We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to visit day or night”
Review of Huggy Bear Lido

Huggy Bear Lido
Ranked #31 of 159 Restaurants in Bugibba
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good place to visit day or night”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Cheap sunbed hire and lunchtime snacks for a day at the seafront and a great little bar restuarant for the evening as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob231164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    71
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't just pass by”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We've bypassed Huggy's for years thinking it was only a hotdog place, but this year our daughter persuaded us to go there for dinner one evening. What a surprise, sitting right next to the sea with a great view across the bay eating what was probably the best meal of our trip.
Best pizza I've had in years and the biggest Greek Salad ever. It was so good that we returned for another meal a couple of days later. Looking at other diners meals ( don't we all ) they all looked really nice, will be back, next time we're in Malta.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimFMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING food!! Love this place”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, reasonable prices and outstanding service!! What more could you ask for? Brilliant location by the sea!! Relaxed ambiance and food accomodates all taste buds. Menu ranges from pizza and pasta to quality steaks and fresh fish or seafood. I eat there with friends every couple of weeks and the food is outstanding. Never disappoints! Friendly staff and a good atmosphere. If you are on holiday and in the area, eating at the Huggy Bear Lido is a DEFINATE must!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fresh and relaxed”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My 11 year old picked dinner tonight. The choice made on closeness to the water and good selection on the menu. We chose to share the calamari and prawn plate and the catch of the day. We were really happy when they offered to fillet the whole seabream. It is simple setting in the open at ocean level. The food was fresh and delicious. They served salad and chips with the meal too. The house rose was very good as well. We were able to watch the sunset from our table. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a great experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sun sea food ...perfect”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It's one of those not so small places that is tucked away.

We spent our days lounging on the sun beds dipping in and out of the warm med We had lunch there. The food was gorgeous the staff friendly and helpful. The prices were very reasonable They have free wifi but to be honest I couldn't be bothered with it I did nothing except swim, snooze and read. Perfect. Top tip. If you spend the day there get some goggles and snorkel maybe some beach shoes. It's a lovely way to spend your day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julia020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huggy Bear Lido also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 

Been to Huggy Bear Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing