We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“strange but you should try” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chimney Cakes

Chimney Cakes
Ranked #2 of 3 Bakeries in Bugibba
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
217 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“strange but you should try”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I love cake and dessert so I was entrigued. They told me it was like donut batter but not fried. I ordered chocolate, but when they asked if it was to go and i wanted to take home to my husband, they said it wouldn't travel well. So I got cinnamon and it was lovely. It seemed a bit dry but great for breakfast the next day!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmlucas33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    0
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to chill!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Great value for money! Had good salads and drinks. Friendly staff. Haven't tried their cakes. Recommend :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Umka_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place with the best service and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

This corner cafe is in the heart of Bugibba Square so the atmosphere is a very relaxed one especially when the weather is nice. It's a special cafeteria where the owners treat you not only politely but also very friendly making you feel most welcome. They are helpful and keep the place very clean. They serve various snacks, different coffees, smoothies, frappes and cocktails together with normal alcoholic drinks and softdrinks. I have tried their salads, sandwiches and other food items which are all freshly prepared and the prices are very reasonable. They are famous for their chimney cakes (unique in malta) and homemade cakes especially their cheesecake which are the best I have tasted! If you are a tourist living in the vicinity, make sure to pass by for a coffee/snack/cake as you won't regret it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maltareviewerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL ENGLAND
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A must in Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

This is a little gem in Bugibba Square the nestled on a corner next to a tourist shop Serves a mean Caesar salad and lovely cappuccino coffee.But the best is the Chimney cake! very filling
tasty different .The staff are extremely helpful. Bogdan thinks he's the boss because he makes the Caesar ,Octavian is the Good looking one who makes a mean cappuccino. But the real Boss I believe is Ralu who makes the Chimney cakes.Will definitely go back there if we go back to Malta lovely people to know and make you welcome at there establishment Ohy and don't forget the Kimmie

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scotpat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Something New To Try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Recently was passing through Buggiba Square and spotted this place. Had a few tables and chairs outside, but what were Chimney Cakes? Never heard of them.
We sat at a table, a waiter asked for our drink orders, and recommended a shot of Amaretto in my ice coffee, which I agreed to and it was nice. We had to wait 20 minutes for the Chimney Cakes though, as they cook them at certain times.
Chimney Cakes are made of doughnut dough, but instead of deep frying, they are baked, and are coated in a choice of four coatings. We went for the cinnamon. We were quite shocked by the result. What looked like a small cake, was big enough for the three of us, and we ordered two of them! We had to take one back with us for my relatives to try.
If passing though Buggiba, I'd recommend going to this place and giving these a go, but don't forget, don't order too many of them, one is enough for three people.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chimney Cakes also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Marsa, Island of Malta
 

Been to Chimney Cakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing