We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lived up to the reputation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ray's Den Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ray's Den Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lived up to the reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2007

After reading about Ray's Den on Trip Advisor, we decided to stay while passing through. The rooms were clean and very good value for the money. The breakfast was great as well. We were in the front room and thought we may get some road traffic, but to be honest we were so tired, that we didn't notice if it was loud or not.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea_n_phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    22
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
60
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dundas, ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2007

Great little motel. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Lovely breakfast included. Linda, the owner, is a great host. Would highly recommend this property. We stayed for the Lone Pine Film festival.

  • Liked — small motel, very carefully cared for by owner.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank horselover25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2007

We travel to the Owens Valley quite frequently and this has been our third stay at Ray's Den this year. The rooms are spotless. The owner, Linda, is more than accomodating in every situation and so very friendly and helpful. The home-made muffins each morning are delightful. We will continue to stay at this motel for our many more trips to the Owens Valley.

  • Liked — The spotless appearance of the rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sierrawave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mojave desert
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2007

this is a wonderful little motel with a great owner, free wifi and breakfast! i always stay here when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank redshoesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2007

What a delight. Ray's Den is one of the nicest lodging experiences my wife and I have had in ages and, Linda, the owner is friendly and helpful.

The rooms are absolutely the cleanest you will find in the area and perhaps the cleanest we have ever stayed in. You are just few minutes from Lone Pine and Mt. Whitney Portal. And very close to Bishop.

Dont forget to enjoy the compimentary continenatl breakfast

  • Liked — Clean and Comfy
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chnlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2006

Super clean, nicest little hotel I have ever been in. I have stayed many times and it is alway perfect. Fair price as well. I love that there are only 8 rooms. Comes with a decent breakfast.

  • Liked — friendly owner, clean rooms, great beds.
  • Disliked — No wireless internet.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VenturaBluegrassJams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
17.5 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
15.9 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
16.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Independence Courthouse Motel
Independence Courthouse Motel
#3 of 3 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
15.7 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray's Den Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Den Motel

Property: Ray's Den Motel
Address: 405 North Edwards, Independence, CA 93526
Region: United States > California > Independence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ray`s Den Hotel Independence
Rays Den Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing