We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't entertain this place!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The San Anton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't entertain this place!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Ok, where do I start? As an experienced traveller of 30 years doing all inclusives, I have to say this is by far the worst hotel I have come across! The food was disgusting and never hot- a few upset stomachs! The staff were all ignorant- apart from the Hungarian barman. The actual hotel was generally unclean- even though there seemed to be a small army of cleaners! Apart from the last night, the entertainment was terrible- no reflection on the poor guy trying to run it- if we had not made our own daily entertainment, we would have died of boredom!! Be warned , there is a sign in the hotel that says a taxi is 18 euros to the airport- in fact it is 25 euros! I feel sorry for the guests w have left behind, as they are mainly there for another 2-3 weks----- AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 890weeman1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
It is with great regret that your stay did not meet your expectations.

I can confirm that we do not have any reports of upset stomachs and that we have many satisfactory guests here until March/April.

It is with further regret you did not take the opportunity to speak with me personally whilst here.

Thank you for your comments they assist us to continue to improve our resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    339
    410
    262
    529
See reviews for
452
633
107
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Spent a week at San Anton all inclusive with my husband and brother from 6th November. It was a really good price for all inclusive so didn't expect it to be the Ritz. On arrival the receptionist seemed as though she could hardly be bothered to book us in and merely pointed in a vague manner to where the lift was. We had arrived late evening so missed dinner but she did not inform us that snacks were available, where the dining room or bar were or any information come to that. We were pleasantly surprised with our large room overlooking the pool which despite being all inclusive had a pleasant kitchen area. The room was clean and we had a lovely large balcony. The cleaners changed the towels regularly and the bedding during our stay but that was about all they did. It appears that brushing or mopping the floor was beyond them.

The bar staff were pleasant and friendly but very slow favouring obviously regular visitors to the hotel for example on our last night there were two men sitting at the bar wearing wrist bands and getting drinks on all inclusive tarif but drinking from glasses not the plastic ones the rest of us were using. Just before 11pm a long queue had developed at the bar and these favoured few ignored the queue but held out their glasses and were served immediately (must be big tippers). The beer was good as was the Irish Creme but the rest of the shorts were horrid. I know it said local brands but the Brandy just had a large B on the bottle V for vodka etc.

The entertainment was basic but the lad responsible worked hard and really seemed to want everyone to have a good time .

The breakfast was excellent and we didn't really bother with lunch as usually out but the evening meal varied from OK to awful and was often cold. Chicken or turkey was usually offered with baked fish and a pasts option and pizza. The salad bar seemed to be made up of left overs with some mayonaisse added but we usually managed to make a meal up although it became quite boring . Some of the restaurant staff were quite slow to clear tables while others were quick and efficient. We hoped to keep the room on as we had a late flight and asked the day before as stated in the written information but the receptionists that we spoke to on a number of occasions said that we should ask the morning of departure which we thought was a bit late. On the morning I was lucky enough to speak with a gentleman called Adrian who was friendly and efficient and organised everything for us despite stating that it should have been done the previous day.

All in all although I have found a lot of faults in this review none were too serious exept for maybe the standard of the evening meal which really does need improvement it was a good holiday. Most staff were friendly and the outside area and reception kept clean and pleasant . As manay people have said for the price it was adequate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ANITAAWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback which help us to continue to improve our resorts.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
219 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We booked this as my birthday treat for £53 each all inclusive for 3 nights and had a brilliant time. Staff are friendly and work very hard even when under pressure from people who like to complain for the sport of it. The food was reasonable and there was always something you could eat and judging by the size of some people's plates you would think it was there last meal. if you want a fried egg for breakfast then ask and if you want chips for dinner ask simples! With regards to the pub in the hotel Molly Malone's if you want a glass for your drink then ask otherwise you will be given a plastic one. The rooms are clean and only one pillow each and there is a wall safe and tv which you need to pay E5 as a deposit but you can work it without a remote. No kettle but again you can hire it. There is a nightly entertainment programme with Karoake and bingo and quiz on some nights.Swimming pool is clean but cold and there is ample sunloungers and tables and chairs. There is also a sun deck for adults only which gets very hot as there is little wind up there. All inclusive drinks starts at 1000 and finishes at 2300 sharp then you pay and it is not cheap E9.50 for a whisky and brandy with mixer. We enjoyed the hotel so much and the banter with other holiday makers that we have booked another weekend on St Valentine's in February 2014 but instead of booking with "on the beach" we have booked with "Alpha rooms" for £46 each for 3 nights all inclusive, simples!

Room Tip: Room 4602 is a corner room with a very large L shaped balcony and it is quiet on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheikmilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback.

We Continue to aim to provide low cost rates and hope to see you again in the future in one of our resorts.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuchars, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Arrived in November for Remembrance celebrations. We paid £720 for 7 days for 2. This was for flights and all inclusive at hotel. Hotel room very basic - Hire safe - hire tv remote - hire iron and iron board. No tea or coffee making facilities in room but yes, you guessed it you could hire kettle. No free wifi, yes you could hire it.. The bed had only 1 pillow per person but no doubt you could hire another one. The breakfast was typical. If you wanted fried eggs you had to ask and again don't know why they just did not put them out as lots of people asked for them. Lunch was poor and we would not go out of our way to take it. Evening meals were average unless you liked pizza, but you had to ask specially for chips !. Nothing special and even went out elsewhere a few nights to eat dinner. Nice Chinese across the road from hotel and nice Italian a short walk away. The pool side was always clean and tidy and had plenty loungers and chairs and tables to sit at. We booked well in advance as we were part of a larger party and it was expensive for what it was. The towels were changed every couple of days but our bedding was never changed in the 7 days. Staff were friendly. Entertainment was really non existent but the young man did try his best. We would not return as it was too far away from main centres but we would not put others off. Re any fitness centre - did not see it and were never told about it, Information from reception poor..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your personal comments which help us to continue to improve our resorts.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

LOCATION:
Situated 15 minutes walk to Bugibba sea front, main square and bus station. Vicinty area has many pubs/bars, restaurants and a handful of supermarket. Especially along the nearby Mosta street (Triq Mosta).

RECEPTION AREA
Very clean, and the check-in was pretty quick. There are a lot of sofas and the hotel bar is just around the corner. There are a couple of PC for internet use.

STAFF
Most are of excellent service with a smile. Except two shift receptionists who can be grumpy and unhelpful if you complaint. Nevertheless, you would eventually be treated politely if you explain the situation properly

ROOMS
Spacious, clean and all have balconies (No sea view though). The best view you can get is overlooking the pool. All rooms have TV and a safe (for hire). Chambermaids come every other day to clean the room, change the bedding and supply fresh clean towels.
Ground floor is allocated self-catering studios.

FOOD/ RESTAURANT
Breakfast is buffet style and plentiful. Bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages, baked beans and tomatoes. Fried eggs are also available if you ask the chef. Alternatively there is the usual variety of cereal, cold meat and salad & fruit breakfast. Unlimited amount of tea, coffee and orange juice.

SWIMMING POOL
A small size. This time of the year there was plenty of empty sun loungers. But expected to be crowded in summer months.

ENTERTAINMNET
Karokoes / quiz shows most nights in the hotel bar. But most guests do venture out for better greater entertainment in town

Room Tip: For poolside view chose a room with odd-number
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a large room overlooking the small play area/road at the rear of the Annexe block.The room was clean and had two king size beds.Clean if dated bathroom and a wall fixed tv.It was better than some 4star rooms we have stayed in.Ground floor which didnt bother us but noticed two lifts servicing the upper floors.The pool area was clean and big enough for the small ammount of swimmers and bathers.Guess its manic in the summer but we always got a bed.The resteraunt was again never full apart from when it opens till half hour after.Fresh food comes out then so no need to rush for early siting.Breakfast was english and cont.Better bacon than spain and nice fresh bread.Lunch Time was salads and a meat or fish.Evening meal had fresh cut carvery pork/gammon two nights with choice of meats and fish other nights.Veg consisted of potatoes,green beans and peas most nights.No chips which didnt bother us.Small selection of cakes and mouse,with fruit to help yourself.Drinks not too strong,Lager was ok,cocktails good my wife said.Very nice red and rose wine.Coffee was ok.Bingo,karaoke,quiz nights.All in all a good hotel,food and drink,rooms and entertainment including pool.Would def go again.Read about Buggiba before you go as we did and you know the location is rocky coves and not packed with shops.If we had paid £500 for this hol I would have said not bad.We paid £327 for 2 all inc!!Fantastic vaue.Made some good friends and watched the odd drunk go over the top to the embarrasment of their kids!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thankyou for your personal comments and feedback of your stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in one of our resorts in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Just got back from six nights
Paid 496.00 for six nights including flights from bristol including resort transfers for me and my wife. The hotel element was around 240.00
I am 42 . She is 44
Three star is a fair assessment of this hotel(albeit it is tired in places)
Breakfast was ok as long as you like a cooked english(not much in the way of continental alternative)
Lunch was so so
Dinner was passible
Usually two or three meats available
Always a fish alternative
Always a pasta alternative
Always pizza alternative
Food was generally edible without blowing you away.
Food was generally warm not piping hot.
Would not like to have been eating it for more than six nights so stuck with it.
Drinks were fine
Pool area not bad at all
Pool absolutely freezing ( the sea much warmer)
Entertainment pretty much non existent
Hotel bar resembles a 1970s pub lounge( complete with dart board)
Location of hotel was ok as long as you don't mind walking up fairly steep hills!
The bedrooms come in different sizes
We we're given a room consisting of a lounge diner/ kitchen including two single beds,big flat screened tv,table and chairs, fridge, microwave
Through to another bedroom with two more single beds
And a large bathroom
The room was clean ( if a little dated)
The cleaners didn't come once in six days.
All in all I guess you get what you pay for
Three star is about right
I have stayed in other hotels pertaining to be 4/5 star and found the same things
( but paid a lot more money)
People on here who right this place off are being overly unkind given the reviews on here they should know what they are getting.
Would I go back?
Yea probably as long as the price is right.
I have tried to be constructive without be all misty eyed
So hopefully you can read between the lines and see a balanced review

Finally me and julie would like to say we met some gr8 people whilst there
You know who you are!!!

Thanks 4 A gr8 break!!!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Charliecreamslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thankyou for your personal comments and feedback.

We continue to aim to provide low cost and value for money holidays and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you in the future in one of our resorts.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 16 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Anton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Anton Hotel

Property: The San Anton Hotel
Address: Triq Ir-Ramel San Pawel Il-Bahar | San Pawel Il-Bahar, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 3033, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The San Anton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location of the Blue Sea San Anton, in the quiet seaside town of Bugibba and just minutes from the beach ensures you will enjoy your stay. The quality of the hotel and its amenities will allow you to relax and discover all of the attractions that Malta has to offer as one of the most beautiful islands in the Mediterranean. The Blue Sea San Anton Bugibba is located in the municipality of Saint Paul's Bay. Visitors will love this little coastal town with its wonderful beaches and streets full with restaurants, shops and bars. The capital, Valletta, is just 15 miles away. The rooms at the Blue Sea San Anton are comfortable and well equipped to make your holiday as relaxing as possible. They are spacious and each one has a private bathroom, TV, safe-deposit box and telephone. Most rooms have a balcony. To make your stay a great one the hotel has a restaurant, outdoor pool, sun terrace and gardens in which to relax and wind away the hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The San Anton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Anton Hotel Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing