We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
JUST PERFECT!

A year ago, I did the tour with Chris who was available for me during the whole organization of my... read more

Reviewed 31 October 2018
Marianne F
Could not have been better!

PaulW3184 and John C have already written reviews of our trip and there is little that I can add... read more

Reviewed 20 October 2018
Peter22
,
Alcester, United Kingdom
Read all 76 reviews
  
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
75
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews northern norway clear skies daytime activities sea eagles small group whale watching photo opportunities local knowledge reindeer farm every night local area space station fishing village an excellent guide norwegian culture great company an adventure
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We had an amazing experience with Chris (Aurora Addicts). He is a very passionate person and would go to great lengths to make sure we go the best view of the Northern Lights. We got two viewings, and he made sure he did the everything humanly possible (unfortunately, he doesn't control the Solar Flares).

We had a wonderful time, and he's very knowledgeable and fun. I strongly recommend seeing the Nothern Lights with him.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank RaviK212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Chris is an energetic, caring and very knowledgeable explorer. By the way he is a great photographer too! His van is extremely comfortable even on very long drives. He bought us hot chocolate and coffee and chairs for our midnight chases. One night his friend and he made us a bonfire too. With him we discovered Norway and its amazing beauty in a way like we never imagined! He knows all the wonderful people (hosts) we visited during the day too! Chasing the Northern lights with Chris on each of the 5 nights, (we were lucky on two), learning about the magic of the Northern lights, was definitely the highlight of our trip. Thanks Chris for your hospitality and wish you all the best! I'd look forward to go back for more! I do hope our family and friends do this magical trip with you!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank PreetiK43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We are a family of 2 adults and a 5 year old. Usually when we holiday it involves a lot of sun and sand, and so when someone suggested Norway we weren't immediately convinced! But we decided to give it a go, and I'm so glad we did, we just had the most magical experience. Norway is so different from anywhere that we have been before that I felt like I'd stepped through the wardrobe into Narnia!

Chris and Becki's support began before we had even left the uk; their website is full of really useful information, which enabled us to ensure that we had appropriate clothing and footwear. Their blog gave us a wealth of information about the local area and gave us a really good idea of what we wanted to do while we were there.

The time of year that we visited, right on the cusp of Spring, meant that we did not anticipate that we would see the Northern Lights. However, we realised when we got there that our chances were significantly improved by Chris' knowledge and expertise. Everyday he carefully studied the weather and atmospheric conditions. This coupled with his communication with other aurora chases and knowledge of the local area meant that if there were lights to be seen, we would see them. And we did, several times! Chris is able to strike a really good balance between allowing you to immerse yourself in the experience, whilst also educating you about what you are seeing and why. Whilst we were gazing in awe, Chris was taking photos, precious keepsakes of our magical experience. He also showed us how to use our camera to enable us to get the best shots we could.

This amazing experience was supported by a visit to Spaceship Aurora, a space centre where you can learn all about why the Aurora exists, and what they are. The best thing about this fun and interactive learning experience is that the whole family are able to participate.

Spaceship Aurora was one of several trips that Chris and Becki arranged for us. We also went whale watching, husky sledging and to a reindeer farm. What was apparent when we went on these trips is that Chris and Becki have worked hard to develop good working relationships with local businesses and this meant that we were greeted like friends and treated with hospitality.

I had very low expectations about the whale watching, as nature is not something that we have control over. We were lucky to have wonderful conditions when we went out, the sun was shining and the water was beautifully calm. This meant that just being in the rib and viewing the landscape from the sea was an experience in itself. Our Captain was very knowledgable and in communication with others, which meant that we lucky enough to see seals, puffins, an eagle, sperm whale, and best of all a pod of orca, I struggle to describe just how wonderful this was.

The snow had melted quite significantly by the time we visited the huskies, and this meant that rather than being in a sledge in the snow, we were in a buggy on the road. These dogs are awesome; they live to race, and when they know they are going to race the excitement builds into this noisy crescendo, which falls to silence when they start running and concentrating. They are such powerful, strong dogs and it was amazing to see them all working together to pull us along. We went as part of quite a large group, and while we were waiting for our turn, Katrin, the lady who owns the huskies, treated us to some delicious homemade cheesecake and hot drinks. After we had finished racing we gingerly changed into our swimwear and braced ourselves as we ran to the fire heated hot tub. After we had jumped in Katrin handed us a home brewed beer. There is something really surreal about being in a hot tub, surrounded by mountains and snow!

We were also booked to visit a reindeer farm run by a local Sami lady. On this tour, not only do you get to see the reindeer, which we thought our daughter would enjoy, you also get to learn and experience Sami culture, and it was this that I was lost looking forward to. The day that we were meant to have our tour, the reindeer escaped and so our tour was cancelled as understandably the reindeer needed to be found and rounded up. Unfortunately, we were unable to rebook our tour while we were there as we did not have enough time left. However, Becki was able to arrange a quick visit for my daughter to see the reindeer and buy a skin to take home. Having the choice of about 50 skins, and being able to look at them and feel them was really a great experience for her, and meant that the skin that she eventually chose is really special to her.

We approached this as a 'once in a lifetime' trip and therefore wanted to make the most of it and embrace the opportunities that Chris and Becki gave us. Their knowledge and expertise has enabled us to make some really special family memories, and the way that they did this with kindness, and understanding of our needs means that actually we would love to go back again and again. Thank You for enabling us to have a truly magical adventure.

Date of experience: March 2016
2  Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We visited back in February (sorry to take so long to review) we had a great time. I know it can be very hit and miss as to whether you see the lights but Chris was fantastic at getting us to the right place at the right time.

We saw the lights on 3 out of the 4 nights we were there, the last night was especially good. The days were well organised, the trip to the space station was very interesting.

If you want to see the lights I would definitely recommend you go with Chris, he'll also take some great photos for you.

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank Ocol2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

I guess when I'm reading reviews I am always curious to know if people enjoyed their trip enough to do it again. Unless you're really odd you wouldn't keep going back to a place that you didn't like or use a company that you didn't think was any good. With this in mind this is our third trip with Aurora Addicts to see the Northern Lights.

Chris and Becki are fantastic hosts, nothing is too much trouble and their knowledge of the local area is superb. If there was any chance of seeing the Lights then Chris is willing to take you to all the best places to have the greatest change of seeing them!

On this trip they also arranged trips including whale watching, husky sledding and the space centre, all of which were well worth a visit.

Thanks again to all at Aurora Addicts and lets hope we do it all again next season!

Date of experience: April 2016
3  Thank Therapist_Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews