We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sortland Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sortland Hotell
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sortland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated in the centre of Sortland on the main through road and provided a great base for the sightseeing/activity break that we were on. The rooms were comfortable, clean and warm; and the staff helpful and welcoming. The breakfast buffet was good and more than enough to set you up for the day ahead. It is easy to walk to the shops, galleries and restaurants in town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    43
    41
    18
    8
See reviews for
9
43
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from a Northern Lights trip and stayed for 4 nights at this warm and welcoming hotel . The room was adequate with comfortable single beds pushed together and separate duvets. There was no wardrobe or drawers to unpack, only a few hooks with hangers on the wall, so lived out of the case. The bathroom had underfloor heating which was nice. The staff were all friendly and there was a nice bar area where we were able to relax and play cards in the afternoon. We had 2 meals in the hotel which were a set menu but tasty and the breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice. Convenient for the town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Hotel was similar to an Ibis in the UK, but only a floor-drobe! But hotel staff and food was excellent. On our tour we found it a very convinient base, well recommended. Beds very comfortable, good shower room with heated floor.

Room Tip: We had room 323 which was on the top floor served by a lift, facing south towards the harbour and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel Sunday evening. I would describe it as a cica 60's build property. We received a warm welcome from the tour operators but didn't have much interaction with the staff until later that evening when our evening meal was served.
Prior to our meal we were allocated our rooms which I would describe as very basic and a little tired. There was a TV, desk, two comfy chairs and two single beds (would have liked a double). A small space to hang a few items of clothing but no drawers so had to leave things lying about on the chairs and bedside shelf!
Later that evening we were 2nd to arrive in the restaurant but last to be served and it appeared they seemed to miscalculate the number of people they were catering for!
Staff were very friendly and polite and gave an introduction to their hotel, which they seemed very proud of.
Evening entertainment was provided which was also very nice.

On the whole the hotel was vey pleasant but basic.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Sortland Hotell is a late 20th century building of no great beauty. The room was average but ours did not have any cupboard or wardrobe space, only a desk, table, bedside tables, coat-hooks and a single suitcase stand.
The bed was comfy, the room was warm. There was underfloor heating in the showroom.
The doors were thick and we never heard any sounds from adjacent rooms or those above or below us. Traffic noise was audible but not obtrusive.
Breakfasts were very reasonable as was the two suppers we had at the hotel.
Its location is central for the town of Sortland.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The rooms are quite small and nothing special and what you can expect for a hotel of this class.
The bathroom appeared quite worn and the sink was fitted in a rediculous low position.
The restaurant was very good.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Having read previous reviews I have to say my expectations of this hotel were not great, and indeed when we arrived the hotel from the exterior did not look very inviting. However, once inside we received a warm welcome and the staff were friendly and helpful, We had a standard room which looked to have been recently refurbished. Although pretty basic (no hair dryer or tea/coffee facilities in room) the room was extremely clean and the beds very comfortable. We had just two small niggles. In a land of the midnight sun the curtains did not do a very good job of keeping out the light. And, if you had the shower on full the bathroom completely flooded. By contrast we enjoyed a huge positive. The restaurant was charming and both the localy caught arctic char and the halibut were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertNeilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sortland
15.0 mi away
Vesteralen Kysthotell
Vesteralen Kysthotell
#2 of 3 in Stokmarknes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
20.6 mi away
Melbu Hotel
Melbu Hotel
#1 of 1 in Melbu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vesteralen Sjohus, Sjohushotellet pa Sortland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Ringstad Sjohus - Huset pa Yttersiden
24.4 mi away
Brygga Hotell
Brygga Hotell
#1 of 2 in Lodingen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
18.5 mi away
Fjordcamp
Fjordcamp
#1 of 1 in Krakberget
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sortland Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sortland Hotell

Property: Sortland Hotell
Address: Vesteraalsgata 59, Sortland 8400, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Sortland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sortland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sortland Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Sortland Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing