. For instance, we had only 3 knives but it is a one bedroomed apartment for 4 people. I understand things go missing or get broken, but there just needs to be a little more attention to detail with the staff checking this sort of thing regularly, If you are looking for a cheap base to explore Malta, and go off season when it's not so hot, the the Sunseeker is good value. It's very central and not far from bus stops, restaurants and supermarkets. Havin said that, we probably wouldn't stay there again, but mainly due to the fact that we have out-stayed Bugibba and would probably now try another resort. If you hire a car you may have trouble finding a space to park near the Sunseeker. You may need to park a few streets away. Bugibba itself has got busier and busier as the years have gone by and gets very busy in high season. Not the place to stay if you like it quiet. There are a lot of crowds around in the evenings.
Overall I would say if you want something cheap and cheerful and clean then Sunseeker is fine. But for something more up market I would suggest Sliema or Valletta.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our 4th stay at Sunseeker and we have always been satisfied. This isn't a 5 star hotel, but it doesn't pretend to be one either. It does however provide excellent 3 star self-catering accommodation. It is immaculately clean, has friendly and helpful staff, great range of on-site facilities including 2 swimming pools, mini mart (that isn't a huge rip-off!), gym and a games room. The breakfasts are cheap and filling and if you don't feel like cooking dinner then the hotel is within walking distance (no more than 5 minutes) to a wide range of restaurants. I would definitely recommend Sunseeker if this is the kind of holiday you are looking for. Great for families travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid noise from the garbage collection every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globalozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Good value for money, the apartment was the penthouse and right next to the roof top pool, spacious, comfortable, staff incredibly friendly and helpful. The only slight negative is that the showers were difficult to operate in that the temperature fluctuated and the pressure was minimal. However this did not affect the holiday in the slightest, it was still perfectly possible to have a full shower and it was only for a week. There was a restaurant which we didn't use, which offered breakfast full or continental in the mornings, there was no need to book, you could just show up. Also a luggage room to store your cases after checking out.
The room was cleaned and the linen and towels were changed once while we were there (a week) The facilities were excellent, two bathrooms, fridge, freezer, oven, microwave, plates and cutlery. Three balconies! Brilliant location, very short walk to the beach, short walk into town (Bugibba), local shops and restaurants and take away's, bus links. The hotel itself had a roof top pool and bar, and an indoor pool, gym, mini market, which was reasonably priced, bar and showed DVDs on an evening downstairs. One day we missed the shop opening times and the staff member on the front desk opened it just for us! 24 hour reception service. Lovely, lovely place to stay, I would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: The penthouse was amazing, we were very lucky to get it. Had a double bed and two singles so good fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1984Kim1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was a very cheap late deal and for what we paid for the flights and accommodation we couldn't of gone camping in the uk, so although everything was a bit basic it was good for the price. The staff at sunseekers were very helpful and Bugibba itself is very nice. The bus service is amazing and at only €6.50 for a weekly unlimited travel bus ticket , fantastic value,went somewhere different every day , even the bus drivers were friendly :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a cheap and cheerful place, spotlessly clean with friendly staff. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you could possibly need, however some of the saucepans had seen better days and needed replacing. Bedding was changed weekly with a towel change midweek.

Unfortunately for us as non smokers, previous guests had smoked in the kitchen so every time we returned to the room we were aware of the smell of cigarettes, it wasn't so bad that we wanted to move but there all the same. There was a notice in the bedroom asking guests not to smoke in bed but iwe got the feeling that smoking was allowed as there were two ashtrays provided.

The sliding window of the kitchen had a big gap so that when the wind was in the wrong direction it was quite cold and the curtains moved because of the breeze. The beds were quite comfortable but mattresses were old and the springs creaked every time we moved.

All in all for the money we paid it wasn't bad. I would have liked to score it more highly but for the lack of replacement of worn furnishings and fittings.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

great price, good basic clean hotel. staff friendly .....bedroom shower good size.lounge /kitchen cosy size for 2 people.we didn't rent tv control 2-50 euro a day.people leaving said its English news and very old films.we took small radio and kindles.tv in bar, we didn't use bar,so don't know prices.
towels beds change twice a week.take your own towels for shower everday.plenty of hot water. bedroom not a lot of drawers for clothes,small wardrobe take coat hangers. kitchen is ok. fridge, gas cooker,microwave,toaster, electric kettle. making a meal is no problem..we stayed 2 weeks.....trollees/carrforr super market is close by, and they have extened it to 2 floors.you can buy all you need there. mini market in sunseekers is great for water, drinks, milk. save carrying it.there are shops with fresh bread and cakes,and little kiosks with great pizza slices and pies.good for lunch.
fridge is very noisy at night, so close bedroom door,or it could wake you up.
roof good for sunbathing.
good central position for shops, bars,bus station.
as it is getting warmer buy bug killer or spray
.we have stayed in a few self catering in malta. and this is good for price paid

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank harry_maggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.4 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 16 in Qawra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
3.0 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunseeker Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunseeker Holiday Complex

Property: Sunseeker Holiday Complex
Address: Trejqet il-Kulpara, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 04, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunseeker Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunseeker Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunseeker Holiday Complex Bugibba
Sunseeker Holiday Complex Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing