We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Heaven on Earth”
Review of Peniche Surf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peniche Surf Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Can't wait to get back. I spent some of the best weeks of my life there. You won'tfind any place better to surf and have fun with new friends from all over the world!
You get to the beach in no time and get to know some of the best spots in the region without having to rent a car. The bus ticket from/to Lisboa is 7$ for students, so party and surf there for several weeks if you can because you'll feel like at home at this lodge and you will not want to go back to your place.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Sandro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire H, Owner at Peniche Surf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

We thank you so much for coming to stay with us and writing such nice words ,it was a massive pleasure to meet you and spend time on the beach and at the lodge with you you are still very much missed by us all and we truly hope you can come and visit us again we will never forget you for sure ,there is always a space for you here ,we wish you all the very best from Claire Duncan and family xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Peniche Surf Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place and even more fantastic hosts. To be honest I have never experienced anything quite like it! Claire and Duncan are so nice and they help you out with everything. Surf trips, taking you to restaurants. Duncan even got my board sorted when I snapped a fin. No doubt this will be the first of many visits!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Spencer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penichesurflodge, Owner at Peniche Surf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thankyou both ,for coming to stay you were great sports and good fun it has been a pleasure to get to know you both,we really enjoyed surfing with you everyday and dining out, Duncan knows the importance of repairing your board as quickly and as cheaply as possible because every surfing day is precious ,as so is the enjoyment of our guests,we really hope we see you again soon ,all the very best from Duncan ,Claire and Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

There are many properties rated excellent on tripadvisor as the mass tends to overrate, but this lodge has really deserved a five-star-rating!

We are two 25-year old swiss, both well-travelled. We stayed for eight nights as we extended our stay. The rooms are pretty small, but clean. The owners do not live in the house, so the house is fully occupied by other travellers. The lodge is equipped with good quality interior infrastructure. There are two kitchens and a common room, very well located in the middle floor of the house where everyone meets.It is located at Papoa Beach, at about 10 minutes from the city centre. The neighbourhood is safe. The lounge is huge, equipped with TV and PC. We spent so many time in the lounge with other guests. So far the hard facts.

The owners, Claire and Duncan, are two very good souls. You really feel that the lodge is their lifestyle and that both of them love their life. We spent a lot of time with Claire and Duncan by having dinner or surfing together. They are like parents and take so much care of the lodge and it's people. There are so many little things that makes Claire and Duncan so special - Duncan took us with him to surf sessions, Claire gave us so many tips, and they even drove us to the bus station on our last day when we left Peniche. We met so good-hearted people in the lodge that we really found true friends during our stay here.

We did not feel as we were accommodated, we more felt like being hosted by a family. Claire and Duncan put so much love into the lodge, it's amazing.

Claire and Duncan, Thank you so much for everything !
We both had tears in the eyes after the goodbye. We wish you just the very best. Good things happen to good people.

Hope to see you soon again,
Chris & Sandrine

Room Tip: no swimming pool/room service
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat_Travls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penichesurflodge, Owner at Peniche Surf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Oh my gosh ,sweet lovely words from 2 amazing people We were so lucky to have met and spent time with ,you certainly fitted into our surflodge life style and became family members for sure,being so warm and friendly yourselves, to us and all our other guests your 8 days with us will be treasured,we also felt the emotion saying goodbye and reading this wonderful review,thankyou guys so much we wish you all the happiness in the world come and see us again soon ,lots of love from Claire ,Duncan and family x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The moment we got off the bus Claire and Duncan made us feel welcome and invited us out for dinner with the other people staying at the lodge. So helpful, extremely knowledgable the experience was more like staying with family friends than a host/lodger relationship they're always there when you need them but still respect you're privacy. The rooms are great, really modern the lounge is HUGE with a massive L sofa and tv perfect chill out space after a days surfing. The lodge attracts like minded people everyone gets on hangs out together grabs coffee and copious amounts of cake at the beach bars together after a surf. You don't have to surf but you're losing out if you don't try it, regardless of wether you join in the water sports it's like being on holiday with a big group of friends. Despite experiencing probably Portugal's worst weather since records began which we brought over from England we still had an amazing week and are definitely going back this summer, photos are from our one day of sun Peniche looked beautiful.

Room Tip: We had the largest downstairs double ensuite which was great such a comfy bed
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penichesurflodge, Owner at Peniche Surf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Ah what can we say ,thats amazing thankyou so much guys ,you know we loved every minute of your stay with us ,as we said over coffee Penichesurflodge is our life style and you lovely guys join us everyday in what we love to do, and we do become a big family because we get to know you so well ,you guys were great and positive even with the draw back of mother nature,so glad you are thinking about coming back already ,each month of the year can be a totally different experience and always with new like minded people to meet ,great fun ,sun and surf ,all our very best to you both ,see you again soon ,Claire ,Duncan and family xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I've been traveling quit a lot since 8 years as a young surfer and I've been in al types of accommodation.
For young people you often look for something real affordable yet still a bit comfortable.

Usually you end up staying in surf camps or lodges where you have that ''oh here we go again feeling ''..

Peniche Surflodge has blown my mind in terms of super relaxed , friendly atmosphere.
This was an eye opener for me , a super practical and comfortable house with big kitchen and living room where you can stay in a shared or private room, right next to the beach !

Claire took such good care of my buddy and I and ensured every single day we could get the most out of our stay.
Whether it is taking you to the beach, knowing where it's good to surf of just recommend good place s to eat , the people of Peniche Surf Lodge are right there to help you out.

Best place to stay if you're traveling by yourself or with girlfriend , hands down !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penichesurflodge, Owner at Peniche Surf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thankyou so much for your very kind words to describe our Lodge especially that we stand out above the rest ,Penichesurflodge is our lifestyle ,we enjoy welcoming every single guest whether they are solo ,a group ,a couple or a family as we are a surf loving family who want to share our experiences with you guys and make sure you have a 100% experience when you come to Peniche .We enjoy every minute of every day with our guests in doing this,thanks again and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Claire and Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

The perfect set up for a surf trip to Peniche! Wouldn't stay anywhere else! Claire and Duncan make you feel so welcome and work super hard to run an awesome hostel and get everyone enjoying themselves and the surf no matter what your level. Has everything you need, great price and the loveliest family running the show - you'll struggle to not have the best time staying here!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WanderlustAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penichesurflodge, Owner at Peniche Surf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Awe you guys were awesome too ,we loved everyminute of your stay and feel very blessed to have such amazing guests like yourselves come our way and stay with us, ,especially from so far away ,you guys became instantly at home and everyone loved you ,you are missed so much already ,we wish you all the very best in the rest of your travels and keep surfing its the best way of life :) lots of love from Claire ,Duncan and family xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Dan and I had the most amazing visit to Peniche. We can't wait to go back again. This was my first time staying in a 'hostel' type environment, and it was absolutely amazing. Claire drove us to the beaches each day and ensured everyone was happy with their accommodations and the surf beaches we went to. We loved it so much, that we can't wait to go back again. Claire's family (hubby and son) were back in the UK for some work, so we hope to meet the whole family next time we go!
Thanks for the WONDERFUL hospitality Claire! Can't wait to come back again.
xo Kim & Dan (from Canada)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KALKALKAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire H, Owner at Peniche Surf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

What a suprise and a fantastic review thankyou guys and you know I havent forgotten you because I had a great time while you were here I enjoyed every moment of your company, it was an absolute pleasure to have you as guests and I truly hope you will come and see us all again one day ,we wish you both all the very best .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peniche hotels
1.1 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Soleil Peniche
Hotel Soleil Peniche
#2 of 10 in Peniche
449 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Marazul
Hotel Marazul
#1 of 1 in Serra del Rei
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sunway Hostel
Sunway Hostel
#1 of 13 in Atouguia da Baleia
71 reviews
2.7 mi away
Surfers Lodge Peniche
Surfers Lodge Peniche
#9 of 102 in Peniche
104 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bsurf House
Bsurf House
#2 of 20 in Baleal
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peniche Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peniche Surf Lodge

Address: Rua dos Violas | Papoa Beach, Peniche 2520-360, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Peniche
Price Range: £25 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Peniche Surf Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penichesurflodge Cheap luxury bed and breakfast accommodation by the atlantic ocean in Peniche town,walking distance to the beaches ,3 large supermarkets,shops cafe/bars and restaurants, not just for surfers everyone will feel at home in our family run Lodge with over 30 years surf experience and knowledge of Peniche and surrounding towns we all go to the best beach everyday abd set up a beach camp we offer surf lessons, advanced surf coaching surf photography,equipment hire ,snorkling ,diving, , bus pickups and airport transfers can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Peniche Surf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing