We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need and more!”
Review of Peniche Surf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peniche Surf Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Jyvaskyla, Finland
2 reviews
“Everything you need and more!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a fantastic time in Peniche surf lodge. The house is cosy, within walking distance from the town centrum and right by the sea. We had a nice double room. The hosts Claire and Duncan are friendly and genuine people, they did the holiday easy for the guests by being so helpfull! It's a way of life for them and makes the guests feel like home, too.
Peniche is ideal for surfing, but there is also great places to visit; a trip to the Berlenga Island is a must, also don't miss the restaurant Tasca do Joel in the town of Peniche.

Room Tip: The private doubles/twins in the ground floor are the best choice if you want privacy. The double ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SaaraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Peniche Surf Lodge offers you whatever you need to experience a great holiday together with all the comforts you can find only at home!
Claire and Duncan are the perfect hosts in the perfect place! They help you with everything you may need, from the transfer to the beach and the best surf spots to the right suggestions on the trip to do or maybe the restaurant to go. In one word: more than hosts, real friends!
The lodge itself is very nice and placed in a wonderful location: directly on Papoa Beach and at only 10' walk from the City Centre. You can choose your private room or decide to share the dorm room if you are looking for a budget acomodation! Two common kitchens indoor and a small barbecue with table and chairs in the backyard are the perfect solution if you want to cook your own dinner or maybe to share a roasted marshmallows night with your new friends ;-)! A breakfast with milk, cereal, toasts, butter and jam is provided by the Lodge!
In the living room you got TV, DVD, WII, heaps of magazines and dvd and not last, a computer with free wi-fi for all the guests.
Very clean, comfortable and furnished with style, Peniche Surf Lodge is the place to be!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peggysurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Peniche Surf Lodge is a perfect place, as you can enjoy living together with a bunch of nice people from all over the world and also have the chance to find some privacy in your own room whenever you like.
The lodge has nice private rooms as well as one dorm, two kitchens and a comfy living room for everybody to use. There is also a small patio , which is perfect for surfbords to store and wetsuits and towels to dry. But the real highlight of the lodge are the owners Claire and Duncan, a super lovely couple, who show great hospitality, and made me feel really welcome and right at home from the minute they picked me up at the bus station. Claire keeps the lodge spotlessly clean and cares for all the booking and other questions around your trip and Duncan offers daily transport to the best surf spots of the day. Being a really good surfer he knows exactly which spot works best either for beginners or advanced surfers. Beach transfer is 7 days a week, what a great service! Both also take their time to have a nice chat or a coffee with their guests at the beach or restaurant. They also picked us up to watch a surf contest their son took part, great family!
I am looking forward to go back soon!

Room Tip: Rooms on the groundfloor are more quiet, even though the guests I met were not of the “all night par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyz3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Andalucia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013

It was a wonderfull experience staying at Peniche Surf Lodge! The hosts made us feel at home and did everything to please us. Especially group trips with the other guests and funny chats with the hosts made it very special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank VerenaW2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Thanks so much Duncan and Clare for superb hospitality i was made to feel right at home. Excellent facilities.

great equipment hire professional shaped surf boards best hire board iv ever ridden by a mile very fair price.

Great spot to visit first class advice on where all the best surf spots are each day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire H, Owner at Peniche Surf Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Many thanks ,you were a great guest too.We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and had the best experience from our hire boards ,Duncan takes very much pride in helping you in all your surfing needs,and sharing hissurf knowledge, it was our pleasure,we hope to see you again,all the very best from Claire, Duncan and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Had a fab time here, great surf, great people! Peniche is a nice place to chill out and catch some waves. Peniche Surf Lodge was a great base camp for that and Claire the owner was just so helpful. Everything was always spotlessly clean and the Lodge was beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire H, Owner at Peniche Surf Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thankyou for your kind words,we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us ,we wish you the very best for your future surfing adventures and we are very pleased you came to stay at Penichesurflodge first before you begun on your surfing adventures,Peniche is certainly the best place to learn to surf for sure,it was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again,best wishes from Claire ,Duncan and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We've traveled in many countries all over the world, slept and stayed in very different places. Well, this one was the best so far, and we're gonna visit them again soon: that's for sure. Everything we needed was arranged for us.. Duncan and Claire always drove us to good surf spots depending on our skills, sometimes Duncan also came surfing with us and helped us out; getting bigger waves, giving tips how to improve our surfing, sometimes he took photos and video from us surfing! Never expected that much... The lodge was very cozy. So, perfect! Thank you!
We really felt like home there.
Inexpensive for what you get!

Matti & Joni
Puolanka, Finland

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matti J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penichesurflodge, Owner at Peniche Surf Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thanks so much guys your words mean a lot to us ,we truly love what we do ,Duncan enjoyed every minute taking you guys surfing to the spot to suit your ability and also surfing with you and giving you advise then seeing you progress so quickly you did amazing!,He also loves to take pictures and video footage because he knows how much it helps you to improve and also you have great memories of your trip to take home .We do hope you come and visit again soon to enjoy some more surf and cerveja ! all the best Duncan ,Claire and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peniche hotels
1.1 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Soleil Peniche
Hotel Soleil Peniche
#2 of 10 in Peniche
416 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel PINHALmar
Hotel PINHALmar
#3 of 10 in Peniche
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Marazul
Hotel Marazul
#1 of 1 in Serra del Rei
45 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sunway Hostel
Sunway Hostel
#1 of 12 in Atouguia da Baleia
67 reviews
2.6 mi away
Captain's Log House
Captain's Log House
#6 of 96 in Peniche
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peniche Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peniche Surf Lodge

Property: Peniche Surf Lodge
Address: Rua dos Violas | Papoa Beach, Peniche 2520-360, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Peniche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Peniche Surf Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penichesurflodge Cheap luxury bed and breakfast accommodation by the atlantic ocean in Peniche town,walking distance to the beaches ,3 large supermarkets,shops cafe/bars and restaurants, not just for surfers everyone will feel at home in our family run Lodge with over 30 years surf experience and knowledge of Peniche and surrounding towns we all go to the best beach everyday abd set up a beach camp we offer surf lessons, advanced surf coaching surf photography,equipment hire ,snorkling ,diving, , bus pickups and airport transfers can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Peniche Surf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing