We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vesteralen Sjohus, Sjohushotellet pa Sortland
Ranked #1 of 1 Sortland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We absolutely loved this wooden cabin, clean, spacious, well furnished and fully equipped (except for the bidet). There's plenty of space for up to five people. The location is nice but not the best, as the cabins are just a few meters from road 820. The place is really quiet at night, a bit noisy at day.
The bed is as soft as an hammock, not the most comfortable I've slept in.
Bedroom's curtains do not obscure completely, sleeping during the summer could be a little difficult.
In the kitchenette we found everything we needed to cook. Breakfast (basic but ok) is left the afternoon before in the cabin's fridge, so one can have it at their best convenience.
All in all we had a good time here, and -despite a few minor cons- would gladly return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca_TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

Sjohus Senteret is a group of 7 two-storey seaside cabins with a marina, hot tub, and small pier for fishing, built right on the seashore about 2km from the centre of Sortland. We were there to see the Northern Lights, which we did, so our trip was successful in that sense, but the service and accommodation provided by Marit were excellent, so it was successful in other senses as well.
There were only two of us in a cabin designed for family use, which was plenty of space. There is plenty of light, even in March, and two comfortable sofas for sitting about on in the living room. The ground floor was open plan and included a small kitchen and dining room. The heating was good (important when it's -10 degrees C outside!) and the cabin was free of draughts. Beds good, with cosy duvets. The cabin was spotlessly clean when we arrived, and although we were quite close to the road, it was barely audible.
Marit also provides food in a small restaurant over the reception office. As well as having breakfast, we ate dinner there twice. If you like home-cooking with few frills, than you couldn't do better than this. Reindeer stew may be an acquired taste, but the cod we had was little more than 24 hours out of the water, perfectly cooked, and quite delicious.
All in all, we enjoyed our short stay more than our time at any of the hotels we stayed at on our trip, which included Harstad and Svolvaer.
A couple of things that could be improved:
The directions we got from the website missed out the fact that you have to take the 85 and 83 roads from the E10, before you can turn onto the 820. This is obvious from a map, but could leave you 20km adrift if you haven't got one. (This is apparently to be corrected.)
The kitchen was equipped well, but completely bare when we arrived. A couple of tea bags and a small jar of coffee, with some sort of milk and sugar would have made life very much more pleasant for us.

On the other hand, Marit's service went beyond the call of duty. Especially on the night we arrived, when she turned out at 10pm to tell us that the Aurora was auroaring. We missed it nonetheless, but it was back the following night, right overhead!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The Sjoehus center is a great place!
I was a guest there in 2006, 2007, 2010 and 2012.
I had a werey nice stay there evry time.
Nice staff, verry good service and verry good food in the resturnat.
in the resturant I did get a great taste of local food from northen norway.
very nice view to the sea and the mountains for the sea houses.
The midnith sun was AMZING!
Form the fishing place next to the miarina I caought a great deal of mackerel and cod.
in the seahouses it's realy nice beds and it's a amzing fealing to wake up to the sound of the waves from the sea.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoodsNorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I had made a reservation on the phone for 2 nights for one "sjohus" for 2 persons 2 days before. She confirmed that she had a very nice one for us available. When we got there I gave her a call since nobody was at the reception and she told me that I should look in the mailbox (there we would find the keys of our Sjohus). I had to call her back to let her know that there were several keys and on the door an envelope where it was written "Igor - Russia". She told us then to take that envelope even though we were not Igor, and she said that we would have a full big house available for us (we would be alone at least for one night, maybe other people would drop luggage there but they wouldn't sleep in the house!). I told her that this is not what we had booked but she said that there had been a confusion and that the house is the only thing she could offer us (she apologized, she had had to go due to a family problem). When we got into the house we were horrified. We saw that it was an old stinking house. The toilett in the corridor (for sharing, not what we had booked), a horrible kitchen, dirty, even the garbage can wasn't empty. The sleeping room on the ground floor (where we were supposed to sleep) it was as well stinking really badly and hadn't been properly cleaned. After seeing all this and for the price we were supposed to pay, we thought we didn't want to stay there (who would even dare to cook in that dirty old kitchen). We phoned the camping in Sortland and took a nice cabin. Afterwards I tried to phone her several times to let her know that we were leaving but she never picked up the phone anymore. We left the envelope with the keys back on the receptions door and run away from there. Since then, I never heard of her again! Honestly I don't think she really cared at all. In any case it wasn't a great place since the cabins are very near the main road and you hear the traffic all the time. Maybe the other cabins are nice (they looked so from the outside) but we would never be back to such a place where your booking is not reliable, you don't get what you booked and there is lack of good customer service.

Room Tip: Don't let her send you to the
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank EliVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Britt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sciarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marit A, Owner at Vesteralen Sjohus, Sjohushotellet pa Sortland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Yo les pediría que os dieran una casa pegada al mar, ya que hay algunas que no están al lado y desde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JordiRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marit A, Owner at Vesteralen Sjohus, Sjohushotellet pa Sortland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Vesteralen Sjohus, Sjohushotellet pa Sortland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vesteralen Sjohus, Sjohushotellet pa Sortland

Address: Anstadsjoen, Sortland, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Sortland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sortland
Price Range: £137 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Vesteralen Sjohus, Sjohushotellet pa Sortland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing