We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat”
Review of Backyard Grill Restaurant - CLOSED

Backyard Grill Restaurant
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
manassas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great food great servers. Manager will always try to correct any problem. Buys top quality food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank qwertManassas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    4
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best steak experience.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

As vacationing travellers 5 weeks in the USA without trying a steak, this was the place we chose because it seemed to be mainly a grill/steakhouse, though it turned out to offer a wide ranging menu.
The fillet mignon was just fantastic,high quality Angus beef,tender & perfectly cooked.
Salads & sides all had that just-fresh taste.The service was very good,friendly & welcoming, from the manager down.
Go there, I think it leaves those chains far behind.
They really look after you.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveandWendy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax County Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Come here to smoke, happy hour drinks, a pizza, that's it”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I have been here 3 times in the last month with friends and coworkers for two reasons, it is the only bar within many miles that allows smoking. and they have great happy hour prices.

It is on the order of a TGI Fridays meets a wanna be sports bar with a rather dark 1960's decor (this was another restaurant for years)

My friends and I that still smoke on occasion heard about the bar section allowing smoking.
We did not believe it. Va, a tobacco state, banned smoking a few years ago.

Virginia law quietly left a loop hole, that very few, including us, did not know..

Va law states if you have a restaurant, and you completely separate the bar by walls, windows, doors from the dining area, and have a proper ventilation system, you can smoke in the bar.!

Having been there 3 times, there has hardly been a soul in the restaurant, but the bar from 5pm to 8pm was full of smokers enjoying Happy hour while drinking and watching all the tv's.

We like having a martini or two at happy hour prices, but having tried some of the food, stick to smoking, drinking, and maybe the pizza ( only one type, thin and crispy, and a choice of about 10 toppings) or a burger.

The age range here is about 35 to 70.This is definitely NOT the Arlington, Alexandria, Reston, Georgetown 20 something after work cocktail crowd, they don't smoke.

The bar crowd ranges from guys in the blue collar trades, some still in uniforms, people from the motels next door, sports fans who watch all the tv's, yell and drink beer, locals who can't smoke at work, or any other restaurant/bar in town, and Don Draper from Mad Men types on their way home that want to smoke and drink a martini at happy hour prices..

The wierd thing is the main front entrance door has a big nonsmoking sign on it, AND once inside, the door to the bar, has NOTHING on it to indicate smoking is allowed. Why would you keep this a big secret. Smoking is their biggest drawing card in this place.

My dad used to say if a restaurant/bar is over half empty on a Friday or Saturday night, in a busy area, good food, could be a problem. This place in the dining room fits that saying.

If you smoke try it for a Happy hour or the Sunday Brunch for the price, is a good deal at $12.95 plus special drink prices, and there is always sports on the tv's on Sundays

Would we come here for a great meal, a great steak or prime rib, or any type of romantic meal, NO. A drink or beer at happy hour, perhaps a pizza or burger, Sunday brunch once in a while if you dont want anything upmarket or creative, and to smoke, that is it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgoodfoodjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The food was awesome! Would definitely go back and eat in. We ordered take out. Great people!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best brunch in manassas!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My friends and i went to backyard for sunday brunch and it was great! The best ive had in a long time. They have a little bit of everything avaliable! The service was great too, very nice and attentive and my bloody mary topped the cake! definitly going back again for brunch!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backyard Grill Restaurant also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing