We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Sorpresa

La Sorpresa
Ranked #6 of 152 Restaurants in Bugibba
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
berkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

ate here on sunday night , place was very busy had to go back after 30 minute's the manager had reserved us a table outside food was very good large portions good price, if i go to malta again would eat here for sure

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mariakeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    98
    33
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food priced fairly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Visited this restaurant twice this year. On both occasions we had no problems the staff are as always very friendly and the service along with the food was very good. The portions are very generous and as you are served bread and nibbles at the start you may wish to skip the starters. The menu offers a good fixed price option and A la Carte including house specials which are well worth trying ie the Lamb Fillet in pastry. Not only is the food fairly priced but also the wine is reasonable a local bottle is 8 Euros . Family run restaurant lots of locals eat here as well as holiday makers. Would recommend you give it a try

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

The set menu at this place is fantastic!! it's only 13.50 euros for 3 courses. The portions are HUGE and the atmosphere is lovely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnydinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Went here based on the fantastic reviews on trip advisor but we were very disappointed. Yes the service and atmosphere is good but the food is a real let down. Huge portions but luke warm, greasy and not well presented. What a shame. Quite reasonable prices and may suit some but not us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A very happy belly :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I would say this has got to be one of the best restaurants in Malta. My partner and I adore this place! We found it whilst on holiday 3 years ago and thought the food was fantastic. We recently returned to Bugibba in September 13 and was dying to go back to see if it was just as good. Well it was good, if not better! Service is always with a smile and the food, well I don't know how they can offer such good quality (and quantity) of food at such cheap price. My partner and I had their set menu for €13.50. I had home made sweet potato soup and my partner had a huuuge prawn cocktail. On top of our ordered starter, every table gets another "free" starter of Maltese bread, both fresh and garlic bread, plus some crackers with sundried tomatoes and this Maltese bean dip (Bigilla) which looks odd but tastes lovely. For our main we both had 2 large pork lions stuffed with Maltese Sausage in middle with Rosemary roast potatoes and a selection of fresh veg (courgette, carrots, broccoli and cauliflower). For desert we were not only offered the obligatory vanilla ice cream, but crème caramel, banoffee pie, fresh fruit salad or tiramisu. With 1 and half bottles of wine the total cost minus tip was €40 which I think was so very cheap for what we had.

We visited La Sorpresa again during our holidays before brining our whole party back for the last night. 6 of us ordered starters and main and some coffees were had after along with 4 bottles of wine and a bottle of water. The total cost of this meal minus tip was €153 (approx. £132) there is no way you would pay this price in England for such a superb meal.

This is a family business and whilst the service may be a little slow at times due to the restaurant being so busy, this does not deter you from enjoying yourself and apologies are always made for any delay, although it is really not needed and the quality of what you receive speaks for itself. Thank you for giving a full but a very happy belly on numerous occasions.

I will continue to visit Malta over the coming years, and will always come back to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Sorpresa also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to La Sorpresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing