We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The stay was amazing”
Review of The GuestHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The GuestHouse
Ranked #4 of 89 Bran B&B and Inns
Nahariya, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The stay was amazing”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

The only unfortunate encounter, was that we couldn't stay longer. The place is amazing and John is amazing. He supplied us with special meal for us (no pig) and was helpful with everything.
Also is awesome just to chat with. Really recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaharnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Craiova, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at The Guesthouse for 3 nights in Aug 2013. A nice, calm retreat, great people and excellent food. That is hat we meet at Jonh's and Ioana'a house. Very clean rooms, a breakfast to die for :) and a huge playground for kids. We will came back to this family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciprian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khalkis, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I was totally satisfied with my stay in the guesthouse.

I have only positive things to say.

I am going to begin with John's hospitality. He was willing to help and inform us about everything.

The room was perfectly clean and we had a view of the castle.

We had to walk only about 100 metres to the entrance of the castle.

The surroundings and the garden was beautiful. Lots of green and fresh air to breathe.

We had free parking for our car and free wifi access.

The breakfast was home made and very well prepared.

I would definitely recommend it and i hope we will go back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athanasiagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at The GuestHouse, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in The Guesthouse and hope to see you again, all the best to Greece
Regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed at the GuestHouse for 7 nights with two 2-year old babies, in 2 rooms, in August. We couldn't wish for better experience. The hosts are very kind and attentive, ready to help with anything. Sometimes you even don't have to ask :) The facilities are great and well maintained. John makes sure to keep the level the highest possible. The yard with toys was a dream for the babies- they could just stay there for all 7 days (unfortunately, mommy wanted to explore Romania ;-)). The best place we have stayed in during the trip. Nothing bad to say even if I try very hard.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natal101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We spent a night here during our trip through Romania. Our delightful hosts were very welcoming and made us feel right at at home. The rooms were nice, clean, and the location was very close to the castle. The owner gave us a great recommendation for a dinner restaurant right next door, and prepared a nice breakfast for us in the morning, all from locally grown foods. Delicious! Definitely recommended for staying in Bran.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itaileibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

perfect for families with children, the owners are very nice, they provided a baby cot included in the room price, the garden is very pleasant and nice, the center and Bran castle are very close, the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikitza10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Great place to stay in Bran especially if you have kids thanks to the large garden full of slides and toys, not to mention a great view of Bran castle. Easy walking distance to town centre and castle. Spacious and very clean room. Triple with extra bed was more than adequate for 4 of us. No air-con.

Made to feel very welcome by Jo who is happy to chat or help you with information. Romanian breakfast is very huge and very fresh, or toast, cereal and omelettes are available if that doesn't take your fancy. Also had a lovely home cooked meal one night at the guesthouse.

One of the more expensive town centres for food and drink due to the huge amount of tourists. The Gallery restaurant does good food, but others are very samey. Bran castle gets really busy with day trippers. Check out the caves near Rasnov fortress for a cool experience.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Guesthouse for a stay in Bran.

Room Tip: Top floor triple was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dipsy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bran
0.2 mi away
Hotel Transylvania
3.2 mi away
Hotel Hillden Lodge & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Conacul Bratescu
Conacul Bratescu
#1 of 89 in Bran
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Brandeberg Pension & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Casa din Bran
Casa din Bran
#6 of 90 in Brasov
92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pension Muntele Rece
Pension Muntele Rece
#3 of 89 in Bran
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GuestHouse

Property: The GuestHouse
Address: Str. General Trian Mosoiu Nr. 7, Bran 507025, Romania (Formerly GuestHouse / Villa Jo)
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Bran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Bran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The GuestHouse" is run by us - John and Ioana. We offer six attractive luxury bedrooms for guests, with the best views of Bran / Dracula castle. We serve traditional Romanian and Transylvanian cuisine, using our own, or locally sourced, fresh produce as much as possible. We can cater for all diets and special requests, and can accommodate people of any age! We run tailor-made tours for our guests, using our own 4x4 - we specialize in nature, wildlife, rural culture, traditional crafts and Saxon Transylvania. We are situated in the heart of Romania - at the south eastern corner of Transylvania, nearest to the most convenient points of access from abroad. Just 3 hours from Bucuresti Otopeni airport, and a mere 45 minutes from Brasov international rail station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing