We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The San Anton Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice enough value for money”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

After getting moved from our first hotel blue sea st George this hotel was a million miles better we came on our honeymoon so the first hotel was the worst possible start we could of had, we arrived at lunch time the reception was clean and really nice and air conditioned the room we came from was really bad so we didn't know what to expect but we entered room to find a bottle of champagne on ice and some swan towels was a really nice touch and the view of the pool was nice and the whole experience was nice and the guests we're mainly British so was nice to speak to other couples and families would recommend the hotel as is in a nice area as well

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback.

I am glad that once you advised us in St Julian's of your dissatisfaction we were able to assist you and rectify your stay in Malta and Blue Sea San Anton and hope to see you again in one of our resorts.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    344
    416
    272
    530
See reviews for
459
641
111
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We ignored the review and boy that was a mistake!! We have always gone all inclusive, however this was worse then a room only holiday. Many problems with burnt or undercooked food, dirty sheets, dirty floors, fire in dining area, no drinks, ants in the room (not just one or two), lifts not working to third floor. Fans not fully functional and so had to pay for desk fans (this was the norm - in all rooms). It felt like the hotel was just money grabbing as at each opportunity we had to pay for things. Rooms were smelly and when complained we were given a can of spray, other guests did not even get that. Two hour wait in reception to check in as there was only one member of staff. The attitude and unwillingness of manager to rectify any of the problems was the main concern and when we complained were were told to get out of his office. we understand the problems occur in all establishments however there should be dialogue between the manager and guest to rectify this, however the management were unreasonable and not willing to listen. In the end after three days we checked out at our own expense as it was unbearable to continue with the holiday, the manager refused to confirm we had checked out early this is how difficult he was.

Room Tip: This was the worst holiday we have ever had. We understand that problems happen in such a large est...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
It is with great regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

The Photographs you portray are not that of just San Anton therefore i cannot comment on them.

Am sure you can appreciate as explained to all guests we cannot provide for each individual tastes although we do provide meals separate for vegetarians , children and other medical requirements.

The hotel management are always available to listen to any guests dissatisfaction's within resort.

Unfortunately when guests become violent or illegal actions are taken place for date protection reasons the hotel management has every right to contact the police authority's to act on this matter.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bugibba hotels

Wem, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked this holiday last min without reading the reviews as a cheap and cheerful getaway. We then read the reviews and wondered what we had let ourselves in for. We arrived at 3.30pm on Wednesday afternoon to find that our room wasnt ready and would be an hour before it was we were given our all inclusive wristband and decided to go and see if we could get a sunbed by the pool, which we did we left our cases and found the toilet to get changed in. The toilet in the reception area wasnt the cleanest I have come across.We then spent the next 2 hours having a chill by the pool and a cool off in the poolside jacuzzi which was cleaned every night and was a lovely place to relax and have a chat with other guests. The pool area was kept clean or as much as they could with the children just throwing their plastic cups all over the place instead of putting them in the bins which were provided. We then went to get checked in and were told that we were staying in the sister hotel over the road we walked over and the receptionist checked us in and asked us for the 50 euro deposit which we new about only because we had read it on the reviews. ( I think the travel companies need to tell travellers about this as it is a big chunk of your holiday money and banks are quite a way from the hotel)
The receptionist gave us our key and we asked her to point us in the direction of the room her reply was to point in the general direction and move off to deal with someone else, this we found was the general level of customer service from a lot of the younger staff all over Malta. We eventually found our room and were pleasantly surprised at the size of it we checked the bathroom out and yes it needed updating but it was clean no cracked tiles and a good shower with hot water( not that we needed it with 37 degrees we just wanted cold showers) The room didnt have air-con but did have a ceiling fan and also desk fans could be hired for 2 euros a day from reception. We checked the beds out and again sheets were clean. Do not expect rooms to be cleaned every day as they are only done every other but you can ask for clean towels from reception. We then went down for something to eat and you have the choice which hotel you eat in but they both serve the same food. We found the food to be hot and tasty but not much choice, this is rated as a 2 star hotel and dosnt pretend to be anything else.There is a problem with sunbeds there just aren't enough for the size of the hotels and in my opinion they could double the amount they put around each pool.All in all for what we paid for the holiday we couldnt complain. We wouldnt go back but not because of the quality of the hotel but because we found some nicer areas in other parts of the Island.

Room Tip: Try and ask to stay in the San Anton rather than Santa Maria as this is a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisaaimeex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback.

We are glad you found your stay in San Anton value for money and enjoyable.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were a little nervous about this holiday after reading the reviews but we had already booked it and decided we would make our own options.
We arrived to a beautifully cleaned room with fresh bedding and clean towels on the 4th floor with a view over the hills of Malta which was quite nice but straight away noticed how HOT the room was .. This hotel definitely needs Air Con as it was unbearable to sleep even with the help of desk fans and ceiling fans.
My only concern about the whole holiday was the Pool.. There were 2 incidents of "poo" in the pool and this was simply netted out and left uncleaned ! You couldn't see the bottom of the pool and it felt slimey under foot and was always full of hair. We witnessed lots of accidents by the steps of the pool where a section of the floor was extremely slippy and 1 child smashed his face off the ground.
This hotel has so much potential but seriously needs updating and maybe a new pool or at least have it cleaned properly.
The Evening entertainment was very poor and there was none for adults unless you like Bingo ! Would not go all inclusive here again as so many nicer places to eat and drink in the town centre.
As I said we got what we paid for and enjoyed the sunshine.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tlismore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback.

As advertised we do not have Air Conditioning in resort except public areas.

Unfortunately we cannot be held responsible for the actions of other guests but i can assure you that the pool is treated and chlorinated daily as per law as well as daily checks done by out maintenance team to confirm the water is safe.

For many reasons the colour is discoloured but this does not effect the usage of the pool.

Our entertainment program is enjoyed by both adults and children throughout the day

We thank you again for your comments and take them on board to help us continue to improve our resorts.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Our first appartment was terrible because it was air, and light, because it had a a little bit balcony after curlicue corridor. We tried to changed our room but the first receptionist was not helpful. After our dinner in the city the night receptionist was very kind and helped change our for a lightly appartment with a big teras which was absolutly perfect for us.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9petrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback.

Our receptionists Will always try to resolve your problems if possible, am sure you can appreciate that during high season it is very difficult to make room changes but glad we could assist you.

We hope to see you again in the near future in one of our resorts,

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We got back from this hotel a couple of weeks ago. Was not expecting much after reading the reviews. The hotels rooms are ok but lack of air con is a big problem with children, the calling fans don't do anything, food was ok, drinks are very watered down and there is a lack of chairs and sunbeds. The hotel staff can be rude, my girls went and asked for a ice cream altogether, two of them were given a ice cream the other two girls were told sorry ice cream has finished I went up and asked for two ice creams for them and was told I'm stupid the ice cream has finished can't understand why there just didn't get them all a ice cream or told them all no ice cream this was unfair to the kids. The entertainment was rubbish kept saying to us a low cost holiday what do you expect. Did complain to reception and we asked to speak to the manager, but was told in a meeting don't know when he will be back ( was told this a number of times ). For us this was a lot of money and we were treated as paupers. The hotel staff need to know when you are available to speak to at all times, not to tell holiday makers there are stupid and the entertainment guy needs to be told not to say low cost holiday what do you expect.

Room Tip: Pool view much cooler rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
It is with great regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

We do not advertise that our rooms have air conditioning but additional desk fans are available to hire from the hotel reception desk.

Our staff are committed and work hard to assist many guests questions or problems.

Our management team work visibly around the clock to rectify guests dissatisfaction's and it is with regret that you did not avail yourself of this service whilst in resort.

Finally as the above said we will take your comments to help us to continue to improve our resorts.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have just returned from our family holiday to Malta, ( aug 11-aug 21). All Inclusive.
We were very nervous about going to this hotel after reading alot of bad reviews, had I of read the reviews before booking, I would not have booked to stay, however, IT WASNT THAT BAD....
This review may seem a little long, but please continue to read,
Our first 24 hours was not ideal, we booked a 1 bed apartment, and it was not ready for us, they said they had maintenance issues, so put us in a huge double room, this had 2 huge double beds in, which would of been ok, had we not taken our 2 teenage girls, they told us that our apt would be ready the following day, they gave us a safe and fridge to ''compensate'' .
The room was on the ground floor right next to the kids play park, and at 1245am some older kids were still screaming and shouting, so be warned if you get allocated a room by the park, you wont get sleep!. ( well not til the early hours! when they go off to bed themselves).
Breakfast was surprising... full english, if you wanted it, bread and jams, watch the toaster... it caught fire several times during our stay! and try not to sit close to the hotplates and toaster area, it gets very busy, and the smell from burning toast does not set you up for the day.
We had the cooked breakfast most days, sausage, egg, tomatoes, beans, bacon, it is buffet style so you can help yourself to as much or as little as you need.
The coffee takes a little time to get used to, and the orange juice is quite nice, again self service.
Our only BIG ISSUE was the Pool, ... dirty, grimey, and not maintained as it should be, my daughter had sickness after going in on the first day, so we decided not to use it, although plenty of kids and adults were in it, I didnt ask if they had the same problem.
Apparently, the pool man puts in chlorine in the evening, and swimming is not advised, but plenty of people were still jumping in late evening, and none of the managers said anything.
After finally getting our apartment ( up 5 flights of stairs and no lift.. ) we could settle into our holiday. The apt was spacey, plenty of room, with microwave, fridge, safe, sink, kettle, cutlery, and even a bucket to wipe the floor, the main bedroom was a good size, and twin beds, that couples can push together, the lounge area had 1 single bed and 1 sofa bed, table and chairs, we slept well most nights, although road facing, it wasnt as noisy as some of the other reviews have said, Im a light sleeper, and only got disturbed by the tooting of dustcarts and buses just after 7am.
Both balconys were of good size, with 2 chairs and a little table.
There is no air con, but there was 2 nice size fans above beds, ours worked ok, but others are not so good, and do need some repair work on them.
MEALS ; as Ive said the breakfasts are good, the lunches you do have to go over to the sister hotel opposite, their dining room is lovely, air con, nice tables and chairs, and tables laid for you, again self service, and plenty to choose from, including pizza and chips for the kids, the salads are a little oily, and have bucket loads of onion in, I loved it.
evening ; meals are a bit repetitive, pasta, chicken and pork, I would stay away from their beef tho, it was more than chewy!. you can pick and choose what you fancy, and they do a lovely spaghetti, with sauces to go over the top.
SNACKS;... not much on offer, and you CANT TAKE YOUR SANDWICH OUTSIDE... the staff stop you from taking anything out. Ice creams from the little bar area are ok, although the cones are quite dry, you do not get a choice of lollys, they are not on the all inclusive.
There is a lovely little area above the bar by the pool for adults only, ( sundeck) It has a spa pool, which is emptied and cleaned EVERYDAY, sunbeds are a little uncomfortable, so we asked if we could take 2 of the flat beds from the pool area, we found this perfect.
STAFF; Ive got to say a big thankyou to our cleaning lady, she came every other day, changed all the beds, left us fresh towels, she took pride in her work.
Most of the staff were helpful, friendly and polite, although there were a few that just couldnt be bothered,
ENTERTAINMENT; great for kids, nothing for adults!

MALTA THE COUNTRY;
absolutely lovely.... its hot, you can get a lovely tan, plenty to do outside of the hotel, day trips not to be missed, The blue lagoon and Gozo is a must.
plenty of bars, and places to eat, even McDonald! ( very expensive but still nice)
The splashpark was great, I would advise you take plenty of spending money, these trips dont come cheap! ( splashpark was 65 euros for 1 adult and 2 teens, plus euros for food and drinks)
The 3 island boat trip 80 euros plus food and drink, ( we ordered packed lunches from the hotel, they were ok, and filled the gap at lunchtime!)
Overall..... your holiday is what you make it, dont expect 5 star service from a 3 star hotel, parts of the hotel were very tatty, and could do with a lick of paint just to spruce it up and make it look nice.
We had a lovely holiday, our batteries are now fully charged... but thats not down to the hotel, like I have said, YOUR HOLIDAY IS WHAT YOU MAKE IT.

Room Tip: apartments are better than rooms, higher floors for better views and less noise, although higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shazzy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback.

All guests comments and experiences are taken on board to help us continue to improve our resorts.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 15 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Anton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Anton Hotel

Property: The San Anton Hotel
Address: Triq Ir-Ramel San Pawel Il-Bahar | San Pawel Il-Bahar, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 3033, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The San Anton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location of the Blue Sea San Anton, in the quiet seaside town of Bugibba and just minutes from the beach ensures you will enjoy your stay. The quality of the hotel and its amenities will allow you to relax and discover all of the attractions that Malta has to offer as one of the most beautiful islands in the Mediterranean. The Blue Sea San Anton Bugibba is located in the municipality of Saint Paul's Bay. Visitors will love this little coastal town with its wonderful beaches and streets full with restaurants, shops and bars. The capital, Valletta, is just 15 miles away. The rooms at the Blue Sea San Anton are comfortable and well equipped to make your holiday as relaxing as possible. They are spacious and each one has a private bathroom, TV, safe-deposit box and telephone. Most rooms have a balcony. To make your stay a great one the hotel has a restaurant, outdoor pool, sun terrace and gardens in which to relax and wind away the hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The San Anton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Anton Hotel Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing